NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

1,825 Posts
    A lovely imaginative budget from such an intelligent group of people.
    That Jackie Healy-Rae and Odious Mick are the power holders here makes me sick to my stomach.
    We are so so close to the end I can only thank God that it's finally budget day.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

522 Posts
    Of course no-one'll have the balls to vote against it and kick off the election.

I'm off to refuel the barge.

1,825 Posts
    Good call.
    Lenihan bumbling along on the last word. Matt asked about the salary of the President and the answer that was forthcoming was that that would be a matter for the Presidential election.
    Just wow.
    He's now proud of the fact that he did his best. Also he's proud if the people of Ireland for supporting the budgets.

The Government has taken the correct decisions. It's a cult.

522 Posts
    Cult of non-personality?

1,025 Posts
    When do all these budget measures actually come into effect?

as is typical of their planning,

Fuel Immediatly
    Socail welfare I guess 2011
    Income tax 2011
    Stamp duty God knows when
    Travel tax come March.

You couldn't make it up.
    I can't wait for the 2% increase in vat they are talking about in years to come being implemented on a friday afternoon of their choice. Probably the week before the EUFA final. Good a time as any!

56 Posts
    Not one bit surprised, it seems to me that as per usual the top earners get away scot free while the most vulnerable are cut. Does anybody else here think that Zanu FF have laid a booby trap for the next government?
    I'm pretty sure we'll be back here next year talking about the 2012 budget being the most severe in our history. IMO Zanu FF have failed to tackle the exorbitant wages of the top earners in the semi-state, they have failed to tackle the wastage in the numerous unnecessary quangos as well as meaningful cuts in politicians pay,they have failed to hit those who can pay the most.
    All of this will no doubt be left to the incoming government who may implement these measures and more only for Zanu FF to jump up and down and play the populist card and be returned to power by the sheep of this land?
    To finish off as I was walking home I noticed a plaque on a wall of a house dedicated to the memory of a person who died on hunger strike in 1920 during the war of independence. I thought to myself 'what did you die for? A bunch of gob****e, corrupt gombeens, traitors, self-serving sleeveens, that's what this person died for.
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

176 Posts
    Vote Results:

1. Yes 82, No 77
    2. Yes 82, No 78
    3. Yes 82, No 77
    4. Yes 83, No 27

FG abstention on the last vote, but the Budget has passed through the Dail, and is now sent to the Seanad.
    Last edited by mypost; 07/12/2010 at 11:06 PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006

Ten Years Not Out

1,825 Posts
    Did Creighton get a telling off to vote in the second one?

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    When do all these budget measures actually come into effect?
    Usually Jan 1, but things like fuel and fags are next day.

1,825 Posts
    So who here watched Noonan mill Lenihan out of it. It was cruel TV. Loved it.

398 Posts
    Still trying to figure out how Lenihan thinks he'll get away with it. Simply means another FF government, absolutely nothing to make the country more attractive for foreign investment or local start ups. I really feel this budget is another measure in which FF are trying to destroy the country for the party's own good, and they'll make out like bandits with the loot.

176 Posts
    Noonan kept his cool while landing punches. The real battle was between Doherty and Coughlan. Making his first major speech, he started out at high volume and quickly reached Ian Paisley level, for the rest of his 40-minute rant, including referring to the Munster Independents as "gombeen politicians".
    Last edited by mypost; 08/12/2010 at 4:44 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006

Ten Years Not Out

1,825 Posts
    Doherty ruined it all when he came up against James Reilly. Awful performance.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Usually Jan 1, but things like fuel and fags are next day.
    Stamp Duty changes come into effect today as well. They're rushing through the social welfare changes as well so that become full year rather than changing in March.

How come the CEO's of semi states can't have their wages touched for "contractual reasons", but every other level of the public sector can take two pay cuts at the stroke (no pun intended) of a pen?

And btw, RTE are creaming themselves over it as most of the big "stars" are independant contractors not salaried employees (and I believe several of them are paid through a company, who they then take a salary from, thus avoiding tax - remember that when they bleat about fairness or attack civil servants)

1,928 Posts
    Following on from Brian Lenihan's famous comment that there will not be a deposit drain in Ireland 'because Ireland is an Island', this utter gobs goes on to justify the terms of budget - 'we all have to pay ... because we have a country'.

Last edited by geysir; 08/12/2010 at 1:37 PM.

The most galling aspect of the budget speech to me is the way he mentioned how much of a hit the Taoiseach and ministers (but not TDs) have taken. Even today he came out with more figures to say the Taoiseach now "only" has 100k "take home pay". As if the difference between 100k and 140k means anything?

Difference of €40 a week makes a huge difference to those on minimum wage though

1,825 Posts
    "I appreciate that this is a big ask for anyone half-way through the year"
    Is it any wonder that we are in such a mess if our minister for finance thinks we are half-way through the year in December.
    Unless they are of course using the fabled calendar of Lynmassdevhaugh which dictates time to be periods of ethereal existence as decided on an ongoing basis going foward to be the only solution to our problems.

398 Posts
    Bonnie, give the man a break, we should love him all the more for this. By year he means season - so fair dues, he's looking for the LOI vote! Then remembered, oh feck, sure isn't it a summer season now. I can't take him seriously thanks to Nob Nation.