Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Seems Lizzy's on the way...

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Firstly no buses are allowed in the Park
    That can be changed easily enough. Isn't there still a rail tunnel running through it too?

Secondly there's fadas in Irish
    That's nice. But alas my keyboard's made in Cambodia and my school didn't offer lessons.

thirdly surely you'd rather a return of the building to it's original use?
    Got to move with the times, baby.

575 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    Got to move with the times, baby.
    Eamon???
    Last edited by The Fly; 07/01/2011 at 1:31 PM.

1,813 Posts
    Tongue. In. Cheek. Sheesh.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

446 Posts
    The Worldwide sleb-obsessed tabloids would cover it just like any other foreign jaunt. It might as well be Doha or Dar es Salaam as Dublin.
    Yes, of course they weren't or aren't illegally occupied for nearly 900 years, so no difference at all.

Busaras an Uachtarain would make a nice conference centre when the economy recovers.
    With regards to the fadas, why not change yer keyboard settings?? Not as if you don't spend enough time in front of it....
    Rather than trying to continually post unfunny irony.

20 Posts
    Surely the Aras is a great example of the republic embracing its British heritage?

290 Posts

108 Posts
    In response to intense media speculation that a state visit to the Twenty-Six Counties by the Commander-in-Chief of the British army Elizabeth Windsor is to occur soon, possibly May, the socialist republican party éirígí are stepping up their campaign of demonstrations against such a visit.

http://www.eirigi.org/latest/latest150211_2.html

502 Posts
    Would they ever just crawl up their own holes and die?

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    I dont know but I dont see anything wrong with that point of view - but I guess some will be creaming it having the chance to bend the knee

502 Posts
    There's a difference between grovelling and respect. The way those muppets go on, you'd think Liz herself invaded the country just yesterday and raped the natives one by one. It's just ridiculous in this day and age. Move on for god's sake, there are more important things to be protesting and worrying about. The country is in ruins, we could do worse than have a few british tourists over.

I don't have a problem with the eirigi point of view either to be honest - no more annoying than some of the fawning that'll go on. Personally I'd say I'm with the majority in just going - "meh"!

446 Posts
    Never mind Eirigi, though their view is no less legitimate than some of the cretins who've governed in the state in past decades, some fool has scheduled the start of the old German's lady's visit, with the Ireland v. North game, so 'Love Ulster II' ??

Not that I have time for either archaic institution, but scheduling their arrival on the same day is potentially stupid in my book....as sadly s'pose have to afford both our renown hospitality, even if neither are barely deserving.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    the old German's lady's visit
    Point of information: Mrs Windsor's recent ancestry is English and Scottish (through her mother, Elizabeth Bowes Lyon). On her father's side, both grandparents were English. Her most recent German-speaking ancestor was her great grandad, Francis Teck (1837-1900). Our old friend Albert Saxe Coburg Gotha was her great-great-grandfather.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    The BBC with their usual 'Irish Republic' nonsense.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Point of information: Mrs Windsor's recent ancestry is English and Scottish (through her mother, Elizabeth Bowes Lyon). On her father's side, both grandparents were English. Her most recent German-speaking ancestor was her great grandad, Francis Teck (1837-1900). Our old friend Albert Saxe Coburg Gotha was her great-great-grandfather.
    The family name was only changed from "Saxe Coburg Gotha" to "Windsor" during the First World War because of the anti-german sentiment, so I guess you're both correct. Sure some of the family were still taking the German side during the 2nd World War!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    The BBC with their usual 'Irish Republic' nonsense.
    That Mark Simpson they have is a bit of a joke TBH, hasnt a clue

502 Posts
    Jeez lads, ye're fierce sensitive altogether. Would ye like me to send ye flowers to make it all better.

575 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Jeez lads, ye're fierce sensitive altogether. Would ye like me to send ye flowers to make it all better.
    Gather Round's posts will always elicit a contrary response from ArdeeBhoy. It's one of foot.ie's unstated rules.
    Last edited by The Fly; 08/03/2011 at 12:19 AM.

446 Posts
    Erm, no comment!

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    The BBC with their usual 'Irish Republic' nonsense
    The BBC (and most other British media) normally refer to the country as 'Ireland', unless (as in this case) there's a potential for confusion. "Queen to make first state visit to Ireland" would obviously fall in that category, as viewers would think of previous trips to NI.

So actually, it's neither usual nor nonsense.

Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast