Page 33 of 61 FirstFirst ... 23313233343543 ... LastLast

Thread: Celtic Cup thread

38 Posts
    Ah, deflect.

You have been outed as the lying, bitter little man you are. You attempted to mislead everyone by posting a photo of a polish fan from a match 2 years ago, you were caught and you attempted (but failed, by the way) to squirm your way out of it by spewing more lies.

Seriously parker, cut your losses, stop making it worse for yourself by keeping your mouth shut.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    Quotes, pic etc of what exactly? There was a radio show, people phoned in their experiences. You claimed all had a good day, those reports contradicted your take on things. I challenged you on your take. I have nothing to prove. The only bitterness is those in denial.
    Denial? Neither awec nor I have denied that a minority of the NI support* may have upset locals by singing party tunes, waving Union Flags, drinking in the street and urinating in gardens etc

What you have still to "prove" is how you were deceived by a reputable newspaper erroneously printing that photo of a Polish fan with a caption describing him as an NI fan.

So out with it, where is your link?

* - In my long experience of following NI, I have come to see how, on occasion, certain matches will draw out a gang of "hangers-on", who take the opportunity to latch onto the regular support and get p i s sed and attempt to cause trouble etc. Wednesday evening may have been one of those (though I didn't see it myself, despite having been at the game. Unlike you.) Anyhow, such a phenomenon has historically affected very many teams, including your own in the not-so-distant past...

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by awec View Post
    Ah, deflect.

You have been outed as the lying, bitter little man you are. You attempted to mislead everyone by posting a photo of a polish fan from a match 2 years ago, you were caught and you attempted (but failed, by the way) to squirm your way out of it by spewing more lies.

Seriously parker, cut your losses, stop making it worse for yourself by keeping your mouth shut.
    The only person who should be concerned with that is yourself.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Denial? Neither awec nor I have denied that a minority of the NI support* may have upset locals by singing party tunes, waving Union Flags, drinking in the street and urinating in gardens etc

What you have still to "prove" is how you were deceived by a reputable newspaper erroneously printing that photo of a Polish fan with a caption describing him as an NI fan.

So out with it, where is your link?

* - In my long experience of following NI, I have come to see how, on occasion, certain matches will draw out a gang of "hangers-on", who take the opportunity to latch onto the regular support and get p i s sed and attempt to cause trouble etc. Wednesday evening may have been one of those (though I didn't see it myself, despite having been at the game. Unlike you.) Anyhow, such a phenomenon has historically affected very many teams, including your own in the not-so-distant past...
    There will be no link provided. You cannot provide a link to something that was since edited.

I did not say you were in denial. That was directed at awec. He claimed " a good day was had by all."

106 Posts
    Btw, it was not just one-way-traffic when it came to how supporters behaviour was reported.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/co...e-2535735.html

38 Posts
    You're a hypocrite. A bitter, twisted, sad pathetic hypocrite. A total embarrassment.

38 Posts
    Btw, it was not just one-way-traffic when it came to how supporters behaviour was reported.

Oh. My. God.

Firstly he moans cause they're wearing kilts, then cause they're wearing scotland shirts, and he labels them ALL <insert expletive here that I cant post on here>'s because one berk said something stupid?

This guy sounds like he's right up your street parker.

284 Posts
    On Boyce you don't deserve an answer given your previous 'subtle' comments.
    What "subtle" comments?

On the rest, the pic was posted directly under the sentence discussing reputable papers.
    Purely by coincidence. There was no connection made by you to your final sentence, nor could one reasonably have been inferred. So why don't you stop lying and admit that it was a blatant 'parting shot' by you to deceive other browsers into believing that you had found a photo of an NI fan confronting the Gardai in Dublin on Wednesday night?

As for a source, it was initially posted on the BBC website and subsequently replaced after complaints.
    Then why didn't you make that clear?
    I'll tell you why, because your posting of that photo was nothing to do with your concern for the accuracy of reporting etc, and everything to do with your desire to denigrate the GAWA, even if it means blatantly lying.

Also if you rememer pics and video of another polish fan attacking people while in possesion of an 'ulster' flag also had their captions changed after intially describing him as a NI fan.
    No, I don't "rememer" [sic] and nor will 99.9% of the members of this forum.

And in any case, no-one is accusing the Herald report, upon which you rest what passes for a case, of having made a simple error of fact. Rather, awec and myself are stating that the Herald, in typical tabloid style, took a few incidents of misbehaviour and blew them up out of all proportion, to try to paint a picture of the GAWA that was seriously misleading.

And like night follows day, you piled in on the back of that, to add your tuppence-worth in order to slag off the NI fans. Which would be bad enough, were it not for the fact that you went further in fabricating a photo as "proof", then trying to deny it with the most transparent of fig-leaves when outed.

Jesus Christ, it's been four pages. Can we talk about football again?

285 Posts
    Would they not just take this over to OWC?
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    Parker is surprisingly quiet over there. The reason he's on here is because he reckoned he could post his crap and get away with it.

284 Posts

Meanwhile, fast-forwarding to 2015, as the Nations Cup is being held in Glasgow, Iain MacDougall of "Scotland on Sunday" writes:

The night I began to fall out of love with The Beautiful Game

Friday February 11 2015

So, there we were, having a quiet pint on Wednesday afternoon. You know the drill -- you get to knock off work a bit early and one of your mates says: "Fancy a swifty?"

There are few phrases more enticing in the English language than that one -- implicitly guaranteeing one of the great pleasures of Scottish life, and that, of course, is the idea of a couple of pints with good friends, good conversation and good slagging of each other in the afternoon.

It's kinda naughty, kinda bold and, let's face it, having a few sly beers in the middle of the afternoon, when most of your colleagues are still tied to the desk, is really rather ridiculously enjoyable.

And then . . . The Irish came in.

Now, I have no particular problem with Irish people -- every race, nation and ethnicity has a roughly equal ratio of decent people and *******s.

But these were definitely from the latter category.

I don't know what genius decided it would be a good idea to host a pointless match between Wales and Republic of Ireland in Glasgow -- honestly, think about it for 30 seconds and just ponder the stupidity of the very notion -- but the shower that came into our bar were the very dregs of humanity.

Roaring, shouting, singing and displaying that weird aggressive friendliness that drunken football fans are often guilty of, it was weird to see so many middle-aged men kitted out top-to-toes in Emerald Green and Guinness Hats, behaving like a bunch of thugs from Green Street.

Now, before you get your knickers in a twist and start accusing me of a) racism and b) being anti-football, let me get a few things straight.

For starters, I bloody love the game, I played it -- badly -- all my life and if, on death row, I was given the choice of having a last meal or watching a last football match, then I would plump for the latter.

But I must admit, the older I get, the more I bloody hate some football fans.

That sounds like heresy, and you're probably right, but I can no longer stand the stupid, reflexive tribalism of so many fans.

You can't go into a pub on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon without being swamped by a horde of middle-aged men wearing replica jerseys and, yeah, that's fine and part of the crack, but the levels of hysteria so many of them reach; the utter absence of any logic and, worst of all, the self-deception is completely obvious and transparent and, frankly, rather pitiful.

I understand why people like to go down the pub to watch a match, but I haven't been in a bar for a game in years.

The reason? Well, I want to be able to watch the game and try to gauge how it's playing out -- I want to be able to see who's playing well, who looks a bit jittery, who looks like they might be carrying a knock and all the myriad other tiny things that all go into making football -- don't use the word 'soccer' in my company, that's the phrase used by Americans and culchies and I hate it -- the greatest game in the world.

And yet, having gone to a rugby-playing school, where they looked down on football and, to my intense irritation at the time, used to sneer at football fans, you have to admit, to a certain degree, the snobs and the posh kids had a point.

I've been on away trips where people I have known for years, sensible, decent people, have gone completely bloody mental -- just because they were in a stadium.

We Scottish are guilty of a terrible degree of self satisfaction when it comes to our football fans.

And while I am loath to engage in the national back-slapping that we tend to be guilty of -- ah sure we're a great little country and everyone loves us etc -- it has to be said that, on the whole, the Scottish do genuinely tend to behave better on away trips than other nations.

Those Irish fans in my local will claim that they were simply having fun and being a bit boisterous. But they weren't.

Everyone else in the pub immediately tensed and when we heard one Celtic fan talking about how much he hates Rangers and at one point it looked like it was probably going to kick off.

And I was just bloody enraged. Why should people having a quiet pint in Glasgow have to worry about some sectarian gob****e bringing his stupid, ignorant, tribal, foreign bigotry on to our soil?

Indeed, the most depressing aspect of the slagging I used to get in school from my rugby-playing classmates -- I played rugby nearly as badly as I played football, and I love both games, although football will always be number one -- was that their sneering attitude towards the average fan is so often borne out to be true.

The greatest game in the world is so often betrayed and let down by the kind of idiot who thinks he can prove his love for the game is more than yours by being a loud, obnoxious, threatening, violent scumbag.

And it's time the rest of us called stop.

Anyhow, here's some more evidence of Scottish fans drinking, singing and generally making an exhibition of themselves in someone elses country...
    Last edited by EalingGreen; 12/02/2011 at 12:08 AM.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Jesus Christ, it's been four pages. Can we talk about football again?
    I feel your pain, Charlie, but I fear there is no relief in sight, since we NI fans don't especially care to talk about Wednesday's game(!) and Mr. Photoshop only wants to talk about the carnage and bloodshed of the 'Battle of Ballsbridge'.

"It was Murther, I tell ye, pure Murther..."

Ian O'Doherty is sort of known for being "the non-politically correct guy." Anybody who makes it to the end of his column has already lost the argument.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    Simply because any criticism on there, implied or real, cannot be accepted in line with the uber-paranoia on there.
    Which even the likes of the CIA would struggle to comprehend....

Also unsure why EG posted that You Tube link, given the real Scotland fans have far worse about 'Ingerland', and on the basis of their limited 'songbook' that I've heard, the North's fans sing about us.
    And they claim to be 'Irish'! Well sometimes.

Not much to do with football, but this farce of a tournament was never going to be....

675 Posts
    So....Norn Iron fans, how'd you feel about Wednesday night? I though McCourt had on OK game, despite being a carrier defensively, the rest of it was fairly woeful from an NI perspective, just my view....
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 12/02/2011 at 2:02 AM.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Mr Parker. Mr Parker Mr Parker Mr Parker...
    Since 1880

Ah fhtb.i thought you were dead

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    So....Norn Iron fans, how'd you feel about Wednesday night? I though McCourt had on OK game, despite being a carrier defensively, the rest of it was fairly woeful from an NI perspective, just my view....
    McCourt was our best player. Everyone else was doot. Scotland ripped us to shreds, thankfully they took the foot off the gas or it could have been 5 or 6.

I think the fact that the games conclude all around the same time it makes it better, more of a tournament feel about it. Is scotland v Ireland the last game? I hope so. Good planning ahead if it was

Page 33 of 61 FirstFirst ... 23313233343543 ... LastLast