The guy's a polish fan. That picture appeared in the Guardian newspaper at the time of the trouble and the caption clearly identified him as a polish fan:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2...porter-missile
it could be a match day scarf it looked red, green, and white.
he looked irish though, perhaps he was an Irish-poland fan.![]()
The guy's a polish fan. That picture appeared in the Guardian newspaper at the time of the trouble and the caption clearly identified him as a polish fan:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2...porter-missile
By the way Parker, fans have emailed the Guards asking questions about this and even the Guards Press officers are saying the stories are sensationalised rubbish.![]()
Which only makes your offence worse...
For 99% of the readers of this thread will not have known the provenance of that photo - which, of course, was exactly what you were relying on .
So why not for once in your (web)life, be honest Mr. P? You have been caught "bang to rights" trying to pass off a photo of a Polish fan misbehaving at another game entirely, in a thoroughly dishonest attempt to support malicious allegations by you against NI fans, made on the flimsiest of "evidence", regarding a game you weren't even at.
I've long known you to be a "spoofer", but I hadn't expected outright lies and deception...
Balls!
Or would you like to explain how a clearly and correctly captioned photograph in the Guardian, of misbehaviour by a Polish fan at a match in Belfast two years ago, amounts to corroboration by a "reputable paper" of events at a match in Dublin two days ago?
When awec exposed your tawdry little lie, the only "fig leaf" you could find to try to cover your embarrassment was this (frankly) laughable claim.
Worse than pathetic.
Then these reports - if they exist, that is, are quite simply wrong.
For when I was dropped off the Airport Coach in D4 at 3 pm, there was hardly an NI fan to be found. And when I nipped into "Oil Can Harrys" for my first pint of the day, I was the only NI fan in a bar which was packed to the rafters with Jocks (great bunch, btw).
And when I subsequently walked towards the AVIVA after 4 pm, to find and meet up with my (ROI) mate, I saw maybe a dozen NI fans in total, even after walking half way round the stadium (plenty of Jocks, mind).
This was because the Jocks had all flown in that morning (or previous day), whereas the NI fans travelled down on the day, with the coaches all leaving Belfast etc mid-to-late afternoon, some even after work. Consequently, the vast bulk of the GAWA only arrived less than two hours before kick-off. Which was why, when my own little group of NI/ROI/Scottish fans were having a drink and pre-match bite to eat (in Jurys, Berkeley Court etc), we saw not one single incident of misbehaviour, as the arriving NI fans started to mingle with the Scots.
Now it may be that there was trouble after the game and I wouldn't have seen it (my lift home needed us to get back to the car by 9.58 pm, before the clamper arrived). But whatever did happen, any "account" of it by you has less than zero credibility, since not only were you not there, but you have a track record of making things up, in an attempt to corroborate your clearly bigoted agenda against anything to do with the GAWA.
Last edited by EalingGreen; 11/02/2011 at 4:11 PM.
Btw, awec, did the Garda Press Office mention how many arrests they made on the night?
I'm guessing that it was figure somewhere between Nought and Zero - for even my copy of the Irish News makes no mention of it whatever and seeing as they had Kenny Archer reporting from Dublin, I'd have thought he'd have picked up on it...
Sure the Gards only arrest Shamrock Rovers fans. Supporters of every other football club are angels in their eyes.
Having seen Poland play both home and away, it is quite common for their fans to wear their club colours to international games. And a few clubs in the Ekstrklasa have green as part of their strip:
http://ekstraklasa.org/ekstraklasa.org/0,0.html
At a guess I'd say he's a Legia Warsaw fan.
Unless, of course, he's one half of the Donegal Celtic Massive...
Fair enough, EG ( & awec) that was your experience, but why would Kevin Humphreys make those claims then??
Is he just an 'attention-seeker' ??
After all, he is a Labour councillor, not SF.....
I don't doubt that an element of "hangers-on" amongst the NI support got stuck into the drink after the game and severely annoyed the locals with anti-social behaviour (singing party tunes, p1ssing in gardens etc). Nor do I defend it, either.
But seeing as it got little or no coverage on RTE, BBC, or any of the national papers, and the Gardai didn't make a single arrest, I have no doubt either that deplorable as it was, it was relatively low-key on the scale of football hooliganism etc.
As for why this Labour Councillor should have made a fuss, if one was being charitable, one would say that he was just speaking up for his constituents. Of course, if one were slightly more cynical, it might just be a case of a small-time local politician trying to make a name for himself in the run-up to an election.
His choice of media (Herald and Talk Radio etc), plus my own first-hand experience at the actual match, leads me towards the latter view...
But who knows, maybe "Polack Parker", foot.ie's very own Paparazzo on the Spot, can produce a photo which will clear it all up for us...
Interesting post over on the our wee country forum:
Alright folks
1st post but have been a lurker for a few years now.
I'm a ROI fan who lives right beside the stadium and I was at the game in the East stand.
I saw no trouble at the game.
Earlier in the day at about 4pm I took a walk up Bath Avenue before going back into my apartment in Ringsend and most of the Northern Ireland fans were coming in from the top of Bath Avenue and congregated at a pub called Murrays.
The only songs I heard them singing were "Green White Army" and "One team in Ireland".
The fans outside Murrays were vocal and drunk but nothing out of the ordinary. I didn't hear any Rangers songs.
Atmosphere was brilliant at the game and banter from the Scots and Nordies was very good natured. Only songs I remember hearing from Northern Ireland fans were "Not Brazil", "Rule Britania", "Green White army","Norther Ireland clap chant" so don't know what the fuss is about. Nobody takes the Evening Herald seriously here.
So to summarise I live beside the stadium and didn't see or witness any of what the Herald has reported.
Until the 24th May....