Page 22 of 32 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 ... LastLast

Thread: Pre Season 2011

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    I know its only pre-season but that's a pretty good result considering there was 5 young players under the age of 20 that started the game for Limerick and 3 more on the bench.
    Pre-season results are rarely of any real significance, but Limerick fans should be enthused with the performance. With four lads in the u-21 home based squad mixed in with a good bit of experience Limerick should have a good tilt at the FD this year (licencing permitting!). David O'Leary and Paudie Quinn from the U-21's looked lively, Peter Hynes looked interested (thats a real hit or miss one) and Barry Ryan was excellent.

As for Dundalk, it was a real anti-climax after the Windsor Park performance, but maybe it was the best thing that could have happened to shake the squad up from any complacency that could have crept in.

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Hopefully Scully sticks with him and wont chop and change keepers (with Barrys brother Dave)

I say a solid organised back 4 breaking up play and putting long balls out into the corners for Garry Sheehan to run onto with O'Flynn in support on the break will be a tactic we'll see a lot of away from home this year.
    Dave Ryan wasnt on the bench for ye! Was somebody called Cusack I think!

Three Shels games.

Home to Shamrock Rovers tonight - ko 8pm

Away to Clane United on Sunday (20th) - ko 1pm

Away to Newbridge Town on Monday(21st) - ko 7.30pm

57 Posts
    I was very impressed with Limerick's performance last night. We passed the ball well I thoguht Jeffrey Judge and David O'Leary did very well, Paudie Quinn was always a threat. Gary Sheehan finished very well and looked dangerous. Defence was solid although caught napping at one corner when Kearns nearly scored and someone (was it Hawkins?) missed an open goal on the rebound.

42 Posts
    I only caught the second half of the Limerick-Dundalk match but we looked poor against a well organised Limerick team. There was a good structure to Limericks team and the Dundalk players got little space. If I was a Limerick fan I'd be very encouraged with that performance. Pre-season matches don't matter all that much but after such a good performance against Linfield and then to this it was disappointing.

64 Posts
    Monaghan United v Galway United, Sunday, 20th February, Century Homes Park, 3.00PM KO.

Glenavon vs Galway United, Tuesday, 22nd February, Mourneview Park, 7.45PM KO.

Sligo Rovers v Galway United, Saturday, 26th February, Showgrounds, 6.00PM KO.

62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Maroon View Post
    Monaghan United v Galway United, Sunday, 20th February, Century Homes Park, 3.00PM KO.

All hell is guna break lose then!

que galways fans singing, ''we are staying up, say we are staying up''

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superjohnny View Post
    que galways fans singing, ''we are staying up, say we are staying up''
    There will probably only be one there.

Quote Originally Posted by Quayman View Post
    Dave Ryan wasnt on the bench for ye! Was somebody called Cusack I think!
    Dave Ryan has been injured for all of pre season, should be fit in a week afaik.

I see no reason why Dave would be dropped as first choice to be honest.

On last night, thought twas very encouraging how well organised the team was, John Frost looks like he could be a very important player for us, himself and Paddy on either side of Brian McCarthy looked very solid.

O'Leary, Judge and Quinn are a decent footballing midfield, Gary Sheehan will score at least a dozen goals this season exactly like the one he scored last night.

I still think we're a bit short squad wise and we probably need an old head in the middle of the park to kick people but there was cause for optimism.

46 Posts

Gufc v Monaghan on sunday is off

Gufc will play Wexford youths in Ferrycrarig Park 2.pm instead

62 Posts
    Has there been a fallout now?
    Last edited by Dillonman; 18/02/2011 at 7:05 PM.

62 Posts
    1 all between Cork and Sligo atm Blinkhorn and Cummins with the goals.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    Has there been a fallout now?
    I don't see why there should be a fall out between Galway and Monaghan. Monaghan were given false hope by the FAI, they had to know we were going to appeal. I have real sympathy for Monaghan here..they should be in the Premier, but not in our place

1,104 Posts
    Longford beating Pats 2-1 at the moment. Hope and Morley for Town, Bradley for Pats.

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I was very impressed with Limerick's performance last night. We passed the ball well I thoguht Jeffrey Judge and David O'Leary did very well, Paudie Quinn was always a threat. Gary Sheehan finished very well and looked dangerous. Defence was solid although caught napping at one corner when Kearns nearly scored and someone (was it Hawkins?) missed an open goal on the rebound.
    Limerick were well worth the win last night by all accounts, I think they are a great bet to win the FD. I was looking for some value, think I found my team now. Obviously Monday night and the changes took its toll on us, but fair play to Limerick, good result for them, and will give them real confidence.
    Last edited by oriel; 18/02/2011 at 8:36 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

1,104 Posts
    Full time in Flancare 2-1 win for Town, Pats had a late equaliser ruled out for a push. For anyone who cares!

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    1 all between Cork and Sligo atm Blinkhorn and Cummins with the goals.
    Finished 3-1 to Sligo, Russell and Kirby with the goals.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Hope and Morley for Town
    Good result for De Town...there's hope for ye this season.

23. Thanks From:

1,104 Posts
    Good result for De Town...there's hope for ye this season.
    Ha. Didn't see it myself but it's a good result. We were pretty unlucky to lose to Derry too. I think we'll be solid enough this season without threatening the top four really.

25. Thanks From:

Page 22 of 32 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 ... LastLast