Page 35 of 61 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast

Thread: Celtic Cup thread

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    If some eejits that cause trouble at bohs/rovers games, see this video, this could be a disaster.
    they have, read the comments. I presume bohsbill is a bohemians fan

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Only if the IFA is paying the FAI to take part in the competition.
    Is everyone not ultimately paying Scotland to take part?

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cornflakes View Post
    they have, read the comments. I presume bohsbill is a bohemians fan
    From 'nosurrender16901'
    "keyboard warrior when the video is of me singing loyalists songs in your capital city you stupid ****. if use *******s were playing scotland at windsor park id of been there as well with a rifle or a pistol in my hand. kind of feel sorry for you ***** all the abuse you suffered as a child at the hands of catholic priests you dirty wee choir boy. probably enjoyed it too by the sounds of things your as bent as that ******* stephen gately"

This is the kind of thing that will ensure that the IFA continue to lose prospective players and support. Can a leopard change its spots?

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    You mean the Gardai? They were there mate.
    CD dont even bother starting with that one.

446 Posts
    If some eejits that cause trouble at bohs/rovers games, see this video, this could be a disaster.
    On the basis of the limited amount I know about Bohs/Shams hoolies. would say that's a non-starter they would 'join forces'.
    Even for that shower.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    From 'nosurrender16901'
    "keyboard warrior when the video is of me singing loyalists songs in your capital city you stupid ****. if use *******s were playing scotland at windsor park id of been there as well with a rifle or a pistol in my hand. kind of feel sorry for you ***** all the abuse you suffered as a child at the hands of catholic priests you dirty wee choir boy. probably enjoyed it too by the sounds of things your as bent as that ******* stephen gately"

This is the kind of thing that will ensure that the IFA continue to lose prospective players and support. Can a leopard change its spots?
    No. Ultimately, the paranoia is too great.

What a depressing video.

214 Posts
    Anybody spot EG in that video?!
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Anybody spot EG in that video?!
    Your comment may have intended in jest, but I'll have you know I find it offensive to be associated even obliquely with scum like that (in fact, my great regret is that it wasn't possible for a bunch of Gardai to segregate them and batter the living s h i te out of them).

Anyhow, fyi I attended the game courtesy of an avid ROI fan and we socialised very happily before/during* the game with fans from NI/ROI/Scotland, fortunately well out of sight or earshot of the lowlife in the video.

* - We both had to shoot off straight after.

EG but there were a couple of old women coming through, not what you would associate with a scum element, who appeared to be laughing and singing along.

Its commendable for you to say what you have said, given that we have never seen you outrighly condemn this sorta stuff, rather try and deflect or negate the impact, even suggest it didn't happen.

I don't think the cops coming along, segregating would have done anyone any good. Especially if those "fans" went home and said they were dealt severly by the gardai, and the gardai with little or no evidence to prove(those videos wouldn't have been uncovered) what was going on.

284 Posts
    Its commendable for you to say what you have said, given that we have never seen you outrighly condemn this sorta stuff, rather try and deflect or negate the impact, even suggest it didn't happen.
    I have to say I find that comment by you to be a fcuking disgrace, indeed highly offensive.

Nowhere have I ever denied/deflected/defended it when a section of the NI support has misbehaved like so, either here or on any other forum.
    Rather as a decades-long fan, I have always sought to give an honest account of the whole picture, drawn from personal experience, "warts and all".

You, however, appear only to read into my comments what you want to read, presumably in order to conform with your own prejudices.

Meanwhile, the likes of 'Mr. Parker' can knowingly and deliberately attempt to pass off an old photo of a Polish hoolie confronting the PSNI in Belfast as an NI hoolie confronting the Gardai in Dublin, without receiving any criticism from you, whilst the Mods sit idly by. Then again, he's "one of us" and we all know that it's only "themmuns" who are the liars, isn't it?

Double Standards or what?

I don't think the cops coming along, segregating would have done anyone any good.
    I was not suggesting that it was feasible for the Gardai to have separated out the scumbags in such circumstances, and administered some welcome "summary justice" without risking innocent bystanders getting hurt etc.
    Rather I was merely making the point that, in common with the overwhelming majority of the GAWA, I would have loved to see it if it were possible.

Especially if those "fans" went home and said they were dealt severly by the gardai, and the gardai with little or no evidence to prove(those videos wouldn't have been uncovered) what was going on.
    The good people of NI (i.e. the great majority) know better than anyone else just what lowlife these people are - we have to tolerate them in our midst, after all.
    Consequently, if they did return with bleeding heads, tales of "police brutality" and (the inevitable) claims for compensation, I have no doubt they would be treated with all the contempt they deserve.
    Meanwhile if such treatment meant they were deterred from travelling again to Dublin next May, and disgracing us "by association", then I've no doubt that the vast majority of the GAWA would be doubly delighted
    Last edited by EalingGreen; 14/02/2011 at 4:04 PM.

214 Posts
    I was only joking EG.

Just hope these so called fans behave when they next come to Dublin. Don't think they'll get it so easy from the authorities next time around.

446 Posts
    Take your reply at face value EG and even the biggest cynic would not say the 'decent fans of the North' should be associated with those numptys.

However, besides the inertia of the Garda, it would be interesting to know what sorts of nos were involved (Which I don't expect anyone to answer, unless they were the police chief in charge!)??
    Guessing into almost three figures and what anyone with your stance could and would have done about it, not to mention the Guards.

And without revisiting the dialogue between awec and MP, it would appear definitely not all was 'sweetness and light' and that these people were the sort involved, in additional watering duties for local gardeners....

For the record, with these kind of people (this would be around 'average' in the context of the songbook for a certain team from Govan) would say let them sing what they want. Which they seemed to do anyway.
    But the moment they physically misbehave, like annoying local residents and worse, the Guards should treat them just like they belatedly responded to the fascists in '95.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    Never heard this 'party tune' before, anyone explain the origin?
    There are two "party tunes" in the clip.

The first is "Build My Gallows", with the lyrics as follows:

I Am A Loyal Ulster Man
    they Say This Day That I Must Hang
    cause I Fought The Ira
    they Say That I Must Pay
    well They Say This Day That I Must Hang.

so Build My Gallows Build Them High
    that I Might See Before I Die
    the Antrim Glen And The Hills Of County Down
    and I'll See Again The Lights Of Home.

well I Am A Loyal Ulster Man
    i Fought Those Evil Men
    and I'd Do It All Again
    they Say This Day That I Must Hang.

the Antrim Glen And The Hills Of County Down

i Am A Loyal Ulster Man
    well I Fought That Evil Band
    and I Freed My Native Land
    they Say This Day That I Must Hang.

the Antrim Glen, The Hills Of County Down

I think it's a bit of a "Loyalist's" fantasists ditty, as I am unaware of any "Loyal Ulsterman", who "fought the IRA" and was sentenced to the death penalty.

The second number is called "A Father's Advice", with the lyrics being as follows:

Said a father to his son
    "Oh my boy the time has come"
    Your country it is calling unto thee
    For those rebels once again
    To unite us is their aim
    And together we must stand to keep her free

Chorus:

Remember, our fathers brave and bold
    As they fought for Ulsters cause in far off lands
    Oh my father said to me "I must join the Y.C.V"
    With a rifle or a pistol in my hand

From Belfast to Armagh
    Carade to old Crossgar
    From Ballymena to old Omagh town
    With their standards flying high
    As it was in days gone by
    We will rally round the flag for liberty

(chorus)

Come all you Volunteers
    Let us fight and never fear
    Just like our fathers did so long ago
    Though i'm sixteen years of age
    In the Volunteers i'll engage
    Like our fathers did so many years ago.

The YCV being the junior wing of the UVF.

I hope that's educational.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

610 Posts
    EG but there were a couple of old women coming through, not what you would associate with a scum element, who appeared to be laughing and singing along.

Bit harsh I think on EG.
    While I might not always agree with what he says I do find him a reasonable person who often offers another perspective. I'd certainly rather have him around this forum than not. Tis always good to have someone hold up a mirror to ourselves and have us ask questions of ourselves as ROI fans
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

19. Thanks From:

Those are Rangers songs being sung I presume? Last time I checked over on ILSF there was a bit of a row going on as some NI fans were upset by the singing of a song which refered to Niall McGinn/Paddy McCourt making Rangers look sh**e, From talking to NI fans I know who would be more 'old school' they talk about a new breed of 'middle class do gooder' NI fans who are becoming increasingly prevalent and who would have a more open mindset, Needless to say he wasn't in agreement with them.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SolitudeRed View Post
    Those are Rangers songs being sung I presume? Last time I checked over on ILSF there was a bit of a row going on as some NI fans were upset by the singing of a song which refered to Niall McGinn/Paddy McCourt making Rangers look sh**e, From talking to NI fans I know who would be more 'old school' they talk about a new breed of 'middle class do gooder' NI fans who are becoming increasingly prevalent and who would have a more open mindset, Needless to say he wasn't in agreement with them.
    I believe they are ditties that would be sung by Rangers fans.

Indeed - some people are finding it hard to get their heads around the fact that the majority of Northern Ireland fans want f**k all to do with such "Party Tunes", and consider them to have no place at Northern Ireland games.

Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    Bit harsh I think on EG.
    While I might not always agree with what he says I do find him a reasonable person who often offers another perspective. I'd certainly rather have him around this forum than not. Tis always good to have someone hold up a mirror to ourselves and have us ask questions of ourselves as ROI fans
    EG/Fixer, I agree fixer82 however, EG you added in the word defended into my post thanks for that, but when I didnt want it in the first place you can remove it again, I stick by the rest, I am not prejudiced, in fact I would be a complete hypocrite if I were given stuff in the past. Its not just NI fans, LOI teams like rovers and bohs(quick get some fairy liquid) down here, and all over English football grounds, in fact the world over, fans try to disassociate these elements with their club, - I am not playing the sectarian card, however these songs and general behaviour have a sectarian element - as by coincidence they just appear at every game looking for trouble, their association by chance per se. And with that point in mind, you have in the past tried to deflect or play down a minority element. That video did not apper to be a minority, with all those who had passed by over the whole duration of the video joining/laughing/whatever. I mean how do we decide what a minority is anyway? If it gets bigger and bigger is it still a minority? Anyway thats a different argument, but EG you left out the point of the two old ladies, and id be pretty sure they knew what was being sung.

NB, i had heard the middle one before but I never knew the lyrics to make out, i googled it to find out, but i think i found a slightlly different version to what you posted, ill see if i can dig it up again. To be fair the second song isn't that bad, its suggestive obviouslly but its within the context that its sung is probably the problem and what the context is. I mean change a few place names/organisations and it could fit into many countrys history.

What worries me, is, I like singing and clapping in general, and just making noise(cos im a bit of a gómb). If I joined in in the sing song and my accent came across would I be set upon? Or could I use fhtb as an example in my defence?

131 Posts
    NB, i had heard the middle one before but I never knew the lyrics to make out, i googled it to find out, but i think i found a slightlly different version to what you posted, ill see if i can dig it up again
    The middle one of two?

25. Thanks From:

Page 35 of 61 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast