Thread: Setanta Cup 2011

55 Posts

Galway Utd

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Galway perhaps. If they don't go out of business, maybe Bray.
    will not be going out of business. i have never seen the GUFC supporters so determined in 34 years to finally run a proper club. The CEO is gone (well 80% anyway) and the Supporters are laying final plans to take over.

Sean Connor the man, He is leading the fightback. Nothing like a bit of competition to stir people. Setanta Cup is ours watch this space

Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post

Sean Connor the man, He is leading the fightback.
    I was beginning to believe Galway might have a chance this year. Then I read that.

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    will not be going out of business. i have never seen the GUFC supporters so determined in 34 years to finally run a proper club. The CEO is gone (well 80% anyway) and the Supporters are laying final plans to take over.

Sean Connor the man, He is leading the fightback. Nothing like a bit of competition to stir people. Setanta Cup is ours watch this space
    Meh good luck and all that but it doesn't seem so long ago ye were the model club with GUST running things and an example to everyone else. I'm not having a go I'm just bored of the cyclical nature of our clubs. "We're great, everyone should be like us" -> "we're f*cked please help" -> "we've new people in charge, we're now better than ever" blah blah..I'll still be there to "enjoy" it all over again though, sure what else would I be doing?!

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    I was beginning to believe Galway might have a chance this year. Then I read that.
    Oh god, no, really?
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

Quote Originally Posted by Olander View Post
    Oh god, no, really?
    Ya. I'm tellin' ya!

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Ya. I'm tellin' ya!
    Heavens to betsy, how on earth can we ever persevere now that a few slig's are doubting our chances?
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

Do try.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Meh good luck and all that but it doesn't seem so long ago ye were the model club with GUST running things and an example to everyone else. I'm not having a go I'm just bored of the cyclical nature of our clubs. "We're great, everyone should be like us" -> "we're f*cked please help" -> "we've new people in charge, we're now better than ever" blah blah..I'll still be there to "enjoy" it all over again though, sure what else would I be doing?!
    When were GUST ever running the club?

1,104 Posts
    Well perhaps they weren't running the club I could be wrong on that but were they not doing a lot of the work, running the match days etc? I remember a lot of talk about how smoothly the games were running, every penny was accounted for on numerous spreadsheets etc? Apologies if that was just the club itself but I thought there was Trust involvement. Before Leeson obviously.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Well perhaps they weren't running the club I could be wrong on that but were they not doing a lot of the work, running the match days etc? I remember a lot of talk about how smoothly the games were running, every penny was accounted for on numerous spreadsheets etc? Apologies if that was just the club itself but I thought there was Trust involvement. Before Leeson obviously.
    The Trust have never been in charge of the club but have always done almost all of the work.

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    + 1. One decent stand does not a stadium make (as I know from Dayler). Was at Windsor last year when Bohs played there and the "away" stand was appalling. Fortunately the crowd was so miniscule that the "facilities" were not over tested but nowhere near as good as Turners cross or SDCC Stadium in my opinion.
    Although Windsor may not be perfect, its a hell of a lot better than Dalymount.

And the stand youse ones were in is better than anything at Dalymount.
    Linfield Football Club - Hatchets & Hammers - You Can Only Envy Us

A Blue 52

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Graemerz View Post

If the Health & safety crowd up there close anymore seats in Windsor that could well be the stand youse lot will be sitting in next season !!

31 Posts
    Graemerz said:

Quote:Although Windsor may not be perfect, its a hell of a lot better than Dalymount.

End quote.

You forgot to say "So there!" at the end of that post.
    Last edited by OneForTheFuture; 06/02/2011 at 6:28 PM.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Graemerz View Post

Sorry Graemerz i was not having a "pop" at Linfield or Windsor and as I said the Kop stand looked very impressive. unfortunately, like Dalymount you appear to have one decent stand (in our case the Jodi) with poor facilities elsewhere. i was giving my assesment based on the Bohs SETANTA Cup game (as I said) and the stand we were in was infinately inferior to the Jodi stand - although as good if not better than any other part of Dalymount, especially the Connaught Street side where you guys were sent in the first leg (courtesy of An Gardai - for "security reasons") which is awful.

229 Posts
    I like the timing of this competition. The start of the LoI is a bit too far away! Despite the speculation over Boh's, hopefully it'll be a good competition and the new format works.

433 Posts
    Is the return leg of Lisburn v UCD due to be played in Dalymount?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Is the return leg of Lisburn v UCD due to be played in Dalymount?
    Why would it be?

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Why would it be?
    Possible requirement for two seperate stands for segregation purposes ? Not sure of requirements and have not heard of Dalymount being used so far.
    judging by crowds at last season(s) SETANTA Cup games the Bowl will be well able to facilitate likely numbers

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Possible requirement for two seperate stands for segregation purposes ?
    Good point. I'm sure they can use Tallaght or Inchicore though (bit closer)

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Good point. I'm sure they can use Tallaght or Inchicore though (bit closer)
    Not sure Dodge if the "two stands" requirement is a SETANTA rule (think it does apply in Euro games). Yea Richmond or tallaght more likely destinations (if bowl is not viable) and, as I said, have heard nothing of proposal to use Dalyer todate.

Page 6 of 40 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast