Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Trouble tonight

applehunter
    The fact is there was no trouble of note from the Rovers section until they were provoked by City fans, that went from one end of the ground to the other to start a fight.

Those City fans knew very well that Rovers fans are easily provoked.

I don't think it should be treated lightly. Only for Gardai and steward intervention, who knows what might have happened?
    Last edited by applehunter; 15/05/2004 at 5:19 PM.

I wasn't there but it sounds bad-anyone give an account of what happend?
    ANy violence at football games is bad for the sport
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by applehunter
    The fact is there was no trouble of note from the Rovers section until they were provoked by City fans
    Well it all kicked off as a Rovers fan was being taken out of the ground by the Gardai and a few other Rovers fans chased after the Gardai. City fans only got involved after this.
    Champions!

Eric has mentioned above that Rovers fans were drinking...
    We know from previous games that people have cans to drink in the Shed...
    This probably has nothing to do with the trouble last night, but shouldn't stopping this be a primary aim for Peter Cotter?
    No alcohol whatsoever in the X. It must be easy enough to stop.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Eric has mentioned above that Rovers fans were drinking...
    We know from previous games that people have cans to drink in the Shed...
    This probably has nothing to do with the trouble last night, but shouldn't stopping this be a primary aim for Peter Cotter?
    No alcohol whatsoever in the X. It must be easy enough to stop.

Agree with ya there. There is always people drinkin in da shed and it always takes da stewards ages 2 notice that its goin on. Sure look at da Shels match when cans were thrown at Ollie.

Quote Originally Posted by 维生素 D
    agreed^^^^. (waits for thecorner to disagree).

sure lets all just agree with each other

lets have no difference of opinion

a lot of people here have commented on games that they werent at but what would you know, ur only a newbie

in all fairness lads the only time their is trouble at city games is when rovers are in town, solution to problem; they should be banned from the cross, the bad image they give to loi football especially new fans at cross is very damaging to us as a club, its up to city , the loi, or the gardai to stand up and make a firm decision or wait until somebody gets seriously hurt !!

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    If some City fans hadn't gone out of their way to look for a confrontation, nothing would have happened. They walked halfway around the ground to have a go at the away fans.

I agree. There were loads of trouble makers Friday night. Anybody who was involved should be BANNED IMMEDIATELY. How many people with young kids will ever go again.

You would wonder about the mental age of some of these people.

It also goes to proves that the Licence authorities were right not to give a Premier Division licence to Cork City. There are a lot of rocks and stones at that end. Imagine if that happened in European competition?

The people who are on here defending these people or seeking some justification for it should be ashamed of themselves. For gods sake grow up.

Quote Originally Posted by 维生素 D
    ah ur getting really desperate with ur arguments now. Your like a broooookkkkeeennnn Reccccooooorrrrrdddddd.

ok

Quote Originally Posted by SuperKev
    And to be honest if a fight had really broken out , i wouldnt have found any fault with city fans as Rovers have been asking for it for a long time. Kicking the horseshoe to bits up to last year, attacking city fans in there, cornering people in our own city as they make their way too and from the game. The list is endless. I dont want things like this happening every game but i was glad someone finally stood up to rovers.
    Exactly, Rovers fans are scum and they can't expect to get away with it forever. About time someone stood up to them.
    Champions!

First of all this family routine a lot of ye are trying to put on just doesnt hold up. Was every family sitting right next to the rovers fans? And what did City fans really do wrong. A few stones were thrown back in the direction of the rovers fans who were launching them. Some of ye are making out that A and E was full of city supporters. And to be honest if a fight had really broken out , i wouldnt have found any fault with city fans as Rovers have been asking for it for a long time. Kicking the horseshoe to bits up to last year, attacking city fans in there, cornering people in our own city as they make their way too and from the game. The list is endless. I dont want things like this happening every game but i was glad someone finally stood up to rovers. Its been something many city fans have wanted for a long time. And to say that this has tarnished the club is just stupid. People forget the past very quickly. A few years back it was a very odd day when an away supporters bus wasnt smashed to pieces. And i remember many a time seeing rucks in the middle of the road outside, once against Rovers which lasted for about ten minutes. NOw all were talking about is a few stones and some of ye want to enter it into the history books alongside WW2. Seriously a few stones and one isolated punch. I am open to criticism on my views as is everyone but please think about the real scale of the incident compared to others in the past and you will realise it was very minor. And Extreme Rebel dont reply. Your an idiot whose spent your life staring into a computer screen wondering what m and ms are made of

first sensible post ive ever seen from superkev

since reading some of the reports here going someway too justify the reaction of so called city supporters involved in the hassle fri nite im going to go in next door and kick the living sh*te of ur man who lives there because he has annoyed me for years and i think its about time i stood up to him he deserves it

Can't believe that some people on here are making lame excuses for the pathetic and childish behaviour of a minority of city fans at the X on Friday.''They deserve it'', ''about time someone stood up to them'' bla bla bla.What aload of crap.If Rovers fans had started the fight they'd be the SCUM of the world(which everyone knows they are anyway) but because it was City fans there is a feeling of support towards them which is wrong.Superkev its not about the families sitting near the Rovers fans or miles away from them everyone could see what was happening and that turns people off coming to matches.

most of the stuff being posted here is inane at the moment. stop trying to justify violence. it was wrong from both sides.

so the good cork city hooligans are able to throw rocks and stones and find the correct targets every time without hitting innocent bystanders. what a load of crap.

As i said before the cork city "fans " who did this helped to underline the fact that Turners Cross is not fit to get a premier division uefa licence.

calling people scum doesnt help matters either. whatever about s hit and f uck being banned maybe the term "rovers scum" should be banned.

thats way worse imo

applehunter
    Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Exactly, Rovers fans are scum and they can't expect to get away with it forever. About time someone stood up to them.
    The best way we can stand up to them is to beat them on the pitch. Stop trying to justify the stuff the other night.

If there was to be agro it should have been organised in some field somewhere, and all those that wanted to participate could hed along and beat the ****e out of each other. Throwing stones from a crowd is just the work of cowards.

PS.. It wasn't all Rovers in the Horseshoe last year. City fans gave a good account of themselves too.

stood up to them???

the city fans started it and there lucky the rovers fans didnt get at them cause they would have murdered all those little kids up on the hill with there rocks!

fcukin snakes that attack was planned on the rovers fans.

will they be standin up there for the rest of the season now?????? i doubt it they've never there any other match.

City fans who did what they did were wrong wrong wrong. Now lets get over it. The Garda who dragged the Rover fabn past the City guys only served to make a bigger prob.

Thje left section on the St Annes should have at least have been half closed off.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

In response to some of the mud being slung and who did what earlier in this thread, may I just make it very clear that

FourFiveOne in no way condones what happened in the St Annes end last Friday evening, and does not condone any sort of behaviour of this kind at any point, in any place.

Much less were we even involved.

Anyways, thank you to everyone who bought issue 27. Anyone who missed out, there will be a few more printed off for the Longford game, which will be available in the Horseshoe from Thursday evening.
    Email: fanzine@fourfiveone.net
    Web: www.fourfiveone.net
    Text: 086-40-50-451

A few stones were thrown back in the direction of the rovers fans who were launching them.
    The implication here is that Rovers were the first to start throwing stuff. Anyone who's ever been in Turners Cross would know this is total sh1te - since when are rocks and stones left in the stand where the away fans go? Or did Rovers somehow surreptitiously collect ammo without being spotted by Cork fans, stewards or cops?

Face it, youse are no better than every other club in the League who all have their scumbag element (including Pats). Put away the haloes lads, youse won't be needing them any more.
    Revenge for 2002

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast