FAI now poaching fans.
The FAI are setting up a dedicated email address for Irish fans from the north looking to buy tickets.
''We understand that there is an issue with this for our fans living north of the border who do not have an existing block booking ticket relationship with us, we currently have a large database of fans living north of the border who regularly purchase tickets through us''.
''Broadly speaking, all NI fans will be asked to go exclusively through the IFA for tickets. Republic of Ireland fans living in the north will be able to contact us at a dedicated email address''.
FAI now poaching fans.
squad to be announced on Wednesday, in Athlone, and set to include Shay Given: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...y-2631906.html
The Donegal native will be named in the Ireland squad for the end-of-season games when Trapattoni attends a press conference in Athlone on Wednesday.
IFA are to announce travel/ticketing arrangements for Northern Ireland fans intending to attend the ROI game later today - I understand these arrangements are likely to put a number of fans off attending.
Sadly, I am also informed that the, eagerly awaited pre match fans match between Northern Ireland and the Republic has been cancelled due to "security concerns".
What a shame - I was intending to travel down to watch the fans game, and then watch the match on TV in Dublin.![]()
The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
And this is what we sang...
I think the NI fans were afraid some of their number would be poached or kidnapped by fans of the ROI.
Agree with Tets though - it's sad that a fans' match should have to be cancelled.
Very sad indeed. I'm sure the Republic lads were looking forward to the game as much as ours - and a few bevvies afterwards!
The fans game prior to our game against Scotland was fantastic - attended by Pat Jennings and Alan Rough, who were magnificant, followed by a Carling sponsored do in a local hotel. Great day's craic.
The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
And this is what we sang...
33 man squad. Ward, Folan, Stokes, McShane in it. Andrews, O'Dea, Duff, St. Ledger & Doyle named too even though they are injured. No Hoolahan or no new recruits named. Same old, same old.
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...medium=twitter
Last edited by TrapAPony; 04/05/2011 at 2:25 PM.
"We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo
Will this be the squad for the Italy friendly too or will there be a separate squad for that?
Can they not just buy from TM and make 'their own way' then?
On TV? And that fans game could well have been more entertaining that the real event. But not a total surprise it got pulled in the current climate.Sadly, I am also informed that the, eagerly awaited pre match fans match between Northern Ireland and the Republic has been cancelled due to "security concerns".
What a shame - I was intending to travel down to watch the fans game, and then watch the match on TV in Dublin.
Ticketmaster were refusing to send tickets north of the border under instruction from the Gardaí and stadium security.
The IFA did reveal the arrangements for their fans earlier, mind: http://www.irishfa.com/news/item/644...-ticket-sales/
Due to the difficulties encountered at the Scotland match in February, the Association along with the FAI, PSNI and Gardai have decided that all tickets will be linked to transport provided by the Irish FA along with our Travel Partners – Travel Solutions. Coaches will depart from a number of locations across Northern Ireland.
The only thing that puzzles me slightly is they were selling them on the website some weeks if not months ago, though to be fair to them knowing the FAI, there were no tickets to send out anyway....
Given the numerous home spares that will be floating about (from absent Block-bookers), I wonder what the Guards will do if segregation obviously breaks down? One hopes they have a plan?
Ticketmaster were permitting transactions to go through from anywhere but once they'd realise the delivery address was in the north they'd, as per instruction, notify the buyer of their policy and reimburse that account with a refund. It meant that northern-based Ireland fans have had to contact the FAI with their ticket requests via a special e-mail address.
The Amalgamation of NI Supporters Clubs is now calling for a fan boycott of their games against us and Wales: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13350176.stm
Surprisingly, the boycott has nothing to do with the contentious issue of player eligibility, however. The problem is with the extra tenner NI fans will now have to pay due to the travel restrictions for security purposes.
The main Northern Ireland supporters group is calling for a boycott of the Nations Cup games against the Republic of Ireland and Wales later this month.
Northern Ireland fans have been angered by the travel restrictions placed on them for the games in Dublin.
Fans have been told that they must travel on official buses which will cost £30 for a return trip.
"We are calling on our members not to attend the games," said NI supporters chief Gary McAllister.
"It is in effect of boycott of the games against the Republic of Ireland and Wales.
"We feel that the restrictions that have been placed on us have been very badly handled."
The tickets for their game v.us were also more expensive.
If memory serves me correctly from TM, they were quoted £30? + booking fee which is twice as much as their Scottish cousins paid...
Not sure why the restrictions apply to their Welsh game but I suppose any prospect of another loyalist singsong has put the Guards on edge.