Page 10 of 16 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Drogheda

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    But one figure that has been left out is the rent paid to the FAI for United Park. I have heard that they have even put up the rent on this.
    Probably to pay for the improvements.

Do you really believe that with delaney and company?

I do agree though that we should pay back any money that the fai invest in united park through rent, but when its paid back, the rent should go to some nominal fee like 1euro or something.

But with the club on its knees, you'd think the FAI could give us a break for a year or two before we get back on out feet.

I still can't understand how our costs are supposed to be so high though, when compared to other loi clubs. The lads were asked at a public meeting a couple of weeks ago for the breakdown of these proposed costs by a supporter, and they wouldnt give them to him.

I asked myself today before commiting to contribute to a share as I want to see where my money would be going (not like after examinership). It seems to be like top secret fbi stuff!

Btw Mariborkev, point taken - wasnt suggesting it only happened to us!!

Just hope we can pull out of this!!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

The lads were asked at a public meeting a couple of weeks ago for the breakdown of these proposed costs by a supporter, and they wouldnt give them to him.

I asked myself today before commiting to contribute to a share as I want to see where my money would be going (not like after examinership). It seems to be like top secret fbi stuff!
    Just on this again. The lads runnign the show now have agreed to meet anyone willing to buy a share and discuss the proposed breakdown of costs with them! Hopefully that'll help get a couple of more pople to buy a share!

22 Posts
    discuss? or give detailed analysis to? would be wary of committing to anything cosmo unless you're 100% sure where it's going.
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

But with the club on its knees, you'd think the FAI could give us a break for a year or two before we get back on out feet.
    Are you serious?give yous a break for a year or two?please say this is a joke!why would they give yous a break until yous get back on your feet?I wouldn't invest any money into this setup!its just not going to work!too much money needed in too short a time and yous will probably just end up back at square one in a few years time!looking for more money from fans and more sympathy from the FAI and the public.

21 Posts
    An integral and most enjoyable part of most of my adult life has been spent watching Dundalk beating the s**t out of Drogheda. I stress most…there have been enough unexpected variations in the Louth Derby during the past near-50 years to keep the interest alive and the pulse racing in the build up to the next local squabble.
    So why am I going soft…hoping (no demanding) that the Drogs survive…not wanting to see an old enemy cease to exist…berating their supporters for not rallying to the cause.
    It would be criminal if the present generation of Drogheda supporters would allow the efforts of the past near-50 years to be flushed away.
    Please, please make it to the starting line. We haven’t finished handing out hammerings to you guys…not by a long shot.

I do agree though that we should pay back any money that the fai invest in united park through rent, but when its paid back, the rent should go to some nominal fee like 1euro or something.
    Why? Because the people of Drogheda can't run a football club no matter how many lifelines they get?
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels View Post
    Why? Because the people of Drogheda can't run a football club no matter how many lifelines they get?
    Aye,they had after all a long enough lead in to the position that they now find themselves in!! How many lessons need to be learned up there??

Hmmm..alot of "tut-tutting" from fans of other clubs who should have longer memories.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog View Post
    Hmmm..alot of "tut-tutting" from fans of other clubs who should have longer memories.
    Tut-tut

Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog View Post

Quote Originally Posted by shantykelly View Post
    discuss? or give detailed analysis to? would be wary of committing to anything cosmo unless you're 100% sure where it's going.
    Very detailed analysis - we met them this afternoon and tbf to them, they couldnt have really given us any more information that they did.

The group that are taking over now have nothign to do with the 3 moneymen - absolutely nothing. Theyre only normal supporters like me - but with their head screwed on (well from what i can tell - dont know them at all tbh)

CFSShels, we're one of the oldest clubs in the country - we've been yoyoing ever since the league has been broken into 2 tiers (well since we last got promoted) - its been a constant struggle to keep the club ticking over even since I've been goin up to united park (25 years now) and before im sure- but tell me anyone involved in a loi club that says its not a struggle!

If we can get a bit of a break now, I really do think we can push on from here!

123 Posts
    would the fai not give you the prize money you might win in the future to help you out........ sorry wrong thread
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

555 Posts
    CFSShels, we're one of the oldest clubs in the country
    As someone who saw Drogheda FC play in the Lourdes Stadium, well before Drogheda United joined the League, I find your idea of "oldest" very odd.

You are still newbies.

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    As someone who saw Drogheda FC play in the Lourdes Stadium, well before Drogheda United joined the League, I find your idea of "oldest" very odd.

You are still newbies.
    Ah, ye see I knew some bitter from up the road would bite on that - I actually said the country and not the league. We were actually formed in 1919 (but then obviously joined up with drogheda fc who played in the lourdes in the 70's)

959 Posts
    Ah, ye see I knew some bitter from up the road would bite on that
    Well you are a clever boy!!

433 Posts
    Ah, ye see I knew some bitter from up the road would bite on that -
    Bitter about you lot??
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

398 Posts
    As a lifelong Dundalk fan I admit to always checking for ours, then Drogheda's results, no matter what divisions were were in. Anybody from Dundalk who is glorying in the troubles of any club, let alone a neighbour, should be ashamed and betray their status as "fans" rather than supporters. It wasn't too long ago when Dundalk were the laughing stock of world football, and before that a sore on the eye of Irish football. It's lovely to laugh when you're on the tigers back, when you fall off you're focked.

24. Thanks From:

433 Posts
    Has any Dundalk fan posted that they are enjoying Drogheda's current situation??
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Not nice to hear about any club being in difficulties. Certainly hope "The Drogs" can survive.

Page 10 of 16 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast