Page 13 of 40 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

Thread: Setanta Cup 2011

62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    Dundalk play Glentoran. Does anyone know who Lisburn have in next round?
    DRAW : First round: Linfield v Dundalk (M1), Bohemians v Portadown (M2), Cliftonville v St Patrick’s Athletic (M3), Sporting Fingal v Lisburn Distillery (M4). First legs to be played on February 14th and 21st, second on Feb 28th and March 1st.

Quarter-finals (Provisional): Glentoran v Winners M1, Sligo Rovers v Winners M2, Winners M3 v Crusaders, Winners M4 v v Shamrock Rovers. First legs to be played on March 7th and 14th, second on March 21st and 22nd.
    Obv Fingal are replaced by UCD

Plenty of IRA songs being sung by Dundalk fans last night I hear. And also the burning of a Union Jack. Well done Dundalk, I knew you wouldn't let us down

3,491 Posts
    Disappointing result for us last night. Very tight game again, but this ridiculous decision separated the sides for most of the game -

There were more complaints about the second goal, which came from a back-pass award which our keeper and entire coaching staff reckoned clearly wasn't a backpass because it took a large nick off the attacker, spinning the ball enough to make it awkward to control (I missed the pass behind a pole, and amn't sure if that makes a difference, but I'm told it was clearly not a back-pass). Distillery only had one real chance all game other than that.

Galling to lose to certainly one, if not two, outrageous reffing decisions (and the ref was awful all game; the worst I've ever seen), but in the end of the day, we didn't score over 180 minutes, so we've ourselves to blame at least as much as the ref, and probably more.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior View Post
    Plenty of IRA songs being sung by Dundalk fans last night I hear. And also the burning of a Union Jack. Well done Dundalk, I knew you wouldn't let us down
    Aye the Linfield fans never sang Billy Boys or the sash or anything.....As for flag burning? Prove it.

Crawl back into your joke of a club mate.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Aye the Linfield fans never sang Billy Boys or the sash or anything...
    Don't care what happened but thats a brutal reply... "yeah, well they started it..."

Like the Linfield fans' sectarian chanting, it was embarrassing and pathetic, almost as embarrassing and pathetic as your attempt at wumming. Didn't see any flags burnt, saw plenty of bottles and coins hitting the side of the stand thrown from the Linfield crowd, though.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Don't care what happened but thats a brutal reply... "yeah, well they started it..."
    I didnt mean it in that sense. Fact is both sides were at it.

3,491 Posts
    Don't think that justifies the "Crawl back into your own little joke of a club" comment then; your post very much came across like you were defending Dundalk's actions (and obviously I've no idea if they're true or not)

Aye the Linfield fans never sang Billy Boys or the sash or anything.....As for flag burning? Prove it.

Haha, poor Dunny, what a joke of a post! You're just not the same without an exclamation mark after your name like you have on boards.ie
    The flag burning did happen I'm afraid. A Dundalk Shed regular I work with seen and heard everything
    Last edited by WindmillWarrior; 01/03/2011 at 10:04 AM.

427 Posts

The idea on this (and indeed most) forum is that if you disagree with a post you refute it. Personally have no problems with who sings what (or for that matter who burns what flag) but your response did not address any of Winmill Warriors points. did Dundalk fans sing "IRA songs" ? you appear to agree they did but mitigate it by saying Linfield sang "billy boys or the sash" - is this a fair assesment of your post ?
    RE flag burning WW obviously believes it happened, simple enough to confirm or deny such a fact if you attended. Persoanally think all that carry on is bit outdated and not as surprising/interesting/controversal to others as participants might think.

433 Posts
    Im not condoning any form of sectarian chanting, full stop. All I heard was different rendition of "fields of athenry". Fair enough I shouldnt have attacked the poster but "I heard" is in that post so its unsubstantiated. It makes out Dundalk are the only offending side in this which is totally untrue.

433 Posts
    Haha, poor Dunny, what a joke of a post! You're just not the same without an exclamation mark after your, name like you have on boards.ie
    The flag burning did happen I'm afraid. A Dundalk Shed regular I work with seen and heard everything
    Stalking me now? Your just not the same when your not swearing WW.

3,491 Posts
    Im not condoning any form of sectarian chanting, full stop. All I heard was different rendition of "fields of athenry". Fair enough I shouldnt have attacked the poster but "I heard" is in that post so its unsubstantiated. It makes out Dundalk are the only offending side in this which is totally untrue.
    BBC saying IRA chants "appeared" to happen anyway, and mentions other scuffles, though nothing about flag burning.

427 Posts
    Thanks for clarification Dunny, as I said i dont think sectarian chanting is as big an issue as some on here appear to (unless of course you WANT to be offended, of course ) but then again recalling the outrage over Bohs "Invincible" chant I may not be in touch with the tender feelings of your average LOI fan.
    Good win for Dundalk as Linfield have an excellent record in the SETANTA, must fancy their chances now ?

44 Posts
    Hold on a minute....since when is....."...the I....the I.......the I.R.A" an IRA song????
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

433 Posts
    BBC saying IRA chants "appeared" to happen anyway, and mentions other scuffles, though nothing about flag burning.
    The word appeared is mentioned twice in one line! I seen one or two 'incidents' but they were drunken idiots. Other fans could clarify but I was watching the game. I honestly did not see a flag being burnt, nor has anyone else I asked. A few flares were lit and I seem to remember the same accusation of flag burning in Windsor when flares where lit.

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Thanks for clarification Dunny, as I said i dont think sectarian chanting is as big an issue as some on here appear to (unless of course you WANT to be offended, of course ) but then again recalling the outrage over Bohs "Invincible" chant I may not be in touch with the tender feelings of your average LOI fan.
    Good win for Dundalk as Linfield have an excellent record in the SETANTA, must fancy their chances now ?
    It was always going to happen tbh. I will admit my post was a knee-jerk reaction but BOTH sides where at it.

I didnt see any flags being set a light but I did see a blue jersey on fire but seeing that it was clothing it didnt have a desired effect.

The sectarian chanting was very embarrassing.
    Children in the dark cause accidents.
    Accidents in the dark cause children.

555 Posts
    I saw no scuffles or a flag burning.

There were a few bottles thrown by Linfield fans towards the stand, but it petered out quite quickly.

Alas there was plenty of sectarian chanting from thuggish elements of both sets of supporters.

It wasn't serious but was embarrassing and cringeworthy for the decent fans from both clubs who were there to watch a football match.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    There was a cracking atmosphere in Oriel Park last night, and for the most part, it was a very enjoyable night, even if the 2nd half pettered out somewhat with Dundalk effectively 'home and hosed'.

It is understandable (if not paricularly acceptable) if some of the media will look to build up the tensions or spats. For example the BBC report is factually incorrect about "scuffles" between rival supporters and is imbalanced otherwise

A number of scuffles did appear to break out among rival supporters but the Garda managed to restore order. A small but vocal section of Dundalk supporters did appear to direct pro-IRA chants at Linfield fans in the first half and tempers appeared to flare on the terraces early in the second half before the Garda quickly intervened.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...sh/9409098.stm
    The sectarian chanting from a small section was embaressing, and the flares being lit in the knowledge that it would cost the club in fines shows the limited intellectual capacity of some "supporters".

The flag burning yarns appear to have no foundation.

The security steps taken by Linfield (which included professional and Volunteer Stewards travelling with the supporters) were a credit to the club. Many clubs in the Republic of Ireland could learn a lot from them, including Dundalk, and especially Shamrock Rovers.

21. Thanks From:

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    The sectarian chanting from a small section was embaressing, and the flares being lit in the knowledge that it would cost the club in fines shows the limited intellectual capacity of some "supporters".

The flag burning yarns appear to have no foundation.

The security steps taken by Linfield (which included professional and Volunteer Stewards travelling with the supporters) were a credit to the club. Many clubs in the Republic of Ireland could learn a lot from them, including Dundalk, and especially Shamrock Rovers.
    In fairness, a few dodgy songs from eejits on both sides constitutes significant progress on from events the last time The Blues visited Oriel Park.

Good luck to Dundalk in the next round.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

23. Thanks From:

Page 13 of 40 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast