Page 27 of 61 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast

Thread: Celtic Cup thread

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelarmyexile View Post
    What is wrong with that?? Sure the Fields of Athenry were sung yesterday. I really hate this anti-Unionist approach from certain Irish football supporters. You don't have to support their political beliefs, but you do have to show them respect. Fair play to them actually trying to chant and create some atmosphere.
    You don't have to do anything.
    Yes, fair play to them for doing what supporters tend to do. Well done!
    Last edited by Predator; 10/02/2011 at 12:37 AM.

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    Am I the only one whose heart skipped a beat when the commentator said that this would be James McArthur's first cap for Scotland?
    If said commentator had built it up by describing him as Wigan's young, ex-Hamilton midfielder, it'd have missed more than one!

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Oh and welcome back Danny I.
    Hehe, cheers. Although I still pop in regularly; just don't have as much time on my hands for the mammoth posting sprees at the minute.

Quote Originally Posted by rebelarmyexile View Post
    What is wrong with that?? Sure the Fields of Athenry were sung yesterday. I really hate this anti-Unionist approach from certain Irish football supporters. You don't have to support their political beliefs, but you do have to show them respect. Fair play to them actually trying to chant and create some atmosphere.
    You have a fair point there.

446 Posts
    Not really PO'S. They only have about 20 other songs they could sing. Personally I'd rather hear 'The Sash'....

130 Posts
    Is the fields of athenry political?? Sure its about the famine, but political??

According to some on YBIG, the nordies have been causing trouble in ballsbridge area after the game tonight, anyone confirm? Hopefully (and wouldnt be surprised if it is) its bull. Bleating on about on FM104 at the moment, surprise surprise.

Attendance tonight was 18,742. That is actually very good considering last night was just slightly more.
    Last edited by elroy; 09/02/2011 at 9:27 PM.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    According to some on YBIG, the nordies have been causing trouble in balsbridge area tonight, anyone confirm?
    That'd be a shame, I thought they made a good atmosphere regardless of what they were singing.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Is the fields of athenry political?? Sure its about the famine, but political??

According to some on YBIG, the nordies have been causing trouble in ballsbridge area after the game tonight, anyone confirm? Hopefully (and wouldnt be surprised if it is) its bull.

Attendance tonight was 18,742. That is actually very good considering last night was just slightly more.

If true of course it will be a minority.

They find FOA as political, or maybe they just do to have something to fight back against.

228 Posts
    That is quite good relatively speaking. I was surprised with the attendance last night. I was even more surprised when I was at the Argentina game, the first international in the new stadium, and people literally couldn't give away tickets outside the ground. Has interest in the national team really waned that much?

Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    That'd be a shame, I thought they made a good atmosphere regardless of what they were singing.
    Best fans in the world 2008, was it? Ha!

503 Posts
    Not really PO'S. They only have about 20 other songs they could sing. Personally I'd rather hear 'The Sash'....
    You'd think that wouldn't you.

But they really don't.

We're not Brazil
    Billy Boys
    GSTQ
    The Sash
    Rule Britannia

Thats kinda it. 5 songs, 2 of which are to a tune they ripped off from somewhere else.

No idea why they don't sing Danny Boy. Probably don't want the powers that be to know they know the words in case they don't get GSTQ played before a match.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

446 Posts
    Only judging by the more 'liberal' on OWB. I'm sure they also sing a certain song to the 'tune' of Sloop John B....

610 Posts
    There's loads of songs in Irish culture that have the same air as others.
    'The Sash' (if memory serves me correct) is to the same air as Roddy McCorley. In turn, Sean Sabhat from Garryowen is to the same air again.

'Raglan Road' is to the air of 'Dawning of the day'

But why they sing 'God Save The Queen' and 'Rule Britannia' is beyond me.
    Just proves they're a statelet if England rather than an entity of their own.
    SCreams insecurity to me.
    But fair play to those who came down and crated an atmosphere. And indeed, it is their right to sing whatever they want regardless of whether we like it or not.

Fair play to the Scots who came over too. Saw a fair few of them walking around town in kilts today (which, incidentally was an old Irish tradition adopted by the Scots - ok history lesson over)
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

I'm sure they also sing a certain song to the 'tune' of Sloop John B....
    you're sure are you? you're really, really sure?
    shouldn't you really say you wish they did so you could justify being outraged and it would then be ok to tarnish a whole bunch of people to fit your narrow perceptions, right? isn't that closer to the truth?
    Larne FC for Larne Town. Inver Park for the people.

446 Posts
    Except I am sure. As I do know or have associated with your fans. And do still. So guess it's my experience of 'the truth'.

Some of them didn't or don't know my roots, but did suggest a certain historical event was now over in the words of their song. Albeit rather crudely.

However, by implication in my earlier statement, guessing it's only 'some' who would do this, but not a 'whole bunch', if that helps?

Similarly amongst their merchandise are various other tasteful items proclaiming, eg 'I hate beggars', but again it's not all but some who bother to buy these. Presumably those who do though, are beyond reproach in your eyes??

You should consider the cause and results of 'divide-and-rule', rather than, er, shooting the messenger.

No ideas on the percentages, but do know there's at least a minority who want to get drunk, sing their more reflective songs and be done with it. But then again, there's those who can't let go....
    As yer man says it's some form of Insecurity.

Well hopefully we can all agree that it's a form of insecurity and not feel the need to prolong the discussion.

Except I am sure. As I do know or have associated with your fans. And do still. So guess it's my experience of 'the truth'.

Some of them didn't or don't know my roots, but did suggest a certain historical event was now over in the words of their song. Albeit rather crudely.

However, by implication in my earlier statement, guessing it's only 'some' who would do this, but not a 'whole bunch', if that helps?

Similarly amongst their merchandise are various other tasteful items proclaiming, eg 'I hate beggars', but again it's not all but some who bother to buy these. Presumably those who do though, are beyond reproach in your eyes??

You should consider the cause and results of 'divide-and-rule', rather than, er, shooting the messenger.

No ideas on the percentages, but do know there's at least a minority who want to get drunk, sing their more reflective songs and be done with it. But then again, there's those who can't let go....
    As yer man says it's some form of Insecurity.
    here's a bag of chips. go see if there's any room left on your shoulder to balance even more of them on it.
    seems like the person who can't let go is you.
    Larne FC for Larne Town. Inver Park for the people.

446 Posts
    Being an Irishman, the only place I would place a spud product is in the belly....even you should know that??

386 Posts
    3-0 Scotland FT.

358 Posts
    Anyone heard from Ealing Green of late!

130 Posts
    Have no problem with fans of any country having their flags and banners etc and we as a country prob need to get over our sensitivity to the union jack and so on. Although flags carrying the names of certain loyalist/unionist organisations has no place in football. However I do think the same fans should have some sense of respect for the visiting country. By and large I would like to think we do and aim to have the craic with the home fans. Like we wouldnt go to Austria singing about the holocaust for example or to germany and sing about the berlin wall or the WWs etc. Now I know our history is so closely linked with NI in comparison to the examples I used there but nonetheless I think they could have some respect and tone down the political orientated songs for such a visit.

Oh and of course the Welsh fans, singing Thierry Henry on Tuesday night. Didnt like that either, still too soon, Im a sensitive soul. But seriously that sort of chant is banter and thats fair enough, its the politically motivated stuff that shouldnt be in our game.

Page 27 of 61 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast