Page 15 of 40 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Thread: Setanta Cup 2011

2,771 Posts
    Pats grab one before half-time through Mulcahy. Game on?

Portadown take the lead in Dalyer.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Jesus Oriel, I said "back to the football" because everything was more or less covered with regards to fans behaviour. Would have thought that was fairly obvious.

Like it or not there were negative aspects to the occassion. Am I not allowed mention them?! Yet you want me to mention your "excellent achievement"!! in case you missed it I am a Drogs fan - I was hoping for a Linfield win

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Pats grab one before half-time through Mulcahy. Game on?

Portadown take the lead in Dalyer.
    flippin hell

Bohemians 0 - 1 Portadown
    44' - ...After a long ball upfield, Robert Bayly headed the ball against the ground. Braniff caught the ball on the bounce and hammered it in from 40 yards. Super goal.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

67 Posts
    Pats had a goal disallowed too. How it's not at least 4-0 is a mystery. Destroying Cliftonville

Just got back from Richmond and ****ing hell we could have won that game 10 nil if we had a decent goalscorer on. Dave McMillan could have had 4 on his own if he had stopped skyin every attempt. Good long throws from anto murphy but so that's a threat at least, if we can sort out our finishing we,ll be a force this year.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan6189 View Post
    Just got back from Richmond and ****ing hell we could have won that game 10 nil if we had a decent goalscorer on. Dave McMillan could have had 4 on his own if he had stopped skyin every attempt. Good long throws from anto murphy but so that's a threat at least, if we can sort out our finishing we,ll be a force this year.
    Saying we'll be a force is probably an exaggeration to be fair. But i agree, if we'd had a striker of note, we'd have been comfortably through. I think Danny North will be up there amongst the league's top scorers come the end of the season, but he can't do it on his own. Hopefully, Ian Daly will be up to scratch!

Quote Originally Posted by Dan6189 View Post
    Not taking chances has been the story of Cliftonville's season thus far and we have been in the same situation Pats found themselves in last week a number of times. I am glad to see that they have taken their chances well in the Setanta cup at least. We have a small squad and its been beset by injuries of late so I was pleasantly surprised that we managed to hold out.

Quote Originally Posted by shep View Post
    Agreed Not Brazil...both games passed with no trouble...you will hear worse on the terraces in domestic games.Police and Garda handled both games brilliantly and the night we had in Windsor was one of the best i have had as a Dundalk fan.Looking forward to a few more battles over the coming years and looking forward to playing "The Glens" next Monday.
    yep both games passed of peacefully .............................but to read the grossly inaccurate BBC report , you'd thik there was all out war at the game,
    as for Secterian singing..................ffs it was Dundalk V Linfield , both sides where at but what did people expect ,
    secterians songs are belted out in a lot of NI league matches as well as Celtic V Rangers and lots of other matches across europe, freedom of speech really ,
    to me it all Banter among rival fans .........................anyone offended by a chant may perhaps need to get a life

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by baddebt View Post
    to me it all Banter among rival fans .........................anyone offended by a chant may perhaps need to get a life
    Would monkey noises directed at a team of black players also be a "bit of banter"?

Should black players and fans just "get a life" too.

Your analysis of sectarianism in football is facile.
    Last edited by White Horse; 02/03/2011 at 9:21 AM.

186 Posts
    Was the draw supposed to be last night?
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    To consider IRA or UDA chants as sectarian is infantile.
    The fields of athenry or I..I..IRA are not sectarian, they are political yes of course but most definetly not sectarian.
    I dont really care tbh what was song its just brandishing anything remotely political that comes out of the North as sectarian is not only innacurate it is also disingenuous.
    Chanting IRA is about as racist as South Africans chanting MK.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Would monkey noises directed at a team of black players also be a "bit of banter"?

Should black players and fans just "get a life" too.

..... no problem just get the FAI to "investigate" it

Decent match at Dalymount last night, a very patchwork Bohs side (think they only met in the tunnel) put on a good display against Portadown. Two cracking goals by Ports gave them an ill deserved win (think a draw would have been fair result) which makes them strong favourites to win the tie.
    Killian brennan was (rather harshly in my opinion) sent off for an aerial challenge - ref said he led with his elbow - but after whinging at the distinctly average (and thats generous) ref, Mr T Connelly all game he was asking for trouble .

Not a great crowd (have not got official figure) but a decent game. No sectarian chants or incidents inside the ground and despite it being a rather chilly night neither set of fans saw the need to burn anything

Not all over but very much "advantage Portadown" at the half way point.
    Last edited by marinobohs; 02/03/2011 at 10:56 AM.

3,491 Posts
    What was the Bohs team? There's been all sorts of rumours about who ye're going to sign, but what have ye actually ended up with?

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior View Post
    Jesus Oriel, I said "back to the football" because everything was more or less covered with regards to fans behaviour. Would have thought that was fairly obvious.

Like it or not there were negative aspects to the occassion. Am I not allowed mention them?! Yet you want me to mention your "excellent achievement"!! in case you missed it I am a Drogs fan - I was hoping for a Linfield win
    Good man WW, you wanted a club from outside our own league to beat a team in ours. Lovely.

Also, I stand over my first post, you simply could not wait to post up the only bad news story of the tie, and took delight in pointing it out. That was my point.

Get a life
    Last edited by oriel; 02/03/2011 at 8:12 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

427 Posts
    What was the Bohs team? There's been all sorts of rumours about who ye're going to sign, but what have ye actually ended up with?
    starting 11 was

B Murphy
    O Heary
    O Cahill
    A Price
    K Feely
    L Dixon
    G O'Brien
    R Bayly
    K Brennan
    K Somers
    A Flood

Liam Burnes and Rossiter and O'Connor (keeper) injured (along with long term injury Cronin) after that its all a bit hazy with few trialists still around (obviously not registered for SETANTA)

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Good man WW, you wanted a club from outside our own league to be beat a team in ours.
    tbh I was hoping Linfield would beat ye too. Only because we were supposed to play them in the next round if they won and they would be a bigger draw crowd wise. We will be sick of the sight of the LOI teams by the end of the season too.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

230 Posts
    Was there complaints from the Irish League in previous seasons on the timing on the competition? I don't think they can have those complaints at the moment. I haven't heard League of Ireland clubs making an issue on it before. I suppose we can only tell after the tournament has completed but hopefully the Setanta Cup has found a settled format.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Good man WW, you wanted a club from outside our own league to be beat a team in ours. Lovely.

Also, I stand over my first post, you simply could not wait to post up the only bad news story of the tie, and took delight in pointing it out. That was my point.

Get a life
    As Darby O'Gill would say woo whoo hullabaloo

You're gonna love this Oriel, I took great delight when yous were hammered in Europe last season as well!
    And I didn't take delight in the disgraceful behaviour of your fans. It just didn't surprise me in the slightest is all.

433 Posts
    Prove it WW, as usual you have nothing except an "I heard"...

Theres rivalry and then theres obsession but you take the biscuit. Not even funny anymore it's sad..
    Last edited by Dunny; 02/03/2011 at 2:02 PM.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

What can I do, yous fools keep replying! Even I'm bored at this stage. But if you wanna bury your head in the sand Dunny, fire away.

Page 15 of 40 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast