Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Trouble tonight

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    I see what you're saying there alright but I am not being hypocritical. Rovers fans reacted and ran to protect their own, City fans did the same.
    Protect our own?

We are not mesolithic cave men. The "fans" who did that are not "my own". I want nothing to do with them (either side). I go to a football match to enjoy, yes, a game of football. I dont want to see a bunch of moronic adults with no sense putting other people in danger and dragging down cork citys name and the LOIs name through the gutter.

Seeing as it was for the pride of leeside, and the rebel army marched on and all that bullshít, i wonder will Pat Dolans notes on friday say something to the tune of:

"I was filled with pride when i saw some members of the rebel army up tools and run toward the St Annes End to defend the honour of their fellow fans. I was filled with enormous pride to see them take their mind off a game we could easily have won, to see them throw missiles into the away section, in a heroic attampt to stand up to Rovers"

Fact is, anyone who is proud of what happened up there the other night, anyone who reckons they were "standing up to Rovers" needs a fúcking lobotomy.

Personally i reckon they should have tried to stick it to Rovers, by getting fully behind the team, and laughing til our throats were sore after helping them onto a great win and a valuable 3 points.

I believe it was NOTL who drew the pics in the fanzine.
    Last edited by Gary; 17/05/2004 at 5:55 PM.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Quote Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
    The club are banning two "fans" from Turners Cross for the remainder of the season.
    Minimum expected. Good to see club taking swift action. Doesn't mean club can't add to ban in future. They should print their names/pics in programme next week so they be spotted if get in again.

I don't think naming and shaming them will do anything except give them a reputation, but what I do wonder is how City plan on enforcing the ban?

Quote Originally Posted by niamh
    but what I do wonder is how City plan on enforcing the ban?
    I was wondering the same thing.
    Not an easy thing to do you'd imagine?

144 Posts
    Naming and Shaming is an excellent form of public humiliation.
    Get Spillage to do something useful for a change and publish names and photos of these morons.

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Naming and Shaming is an excellent form of public humiliation.
    Get Spillage to do something useful for a change and publish names and photos of these morons.
    I'd imagine there would be legal implications associated with such action since no one has been convicted of any offence.

If anything I think banning them will only give them a challenge as I'm sure they'll do their best to get in on Friday.

Quote Originally Posted by SuperKev
    But all he is doing is debating a topic. Whats wrong with that.
    when applied to Xtreme rebel, right back at you Kev

Just as a matter of interest pete, if it was that clear why wasnt the city fan in question arrested also.
    No idea, only heard that someone punched as didn't see it myself...

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    The fact remains that Rovers fans were causing trouble in the first half when City fans were nowhere near them, ffs from the Shed we could see the Gardai and stewards all rushing into the stand and having an altercation at one point in the first half. And it all only kicked off as a Rovers fan was being arrested for a somethong which also had nothing to do with City fans.
    !!!! If they want to fight the guards in their section, let the guards deal with it.
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Fact is, there is a unsavoury element within city who went looking for an opportunity to start something on Friday night. they should be turfed out, I don't care how long they've been going to games at the cross, their type isn't needed.
    spot on

Can't be hard for them to takes two pics of the guys and show the guys at the gate who they are. It won't work...they'll get in alright. I bet if they want to be they'll be there on Friday.
    as far as i know, thats actually illegal

Well Eanna, arent the Gardai glad they have your insight into the matter. Sure you could nearly name every face up in the st annes end with the information you gathered.
    Its nice that you've decided to stop being moronic and start being sarcastic I spoke to people after the game about it because i was very angry at what had happened and wanted to find out what had happened, instead of wandering off into the night looking for hassle.

If Rovers invaded the shed before a game , what would you do?

a) go in after them and retake it
    b) call the stewards ( end result being shed is closed to city fans as they wouldnt even attempt to move them once up there)
    c) walk off and head to a different part of the ground
    B) Simple. Let me add to that by saying that I would hope the security would be right and that would not happen in the first place and secondly that if the Rovers fans actually attacked people during a match they are entitled to defend themselves- what we saw on friday was a few George Bush wannabe scobes getting a pre-emptive strike in

i applaud super kev. some people on here just llove to moan beyond belief
    move on from this for godsake.
    Eskimos pussys are very cold.......

Eanna i d advise you to watch what your saying. Your reckless intent to taint a group of City fans as hooligans is very dangerous. And to call certain City fans not true city fans is a dangerous and untrue accusation. Your intent to get at referees at times has bordered on the extreme so do i call you not a true City fan?
    He's got ya there Eanna!! You've not exactly been an angel yourself at times in the past so it's unfair to be critisising other City fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Flynninio
    some people on here just llove to moan beyond belief
    move on from this for godsake.
    Exactly, some people get very easily upset. I agree it's time to move on.
    Last edited by Colm; 21/05/2004 at 11:54 AM.
    Champions!

i suppose would it be asking too much to lock this topic

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    i suppose would it be asking too much to lock this topic
    Why? Is it not acceptable to criticise CCFC "fans"? I think people have a right to highlight the actions of certain hooligans in our midst.

Why lock it?

Im full square behind Eanna. Its ironic but the posters who are squaring up verbally to Eanna are supporting city fans who were doing actions that these very same posters were accusing rovers fans of and calling them scum.

You cant have it both ways - you either condemn violence or you dont. Simple as that.
    Most arguments there are usually grey areas. Here there is only black and white.

I see no reason to lock the thread.
    There's less insults and personal abuse on here than in many of the threads.

There are a group of 'fans' who looked for an opportunity to cause trouble on Friday last and took it.

I don't why we should brush it under the carpet.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    F*** you tiktok, ye big donkey's testicles...
    that's the final straw, lock it...Lock it Now!!!!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Congrats.

Now whose gonna buy your cider now the taxpayers won't anymore...
    There always a postgrad to drag another year out of it.

P.S: I AM FINISHED COLLEGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Then get a job!

extreme rebel and eanna ye made yer points last week now fcuk n get a life. are ye writing from an asylum or what. how can anybody be so boring
    Eskimos pussys are very cold.......

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast