Pre-season results are rarely of any real significance, but Limerick fans should be enthused with the performance. With four lads in the u-21 home based squad mixed in with a good bit of experience Limerick should have a good tilt at the FD this year (licencing permitting!). David O'Leary and Paudie Quinn from the U-21's looked lively, Peter Hynes looked interested (thats a real hit or miss one) and Barry Ryan was excellent.
As for Dundalk, it was a real anti-climax after the Windsor Park performance, but maybe it was the best thing that could have happened to shake the squad up from any complacency that could have crept in.
Three Shels games.
Home to Shamrock Rovers tonight - ko 8pm
Away to Clane United on Sunday (20th) - ko 1pm
Away to Newbridge Town on Monday(21st) - ko 7.30pm
I was very impressed with Limerick's performance last night. We passed the ball well I thoguht Jeffrey Judge and David O'Leary did very well, Paudie Quinn was always a threat. Gary Sheehan finished very well and looked dangerous. Defence was solid although caught napping at one corner when Kearns nearly scored and someone (was it Hawkins?) missed an open goal on the rebound.
I only caught the second half of the Limerick-Dundalk match but we looked poor against a well organised Limerick team. There was a good structure to Limericks team and the Dundalk players got little space. If I was a Limerick fan I'd be very encouraged with that performance. Pre-season matches don't matter all that much but after such a good performance against Linfield and then to this it was disappointing.
Monaghan United v Galway United, Sunday, 20th February, Century Homes Park, 3.00PM KO.
Glenavon vs Galway United, Tuesday, 22nd February, Mourneview Park, 7.45PM KO.
Sligo Rovers v Galway United, Saturday, 26th February, Showgrounds, 6.00PM KO.
Dave Ryan has been injured for all of pre season, should be fit in a week afaik.
I see no reason why Dave would be dropped as first choice to be honest.
On last night, thought twas very encouraging how well organised the team was, John Frost looks like he could be a very important player for us, himself and Paddy on either side of Brian McCarthy looked very solid.
O'Leary, Judge and Quinn are a decent footballing midfield, Gary Sheehan will score at least a dozen goals this season exactly like the one he scored last night.
I still think we're a bit short squad wise and we probably need an old head in the middle of the park to kick people but there was cause for optimism.![]()
Has there been a fallout now?
Last edited by Dillonman; 18/02/2011 at 7:05 PM.
1 all between Cork and Sligo atm Blinkhorn and Cummins with the goals.
Longford beating Pats 2-1 at the moment. Hope and Morley for Town, Bradley for Pats.
Limerick were well worth the win last night by all accounts, I think they are a great bet to win the FD. I was looking for some value, think I found my team now. Obviously Monday night and the changes took its toll on us, but fair play to Limerick, good result for them, and will give them real confidence.
Last edited by oriel; 18/02/2011 at 8:36 PM.
#DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).
Full time in Flancare 2-1 win for Town, Pats had a late equaliser ruled out for a push. For anyone who cares!