We should, should being the operative word. There remains rumblings about Scully around the place. Jaysus even if Stevo doesn't kick a ball for the rest of the year (only made four league appearences I think) you look at our starting eleven of say:
Barry Ryan
Shaun Kelly
Paddy Purcell
Brian McCarthy
John Frost
Joe Gamble
Dave O'Leary
Jeffrey Judge
Paudie Quinn
Rory Gaffney
Denis Behan
and it looks feckin strong in any language! With a bench of genuinely pretty decent First Division players to back it up. That's not the way I'd have them line up personally but I'd say that's the way twill be.
I saw yis playing 4-1-3-2 against Monaghan - like England's 1966 WC final formation. Didn't really work because yis didn't have someone with the quality of Gamble to play the lone holding role. Would work now - I'd put Gaffney up front with Behan (dropping deep as needed). The only players in D1 who could unlock that are maybe David Cassidy or Cummins.
I can't remember the last time Scully played a straight two up top, the bloody Monaghan game being the one game I missed this year!! Having someone playing off Behan should be a no brainer in fairness though.
Derry - Sligo is now arranged for Tuesday 23rd at 7.45.
Derry 1-0 up
Lafferty after 33 minutes apparently
Derry 1 v 1 Sligo 45' Ventre
Derry 2 v 1 up
76' Mclaughlin
Eoin Doyle with the leveler on 81'
Lafferty sent off for Derry 91'
FT 2 - 2. Another half hour to go!
Derry 3 - 2 up in ET 93' McLaughlin with his second of the night.
3 all (doyle) and 120 mins gone looks like penos
3 v 3 now Doyle 108' Cracking game.
FT 3 - 3 Going to Penos
Good thing that wasn't on TV. Some people might have been entertained.
DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?
Derry score with their first peno