Not really PO'S. They only have about 20 other songs they could sing. Personally I'd rather hear 'The Sash'....
Is the fields of athenry political?? Sure its about the famine, but political??
According to some on YBIG, the nordies have been causing trouble in ballsbridge area after the game tonight, anyone confirm? Hopefully (and wouldnt be surprised if it is) its bull. Bleating on about on FM104 at the moment, surprise surprise.
Attendance tonight was 18,742. That is actually very good considering last night was just slightly more.
Last edited by elroy; 09/02/2011 at 9:27 PM.
That is quite good relatively speaking. I was surprised with the attendance last night. I was even more surprised when I was at the Argentina game, the first international in the new stadium, and people literally couldn't give away tickets outside the ground. Has interest in the national team really waned that much?
Best fans in the world 2008, was it? Ha!
You'd think that wouldn't you.
But they really don't.
We're not Brazil
Billy Boys
GSTQ
The Sash
Rule Britannia
Thats kinda it. 5 songs, 2 of which are to a tune they ripped off from somewhere else.
No idea why they don't sing Danny Boy. Probably don't want the powers that be to know they know the words in case they don't get GSTQ played before a match.
Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.
Only judging by the more 'liberal' on OWB. I'm sure they also sing a certain song to the 'tune' of Sloop John B....
There's loads of songs in Irish culture that have the same air as others.
'The Sash' (if memory serves me correct) is to the same air as Roddy McCorley. In turn, Sean Sabhat from Garryowen is to the same air again.
'Raglan Road' is to the air of 'Dawning of the day'
But why they sing 'God Save The Queen' and 'Rule Britannia' is beyond me.
Just proves they're a statelet if England rather than an entity of their own.
SCreams insecurity to me.
But fair play to those who came down and crated an atmosphere. And indeed, it is their right to sing whatever they want regardless of whether we like it or not.
Fair play to the Scots who came over too. Saw a fair few of them walking around town in kilts today (which, incidentally was an old Irish tradition adopted by the Scots - ok history lesson over)
Folding my way into the big money!!!
Larne FC for Larne Town. Inver Park for the people.
Except I am sure. As I do know or have associated with your fans. And do still. So guess it's my experience of 'the truth'.
Some of them didn't or don't know my roots, but did suggest a certain historical event was now over in the words of their song. Albeit rather crudely.
However, by implication in my earlier statement, guessing it's only 'some' who would do this, but not a 'whole bunch', if that helps?
Similarly amongst their merchandise are various other tasteful items proclaiming, eg 'I hate beggars', but again it's not all but some who bother to buy these. Presumably those who do though, are beyond reproach in your eyes??
You should consider the cause and results of 'divide-and-rule', rather than, er, shooting the messenger.
No ideas on the percentages, but do know there's at least a minority who want to get drunk, sing their more reflective songs and be done with it. But then again, there's those who can't let go....
As yer man says it's some form of Insecurity.
Well hopefully we can all agree that it's a form of insecurity and not feel the need to prolong the discussion.
Being an Irishman, the only place I would place a spud product is in the belly....even you should know that??
Anyone heard from Ealing Green of late!
Have no problem with fans of any country having their flags and banners etc and we as a country prob need to get over our sensitivity to the union jack and so on. Although flags carrying the names of certain loyalist/unionist organisations has no place in football. However I do think the same fans should have some sense of respect for the visiting country. By and large I would like to think we do and aim to have the craic with the home fans. Like we wouldnt go to Austria singing about the holocaust for example or to germany and sing about the berlin wall or the WWs etc. Now I know our history is so closely linked with NI in comparison to the examples I used there but nonetheless I think they could have some respect and tone down the political orientated songs for such a visit.
Oh and of course the Welsh fans, singing Thierry Henry on Tuesday night. Didnt like that either, still too soon, Im a sensitive soul. But seriously that sort of chant is banter and thats fair enough, its the politically motivated stuff that shouldnt be in our game.