Page 29 of 61 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast

Thread: Celtic Cup thread

Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    It was most certainly played in Croke Park. One man pulled his father's all-ireland medals out of the Museum in protest. And I'm fairly sure it was played in LR in 1995. Not sure about 1990. I imagine it was.

It's always been played at the rugby. In fact it is in the IRFU manifesto that GSTQ should be played when Ireland rugby team play in Ravenhill but the Ulster Rugby Association, in their wisdom, choose not to. I imagine it's 'Ireland's AWFUL Call'

I meant it wasn't played in croke park up to then. And why would it when croke park was only for gaelic.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    WC Feb 2009 San Marino W 3-0
    WC Mar 2009 POLAND W 3-2
    WC Mar 2009 Slovenia W 1-0
    WC Sep 2009 Poland D 1-1
    WC Sep 2009 SLOVAKIA L 0-2
    WC Oct 2009 Czechia D 0-0
    EC Sep 2010 Slovenia W 1-0
    EC Oct 2010 ITALY D 0-0
    EC Oct 2010 Faeroes D 1-1

P-9 W-4 D-4 L-1 F-10 A-6 Pts-16
    Wed 01/04/09 WQE Northern Ireland 1 - 0 Slovenia
    Sat 06/06/09 FRI Italy 3 - 0 Northern Ireland More info
    Wed 12/08/09 FRI Northern Ireland 1 - 1 Israel More info
    Sat 05/09/09 WQE Poland 1 - 1 Northern Ireland View events More info
    Wed 09/09/09 WQE Northern Ireland 0 - 2 Slovakia View events More info
    Wed 14/10/09 WQE Czech Republic 0 - 0 Northern Ireland More info
    Sat 14/11/09 FRI Northern Ireland 0 - 1 Serbia View events More info
    Wed 03/03/10 FRI Albania 1 - 0 Northern Ireland View events More info
    Wed 26/05/10 FRI Turkey 2 - 0 Northern Ireland View events More info
    Sun 30/05/10 FRI Chile 1 - 0 Northern Ireland View events More info
    Wed 11/08/10 FRI Montenegro 2 - 0 Northern Ireland
    Fri 03/09/10 EUC Slovenia 0 - 1 Northern Ireland View events More info
    Fri 08/10/10 EUC Northern Ireland 0 - 0 Italy More info
    Tue 12/10/10 EUC Faroe Islands 1 - 1 Northern Ireland View events More info
    Wed 17/11/10 FRI Northern Ireland 1 - 1 Morocco View events More info
    Wed 09/02/11 NAC Northern Ireland 0 - 3 Scotland

5 goals since April 2009 - 16 internationals played. Not exactly two years but the point is you don't score many goals. 5 in your last 16 internationals suggests a goal scoring problem, no?

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    In Tuffey's defence, as an ex-keeper I can tell you that there's nothing worse than when an intended cross goes is misdirected towards goal. You see the ball being struck, you set yourself up for the cross and then too late. It beats keepers regularly and it's why you hear the question so often asked "was it intentional?". It rarely is I reckon. Hennessy was beaten all ends up by Duff's cross on Tuesday.
    Stop trying to excuse yourself, and make yourself feel better.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    the point is you don't score many goals. 5 in your last 16 internationals suggests a goal scoring problem, no?
    I was answering the different and specific point that we'd only scored two goals in two years. No-one denies we have lacked a regular scorer since Healy semi-retired to Sunderland reserves.

Apart from against Faroe, where we should have scored two before half time and then closed the game, the underlying problem is that our manager and players don't take friendlies seriously. It's not good.

386 Posts
    I was answering the different and specific point that we'd only scored two goals in two years.
    You just wanted to be pedantic . The point made was a goal scoring problem regardless of team selections. 5 goals in the last 16 internationals is a goal scoring problem.

Apart from against Faroe, where we should have scored two before half time and then closed the game, the underlying problem is that our manager and players don't take friendlies seriously. It's not good.
    I doubt NI are alone in not taking friendlies seriously. It's an useful excuse to have when results don't go your way.

I watched the Faroes game and don't recall two goal scoring chances in the first half that should have been put away, but I'll take your word for it. (Edit I do recall Jonny Evans missing an open goal from a header but that was in the second half).
    Last edited by ifk101; 10/02/2011 at 1:51 PM.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    You just wanted to be pedantic
    Think of me as your sub-editor.

It's an useful excuse to have when results don't go your way
    Hardly an excuse. I made clear I see it as a bad thing- when roughly half the games are friendlies, it's a right pain when Nige and the boys are happy to write them off as goalless beatings.

I watched the Faroes game and don't recall two goal scoring chances in the first half that should have been put away, but I'll take your word for it. (Edit I do recall Jonny Evans missing an open goal from a header but that was in the second half)
    No need to take my word, I missed live coverage thanks to a cross-town power cut. My point was that we should have been able to score early (as in most other recent games against village teams), and only then **** about at walking pace.

GR ifk has needed one of those for a long time now.

386 Posts
    No need to take my word, I missed live coverage thanks to a cross-town power cut. My point was that we should have been able to score early (as in most other recent games against village teams), and only then **** about at walking pace.
    Well you played Italy a couple of days (4 days to be exact) prior to the Faroes game. For the Italian game, the game plan was to keep it tight and try nick a goal on the break. For the Faroes game, the Faroes employed the same tactic NI used against Italy. It's quite difficult to ask a team to switch from a defensive mentality to a situation where they are expected to dictate and control the pace of the game.

199 Posts
    Are the premium match tickets for the NI game on Ticketmaster normal match tickets?
    They're €45 a pop. When I go to purchase them I'm not given a seat number etc, it just says general admission, price level 1.
    Excuse my ignorance....

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    I am going out on a limb here and predicting that this tournament will be a success. I anticipate a good sized crowd against Scotland (and a good game) and then the game against the Nordies will have its own flavour and atmosphere and we will probably need to win it to win the tournament.

Scoff all you want at it but I am looking forward to the next two games.

Also good for tourism bringing the punters from up North and across the pond

And it's hi ho and up the Celtic League we go...
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Rule Britannia is not sectarian or offensive. I'm sure it wound up the Scottish fans and will wind up our fans in May
    Never really understood their obsession with rule britannia, dambusters, 10 German bombers songs etc...

In good voice outside Murrays last night

well at least they changed england to ulster.

161 Posts
    Labor councillor calling for next two NI games to be switched from Aviva.

Cllr Kevin Humphreys has called for the cancellation of the next two Northern Ireland matches to be played at the Aviva Stadium. This is due the high levels of public disorder and delinquency fueled by alcohol that occurred last night, Wednesday 9th of February in the surrounding residential areas.

Local residents had to undergo a barrage of abuse and intimidation and were unable to leave their homes. From early afternoon, gangs of supporters were roaming the streets while openly drinking from cans of beer and bottles of spirits. Local streets were used as public conveniences and damage was done to a number of properties. Residents should not be expected to have to undergo this again.

There must be guarantees of proper crowd control, curbs placed on public consumption of alcohol and sufficient Gardai in place to protect residents and property of those on the frontline of moving crowds.

The next two matches are scheduled for Tuesday 24 May (Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland) and Friday 27 May (Wales v Northern Ireland).

Kevin is a Councillor for the South East Inner City and General election candidate for Labour in constituency of Dublin South East. He lives off Bath Avenue, which is part off the crowd control program for the Avivia Stadium.

Does anyone know was it really that bad last night or is this guy a publicity seeking ****?

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Labor councillor calling for next two NI games to be switched from Aviva.

Does anyone know was it really that bad last night or is this guy a publicity seeking ****?
    Maybe both, they're not mutually exclusive :-)

Everybody knows Nordies are the only ones who can't take their drink, so it's only right that they're banned and nobody else. Sure Temple Bar is a serene haven of virtue every weekend.

228 Posts
    Actually, that Labour guy is right. Cancel all football at Lansdowne Road.

610 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I meant it wasn't played in croke park up to then. And why would it when croke park was only for gaelic.
    Oh right, seemed to get lost in translation there. Didn't realise that part of your comment was in reply to another.
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne View Post
    Are the premium match tickets for the NI game on Ticketmaster normal match tickets?
    They're €45 a pop. When I go to purchase them I'm not given a seat number etc, it just says general admission, price level 1.
    Don't know about TM, but as stated in the tickets thread, liable to have access to a no. of tickets at less than that. Will check exact details and get to you all.....

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Labour councillor calling for next two NI games to be switched from Aviva.

Cllr Kevin Humphreys has called for the cancellation of the next two Northern Ireland matches to be played at the Aviva Stadium. This is due the high levels of public disorder and delinquency fueled by alcohol that occurred last night, Wednesday 9th of February in the surrounding residential areas.

Local residents had to undergo a barrage of abuse and intimidation and were unable to leave their homes. From early afternoon, gangs of supporters were roaming the streets while openly drinking from cans of beer and bottles of spirits. Local streets were used as public conveniences and damage was done to a number of properties. Residents should not be expected to have to undergo this again.

There must be guarantees of proper crowd control, curbs placed on public consumption of alcohol and sufficient Gardai in place to protect residents and property of those on the frontline of moving crowds.

The next two matches are scheduled for Tuesday 24 May (Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland) and Friday 27 May (Wales v Northern Ireland).

Kevin is a Councillor for the South East Inner City and General election candidate for Labour in constituency of Dublin South East. He lives off Bath Avenue, which is part off the crowd control program for the Avivia Stadium.
    Ha ha. Yer man and Labour have gone up in my estimation! And to be fair is almost definitely right. There is the potential of disorder on the 24th to be sure.

In all seriousness also, he (and other local residents) had better pray a certain team from Govan don't reach the EL Final or it'll make a bunch of paranoid Nordies look like a children's tea party....

38 Posts
    The amount of lies I've read around this fixture is shocking.

There was no significant trouble, despite what certain gutter press would want you to believe. The Guards, the stewards, the locals, the scots were all very friendly and a good day was had by all.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by awec View Post
    The amount of lies I've read around this fixture is shocking.

There was no significant trouble, despite what certain gutter press would want you to believe. The Guards, the stewards, the locals, the scots were all very friendly and a good day was had by all.
    How do you define significant? Seems that there are a fair few NI fans who disagree with that given their comments on other forums and radio interviews. Also if "a good day was had by all," why are the IFA carrying out an investigation?

23. Thanks From:

Page 29 of 61 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast