Thread: Sligo Rovers feature on Sky's Soccer Saturday

Sligo Rovers feature on Sky's Soccer Saturday

Taken from the club's facebook, might be of interest to some of you:

Richie Ryan being interviewed by Johnny Philips from Sky Sports this morning in the Showgrounds for a feature on the club that will be on Gillette Soccer Saturday this coming Saturday.

Cook, Peers and Seamie Coleman some of the others interviewed.

818 Posts
    Great little piece on Sligo and the loi as a whole their fair play to sky
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

great little piece on the league and sligo can only be a boost to the league, pity rte wouldnt take a leaf out of skys book and do a few of these profiles throughout the year for mns or when they have a live game!!

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by athloneman View Post
    great little piece on the league and sligo can only be a boost to the league, pity rte wouldnt take a leaf out of skys book and do a few of these profiles throughout the year for mns or when they have a live game!!
    You're right, it's embarrassing that Sky will do a piece like this while RTÉ are quite happy to pretend that Coleman materialised fully-formed at Everton.

445 Posts
    I thought Monaghans mention stole the show tbh
    Here on a technicality.

60 Posts
    I would normally bgrudge them anything (Jeff Stelling aside) but credit due to them for this. It is a very nicely done piece and a decent bit of research.

Shame RTÉ cannot do the same, even occasionally, to such a standard for the league. Especially when they have been doing similar pieces for the GAA since the early 90s...
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

very good piece, fair play to sky
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Ye thats very good. Fair play sky. Be nice to see RTE step up to the plate.

Hang on a minute there..."bringing back the biggest domestic trophy there is"

Ehhhhh....
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

If anybody knows Richie, can you ask him where he got his shoes? They're very nice.

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by athloneman View Post
    Sure RTE barely have time to tell us the teams before kick off and talk to the analyst after the game with the amount of time they give for the coverage

22 Posts
    Sure RTE barely have time to tell us the teams before kick off and talk to the analyst after the game with the amount of time they give for the coverage
    simply put RTE are a shower of amateurs and SKY are professionals,SKY even made the Irish league look half decent in their recent live coverage,how come the FAI never got the LOI live coverage from SKY in our international deal.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Hang on a minute there..."bringing back the biggest domestic trophy there is"

Ehhhhh....
    Have you not seen the size of the shaggin thing dfx - we even had to fold down the bit on the top (using Brannigan's head) to get it on the bus.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

24. Thanks From:

Great piece. I just wish they would tidy up that gravel bit behind the goal. It looks awful part from that im jealous of them