Page 9 of 16 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Drogheda

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog View Post
    Ha- Get it all out of your system. Just because the people of Drogheda have grown weary of the club, does not mean the town lacks identity and pride.

And I am not getting drawn into a "my town is better than your town" argument...
    I'm certainly not trying to drawn anyone into such a ridiculous argument.

I just don't understand how a town "grows weary" of it's club to such an extent as in Drogheda. It suggests a larger malaise.

Perhaps the casual onlooker might determine that, but to those who have been exposed to a club who seems to endlessly have its hand out, while delivering little to the town (which has been the case, unfortunately, for much of the life of DUFC), such weariness is understandable. The club in its various guises has not always made good its debts and this has left a certain pessimism among much of the business population.

It is dangerous to judge a people by their reactions to a "fetish" sport like LOI football..

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    I just don't understand how a town "grows weary" of it's club to such an extent as in Drogheda. It suggests a larger malaise.
    Yup, because as we all know, the phrase, 'LOI fans' is synonymous with 'lots of people.'

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    I'm certainly not trying to drawn anyone into such a ridiculous argument.

Given the many "deadlines"and last minute saviours Drogheda have had in recent years I can understand a certain weariness settling in among fans that have fundraised and given generously on a number of occassions. I suspect (hope) that fans - many of whom have carried out trojan work -will sigh and once again try to save their club.

The problem is the amounts of money clubs are seeking/needing are becoming ever larger (see Bohs etc) and are often beyond the fund raising amounts possible, especially in the current economic climate. Quite simply raising 200K in a couple of weeks in January is close to Mission Impossible. Given the small amount of people with an interest in LOI and the fact many/most/all have been well tapped up already there is a strong possibility the well may have run dry.

Dont get point RE Town. Suspect we are talking here of Drogs fans and not town population, many of whom were disinterested when Drogs were doing well.

555 Posts
    It is dangerous to judge a people by their reactions to a "fetish" sport like LOI football..
    Painfully true.

S&M magazines would be an appropriate place to advertise the league.

959 Posts
    Ha- Get it all out of your system. Just because the people of Drogheda have grown weary of the club, does not mean the town lacks identity and pride.

And I am not getting drawn into a "my town is better than your town" argument...
    Thanks White Horse only for Dunleer the poor folk of Drogheda would be lost....

I can understand the weariness of Drogheda town when their club lurches from crises to crises, but i firmly believe that a brief taste of success has resulted in even the hardcore supporters not wanting to endure mediocrity. Regardless of how much it is claimed Mr Hoey et al did for the club in the past his continued involvement is/was bizarre in the context of previous problems - he may now oversee the final end of his club.

€1000 is a lot for any person to free up at any time - Dundalk sold a fraction of targeted co-op shares at €100 per share in more positive economic times!

2,771 Posts
    "another chapter in the pointless rivalry between Springfield and Shelbyville."
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

21 Posts
    Largely on the basis of the numbers supplied by Lim till I die and Iceman, and making crude estimates for some missing items, the annual accounts would look something like this;
    Expenses:-
    Players 20*50*36 =36k
    Staff: 450 * 36 = 16k
    Physio: 150 * 33 = 4k
    Officials: 750 * 17 = 12k
    Travel: 400 * 25 = 10k
    Insurance: 15k
    Training: 10k
    Audited Accounts: 10k
    Medical say 10k
    Sundries say 25k
    Annual Expenditure Total 148k….say 150k
    Income:-
    Gates 250 (average) *8*17 =34k
    Season Tkts 100*100 =10k
    C & B Subs say 150 *5*50 =38k
    Car Park…c 30k
    Bingo…c 30k
    Mobile Phone Transmitter Rent…say 10k
    Ground Advertising…say 40 hoardings *250…10k
    Bar Profits…say 30k
    Sponsor (Club)…say 25
    Sponsors (Match day) 17*500…8k
    Total Income …200k
    SURPLUS (200 less 150)…50k
    With numbers like these, what is the problem?

Quote Originally Posted by orielabu View Post
    Largely on the basis of the numbers supplied by Lim till I die and Iceman, and making crude estimates for some missing items, the annual accounts would look something like this;
    Expenses:-
    Players 20*50*36 =36k
    Staff: 450 * 36 = 16k
    Physio: 150 * 33 = 4k
    Officials: 750 * 17 = 12k
    Travel: 400 * 25 = 10k
    Insurance: 15k
    Training: 10k
    Audited Accounts: 10k
    Medical say 10k
    Sundries say 25k
    Annual Expenditure Total 148k….say 150k
    Season Tkts 100*100 =10k
    Car Park…c 30k
    Bingo…c 30k
    Mobile Phone Transmitter Rent…say 10k
    Bar Profits…say 30k
    Sponsor (Club)…say 25
    Total Income …200k
    SURPLUS (200 less 150)…50k
    With numbers like these, what is the problem?
    Would seem to make sense. The bingo is definately bringing in €40k, got that figure from the guy that runs it. Theres alse Billboard rental from the two large billboards at the rear of the away terrace. The C&B currently has about 270 members , some are paying double subscriptions. Add in Lotto sales and Goal Time raffle , should look like healthy reading.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Well said.

Quote Originally Posted by orielabu View Post
    Season Tkts 100*100 =10k
    Sponsor (Club)…say 25k
    All wildly optimistic for an amateur set up Drogheda.

Also the 150k shortfall from the statement yesterday is still the same figure as in the statements before xmas

Quote Originally Posted by Lunatics
    The anticipated deficit of € 150,000 – described in a club statement as the ‘most optimistic’ figure

People of Drogheda, there are CLOWNS running your football club, do not give them any of your money!

959 Posts
    Ach i dont know Stu, i was being more critical of Dundalk's co-op sales if anything, i dont think any more than 80k was raised which was poor.
    But sure where would you be without rivalries, pointless or not, - you know you would miss Shams fans telling you where went wrong at Bohs and how great they are now!!

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Ach i dont know Stu, i was being more critical of Dundalk's co-op sales if anything, i dont think any more than 80k was raised which was poor.
    But sure where would you be without rivalries, pointless or not, - you know you would miss Shams fans telling you where went wrong at Bohs and how great they are now!!
    haha!! true enough, the masochist that i am.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by iceman View Post
    Would seem to make sense. The bingo is definately bringing in €40k, got that figure from the guy that runs it. Theres alse Billboard rental from the two large billboards at the rear of the away terrace. The C&B currently has about 270 members , some are paying double subscriptions. Add in Lotto sales and Goal Time raffle , should look like healthy reading.
    Wow, 40k in a couple of weeks? At a public meeting a couple of weeks ago, the person that runs the bingo stood up and told everyone there it was breaking even.

Theres no goal time raffle anymore either.

CAB membership will probably go down as a result of the recession this year too.

I must admit, im very confused on how our costs are so high compared to other first division clubs. But one figure that has been left out is the rent paid to the FAI for United Park. I have heard that they have even put up the rent on this. If the c*nts would just give us a break on that, im sure it'd be a great help!

Dont really know whats going on tbh, but the lads that are now running the show come across as decent lads. I actually don't know any of them really but from hearing them speak at a meeting a few weeks ago (i wasnt at the one on monday) they came across with their heads screwed on and just needed a break to get the show up and running.

It's going to be a very tough job for them though. Someone mentioned that the people of Drogheda were now 'weary' from it all. That couldn't be more true in my opinion.

Its mad. Examinsership seemed to take alot out of people, not just physically, but emotionally. We've never recovered from examinership. It left a bitter taste in various peoples mouths like local businesses that lost out (I actually know of 1 supporter who hasnt been up since examinsership because of teh way the players were treated during it - thats the sort of stuff since examinership)

But its not only that, but alot of die hards (lads who used follow us during first division days) have stopped going aswel. Various reasons for this, but one that keeps cropping up is that alot of supporters think they were treated like cr@p during the glory days, and they were prepared to put up with it at the time cos of the success, but then when it went t!ts up the club came crawling back to them, looking for money,etc - but they havent been back since.

Same with some local businesses who were treated badly during the glory days.

We have to somehow get over this part of it all!

As I said, some decent lads involved now. the 200k is going to be impossible too! But hopefully if we get a few quid towards the 200k, we might be prepared to move on from here!!

Btw would love to see a breakdown of our costs compared to other first division clubs!!
    Last edited by Cosmo; 19/01/2011 at 6:35 PM.
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Was'nt at the meeting a few weeks ago Cosmo but at the one before that in the clubhouse the guy that runs the bingo (MD) was asked how much it was making and the figure he gave without any hesitation was €40k.
    I do know that there is a Garda licence issue with it now so maybe that accounts for the fall in income.
    Also know for certain that the guy running the chipper van is paying rent as well that runs into a few grand a season. Maybe thats why he puts his prices up on matchdays

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    Its mad. Examinsership seemed to take alot out of people, not just physically, but emotionally. We've never recovered from examinership. It left a bitter taste in various peoples mouths like local businesses that lost out (I actually know of 1 supporter who hasnt been up since examinsership because of teh way the players were treated during it - thats the sort of stuff since examinership)

But its not only that, but alot of die hards (lads who used follow us during first division days) have stopped going aswel. Various reasons for this, but one that keeps cropping up is that alot of supporters think they were treated like cr@p during the glory days, and they were prepared to put up with it at the time cos of the success, but then when it went t!ts up the club came crawling back to them, looking for money,etc - but they havent been back since.

Same with some local businesses who were treated badly during the glory days.

We have to somehow get over this part of it all!
    Cosmo,

To be fair that is true of a lot of clubs- I know that a lot of the lads who did loads at Derry in 2000 just didn't have the same hunger for it when it appeared as if we were heading towards bankruptcy prior to the whole double contracts fiasco. At the end of the day a lot of people put their reputation on the line when asking other people to give money. When clubs **** all the goodwill up against the wall and end up in the same position a decade later it just isn't worth doing it again.

As crowds fall and there are less and less younger people going to games/involved in their clubs then the pool of volunteers is just exponentially smaller.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

42 Posts
    Good post, laughed when I read that. I'll actually miss the 'Big Louth Derby this year' and as a Dundalk fan I sincerely hope Drogheda survive this, despite my inherent dislike of Shelbyville

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guinney View Post
    Good post, laughed when I read that. I'll actually miss the 'Big Louth Derby this year' and as a Dundalk fan I sincerely hope Drogheda survive this, despite my inherent dislike of Shelbyville
    What makes you think you're Springfield? Turnip or Lemon or Delicious cousin?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

433 Posts
    Lemon.

They wanted to marry cousins and drink turnip juice!

Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Page 9 of 16 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast