its simply a case of, no matter what happened,rovers scum would have started anyway so its a case of get them before they get you
From what i gather of peoples opinions on this topic i think the answer is simple, the police done a **** poor job as usual and were mainly responsible for the trouble. if you treat people like animals they will act like animals. cork fans can be ******* at times and would not be surprised if they provoked them. about people not bringing their kids back is total bull****, they would not have any problem bringing their child to a manchester united game where some of the scenes can be shocking as well as the language, the whole lot is complete ******, you swear rovers were millwall or something, give it up your just as bad.
We all know rovers have a scum element but banning them will achieve nothing but even more bad publicity for the league and rovers. if the police done their jobs properly there would be know trouble.
ha ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaaaa did you just say rovers can play football ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaaaa
its simply a case of, no matter what happened,rovers scum would have started anyway so its a case of get them before they get you
Last edited by thecorner; 16/05/2004 at 11:47 PM.
Originally Posted by southside bohs
beg to differ on that.
one huge difference in attending a premiership match and an e/l match:
the police in england are much more clued into whats going on before,during and after the match.they segregate the crowds much better and are constantly monitoring the changing atmospheres in/outside the ground .
imo xtreme rebel has cork citys interests at heart and i think his colleagues should stop kicking him.people will not bring kids to matches if they think there might be violence.
look, bad language is a fact of life folks so i dont see that as any deterrent to attending but what parent could risk exposing their kids to a brick on the head??.
Last edited by the 12 th man; 17/05/2004 at 8:56 AM.
Jesus, you turn up for work on Monday and the world's gone mad.
1. There were City 'fans' who headed for the rovers corner before and after the hassle kicked off, I don't think they were buying chips up there, IMO City 'fans' started this.
2. As Dr.N rightly pointed out, if Rovers 'fans' were throwing stones at city 'fans', then city 'fans' must have thrown them into the stand first, that should be obvious to us all.
3. People will not turn up to the cross with their kids if they don't feel their kids will be safe there.
4. Any City 'fan' involved should be banned, we don't need even the hint of trouble or violence at the cross. I don't care who the visiting team are.
The trouble that occurred on Friday night is a disgrace. People from both sets of fans should be ashamed at what went on.. Its a football match for fuc sake and it was a great game too.....spoiled by what went on. I dont know who started it, it doesnt matter, those involved brought shame on their respective clubs...If people want to get involved in casual/firm activities then do it outside the ground. City will be fined for this no doubt....great way to support the club lads and lassies involved....Most of the younger city fans involved would have run a mile if anything proper had started. Loads of young teenage scobes who go to the cross and they were all acting the hard men...What went on was shít and there's no justification for it......The security and segregation should have been better but thats still no excuse...It has damaged the clubs image and that at the end of the day is a negative thing. We all want the eL to survive and prosper, this type of shíte does not help......
Who are you? GW Bush? Did they have weapons of mass destruction as well? What an insane and nonsensical argument.Originally Posted by thecorner
I've no soft spot for rovers, but (from the Shed) it looked to me like CCFC "fans" were responsible for most of the hassle.
I don't think it was the cops fault. They seemed to retain some degree of control.
Any city "fan" involved in starting this is scum and should be banned. As for the idiots who travelled all the way around the ground to join in......
The Atmosphere at the Game on Friday was absolutely brillant, The band at 1/2 time was hilarous and i have never seen a whole stadium sing at once to slag us off and we got a great laugh out of it, but when this ended the usual Corner Muppets came down and started mouthing which is fine so the Cops moved them, then the Rovers man got thrown out for being drunk and two kids went up to Try and STOP this but the Gardai sent them back to the stand and when they were at the corner got attacked by Corner Boys, who were twice there age, the Rovers supporters ( 15 lads ) ran out and the Corner boys started throwing stones and bottles and the Rovers lads were hel back by the Stewards, I was with a group of City fans after the game from the Shed and the new it was the Corner Boys who started this ****e and were ****ed off over it as a great game has been forgotten about all due to some some f**kon idiots.
We are the SR the SRFC.......
Part time Finn Harps too :)
a mind reader are weOriginally Posted by thecorner
. whos going to win todays race at 3.00 at chepstow.
Fascist Talk
Finally we have senseOriginally Posted by tiktok
could some of those involved have been the 'fans' who brought the inflattable bananna "in honour of Nwankwo"?
sickening. why do these fools even bother turning up.
Imagine the future, Woke up with a scream
I was buying some feelings, From a vending machine
Originally Posted by oú est j.cotter
stop talking shíte ......the fans that brought the inflatable banana also brought inflatable footballs for a bit of a laugh...have a mess around at the start of the match.......it had nothing to do with Nwankwo....who is a crowd favourite by the way..........stop trying to stir shít up that doesnt exist will ya......
that comment has to, along with the "451 involved with the trouble" comment as the 2 most stupid things ive heard in a while on this board......
Its about time someone stood up to those Rovers fans.Well done Cork City.Those troublemakers were the same at the RSC last year,squaring up to Guards,trying to attack the referee and linesman coming off the pitch at half time and hurling abuse at Waterford fans when they were losing.The worst thing is most of them are grown men in their 30s and 40s.Why don't Rovers ban them from games.They obviously don't care about their reputation.
I was sitting in the middle of the St Annes section so couldn't see how events started however...
- There was NO excuse for city fans starting oir reacting to violence. Any home "fan" seen to be involved should no banned from Turners Cross for Life. No ifs buts or excuses.
- If I could have seen who was throwing the bottles from thre St Annes end I would not have paused to point the people out to the guards/stewards & I would not have cared who they were, whether they involved with whatever group or who knows them. I welcome an opportunity to "inform" on anyone who attempts something like that again.
- I don't know what city "fans" were involved but can get an idea from comments from certain people here.
I will not comment about the gardai or stewards as it is irrelevant to this debate.
all I wrote was a quote I heard from a fella in the shed who was nowhere to be seen for the second half. not trying to stir up any sh*t. those words were spoken.
That my friends is exactly what happened. You can dress it up in as much anti-Rovers nonsense as you want but the fault lies with Cork fans.Originally Posted by cookie
I saw middle-aged men and young kids throwing bottles and stones at us. It wasn't just the fools from the Corner. In fact they started it and then retreated like the cowards they are.
The facts are that there was trouble in your ground started by your fans - stop blaming us, get your heads out of the sand and sort it out.
No One Likes Us, We Don't Care
well judging by his performance on friday he's going about things the right way and seems to have settled into the team very well. lets just hope we don't have to wait too long to see his goal celebration at the cross.Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
In fairness WAR, the majority of us recognise that the origins and the bulk of the hassle was down to city 'fans', and most of us were disgusted by the scenes, but it's not like Rovers were all polishing their halos while all this was going on.Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
We know that there are scumbags in the cross, ironically, if you'd bought 451 last friday there was an article included on measures needed to get alcohol and scummies out of the ground, unfortunately we now have the proof there's a problem and I'd expect action from the club.
Ok dont know who started what on friday and to be honest couldnt care less the fact of the matter is city "supporters" were involved.who started it is irrelevant.both sides were involved and thats all that matters..it was an absoloute disgrace.ive had people coming up to me all weekend talking about the trouble in the cross on friday night..thats great advertising for the club isnt it???one thing i will say though is that the rovers supporters were causing trouble in the first half also.my friend was up in the family enclosure in the first half with her little cousin but left there after bout a half an hour because the whole place were watching the rovers supporters fighting with the guards.i also heard this from people who help out in the family enclosure.someone said earlier that its bull that people wont bring their kids back in future...well my friends cousin went home and told his mom and dad all about how the supporters were fighting against each other and the only reason hes allowed go out to the cross again is because she played the situation down and he certainly wont be going to another city-rovers game.. What happened on Friday night was nothing short of a disgrace.we talk about how the rovers are scum well as much as i hate to admit it we now have a scum element also.those who ran from the shed up should be ashamed of themselves..grow up lads..the club doesnt need you!
Those kind of remarks should be saved for every idiot who got involved on friday.Originally Posted by Colm
what age are you? 12? Acting the hard man? Grow upOriginally Posted by Soko
Your attitude is exactly the same as those people you call scum. Cop onOriginally Posted by Colm
You idiot. CCFC doesn't need fans like youOriginally Posted by SuperKev
I saw a lot of the hassle from the distance of the Shed, but I spoke to a hell of a lot of people afterwards and the fact is that CCFC fans were to blame for this ****- rovers may not have been innocent, but it was our "fans" who kicked it off. How much clearer can it be made for any idiot who got involved- we don't want you and we don't need you. Anyone who got involved in any way at all (even running the length of the ground to have a look) should be ashamed of themselves. It was disgusting and pathetic. None of these people, city or rovers, has the right to call themselves a fan- you are idiots