Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    The middle one of two?
    Sorry second one.

haha, ya sorry, but in the video did they not sing we are the billy boys you'll know us by our noise etc?

610 Posts
    Just watched that video. Thought yous were talking about the videos posted earlier outside stadium.
    Absolutely disgusted. Would've been very very angry and highly offended if I was around those people singing about Bobby Sands like that.
    So disrespectful.
    Don't think ROI fans have ever gone up to Windsor like that and sang any 'Ra songs
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    Would've been very very angry and highly offended if I was around those people singing about Bobby Sands like that.
    So disrespectful.
    You'll have to accept that some people think Bobby Sands was an odious individual, and would have zero "respect" for him or his mates in the organisation of which he was a member.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

675 Posts
    The songs have no place in life, never mind a football, but I don't find them offensive in the least. I've heard just as bad, or worse, in probably every football ground I've ever been in.

Occasionally a minority - could be a dozen, could be 50, but it hardly matters - sing songs that tar a whole group. It's not to nice to hear and it shouldn't exist, but that's the nature of the NI beast on both sides. I have a lot of sympathy for ordinary NI fans in trying to deal with it.

Edit - the Bobby Sands stuff is a bit more close to the bone, didn't catch that first time round. Still I thoroughly believe it's a minority though.
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 14/02/2011 at 5:46 PM. Reason: double negative
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Fixer82 to be fair they don't sing the songs wherever they are, at least not where I've been.

Ya, I mean horses for courses and I think it was the most moderate of all the songs probably. Its the last one that is obviously the really disgraceful and just disgusting one. "we are up to our necks in fenian blood".

And those guys seem to be in general good spirits and jovial sorts, as opposed to ones who would want to be stirring up stuff. Thats the saddest part, its the surprising part too.

610 Posts
    You'll have to accept that some people think Bobby Sands was an odious individual, and would have zero "respect" for him or his mates in the organisation of which he was a member.
    I'm no fan of the Queen or the British Armed Forces or Thatcher or anyone else that could have been seen as an enemy/foreign-occupier to Ireland in the 80s or any other time.
    But I'd never sing songs like that in England or the 6 counties (or anywhere for that matter). It's all about respect. I've not much time for the aforementioned people but would always respect the people around me who live there. And I respect myself as well, which is why I wouldn't resort to this gutter behaviour.

And the fact of the matter is, you wouldn't get a group of ROI supporters doing it either. Maybe a lot of countries have their 'ultras' but I find it quite sad that this particular group of NI fans get a buzz out of that.

675 Posts
    And the fact of the matter is, you wouldn't get a group of ROI supporters doing it either. Maybe a lot of countries have their 'ultras' but I find it quite sad that the NI fans get a buzz out of that.
    But 'we' did boo a player who was erroneously called out as 'Peter Lovenkrands' in 2002 as I recall.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

610 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    F
    And those guys seem to be in general good spirits and jovial sorts, as opposed to ones who would want to be stirring up stuff. Thats the saddest part, its the surprising part too.
    Yeah that's the other thing that annoyed. It seemed par for the course. They were all in good spirits. Didn't seem malicious by their body language.
    So I wonder, is this largely accepted. Obviously reading certain comments I can see it's not.
    But they seem to be delighted to be in Dublin having the craic talking about killing Bobby Sands and up to their necks in dead fenians
    And they wonder why some players opt for the Republic

131 Posts
    But I'd never sing songs like that in England or the 6 counties (or anywhere for that matter). It's all about respect. I've not much time for the aforementioned people but would always respect the people around me who live there. And I respect myself as well, which is why I wouldn't resort to this gutter behaviour.

And the fact of the matter is, you wouldn't get a group of ROI supporters doing it either
    I admire your stance, but pity your denial.

The vast majority of people in this clip don't seem to have much "respect".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5EIWA2VZZs

Thats the point I was getting at, but I didnt want to do it for the abuse that you will probably receive

131 Posts
    talking about killing Bobby Sands
    Nobody killed Mr Sands, but himself.

However, not the place for any of that.

Don't worry they really mean English people.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Don't worry they really mean English people.
    Hopefully not the numerous ones that have played for/play for you...or Jackie Charlton.

No there are obviouslly exceptions to every rule.

But you will notice my original comment was tongue in cheek.

2,771 Posts
    i caught Ealing Green on camera. Sickening.

I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

610 Posts
    Nobody killed Mr Sands, but himself.

However, not the place for any of that.
    Well then why say it?

610 Posts

Fair enough. Not exactly glorious. Then again not exactly talking about murdering them and certainly not doing it in any part of Britain....

or the 6 counties for that matter

610 Posts
    That's not Ealing Green that's you. I'd recognise that haircut and ear-ring a mile away!

"A ledder from me to the government'' ha ha ha

Im pretty sure i recognise the fella from 23 seconds walking across the camera

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Your comment may have intended in jest, but I'll have you know I find it offensive to be associated even obliquely with scum like that (in fact, my great regret is that it wasn't possible for a bunch of Gardai to segregate them and batter the living s h i te out of them).

Anyhow, fyi I attended the game courtesy of an avid ROI fan and we socialised very happily before/during* the game with fans from NI/ROI/Scotland, fortunately well out of sight or earshot of the lowlife in the video.

* - We both had to shoot off straight after.
    Myself and EG may have had our spats on here, but I will back him up on this, it is wrong to even jokingly associate him with such people. It does seem that names have been put to several of the individuals on that video and no doubt the IFA will take action in regards to them when it comes to future ticket distribution.

24. Thanks From:

Page 36 of 61 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast