305 Posts
    I just want

Headline Galway news from Geezer

55 Posts
    The Article by KK above is not a million miles from life & reality at GUFC.
    Im just a little more certain this week that we will be fielding a team this season in the premier about 70/30 imo, before xmas i would have given it 15/85 chance of survival. 17k more to raise and the club will have overcome substantially any financial impediments in relation to the licencing process.
    Apologies for any positive tweaking of the story

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    if rumours about how the expansion of the Premier Division in 2012 will come into effect prove to be accurate, with stories circulating that there will not be an automatic relegation from the Premier Division at the end of the 2011 season.
    Slightly off topic, but it's an absolute disgrace that there are fixtures out, teams are starting pre-season and something as fundamental as promotion and relegation hasn't been cleared up.

1,825 Posts
    Slightly off topic, but it's an absolute disgrace that there are fixtures out, teams are starting pre-season and something as fundamental as promotion and relegation hasn't been cleared up.
    Never mind that None of us have a licence for 2011.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

20 Posts
    So are Galway fans going to make their feelings know about Leeson on the terraces when the season starts up?
    Misfits

1,551 Posts
    Why would they do that when they have two reps on the board now?

20 Posts
    But the two on the board are a minority with no real power? And I'm sure they still want rid of him?
    Misfits

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Army View Post
    So are Galway fans going to make their feelings know about Leeson on the terraces when the season starts up?
    I would say yes, if he is still CEO when the season starts.

Speaking for myself.....YES
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

Quote Originally Posted by Red Army View Post
    Most have already done so last year. By not turning up.

The brass neck of people around this league hanging on after failing so badly (not just him...)

105 Posts
    Nice to see Galway fans aren't as gullible as the once were and are finally going a pair

Sean Connor's maroon *cough cough* army

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    Nice to see Galway fans aren't as gullible as the once were and are finally going a pair
    What's that even supposed to mean?

Lads shouting "Leeson out!" from the stands isn't going to make any fcuking difference whatsoever. The man is a convicted fraud who will never see pressure like he put himself under at Barings anywhere again, never mind in Terryland Park.

(Hadn't intended to rant at you, but the point stands.)

55 Posts

GUFC Licence 90% there

It looks like we have a great chance now of getting a premier licence, Licence related debt down to about 10k , excellent work by all at Utd

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    It looks like we have a great chance now of getting a premier licence, Licence related debt down to about 10k , excellent work by all at Utd
    Does that 10k include the monies due to former manager or players?

So, finally after ten pages, in answer to my original questions, it was a Sligo style bout of poor-mouthery.

That's grand. Can a mod lock this thread now please?? Thanx.

55 Posts

Cool no ah leave it for a few weeks

12k is the latest we can ascertain (and belive me nothing is easy to ascertain down here) and since JD is doin the favours for the big Dub clubs but couldnt help derry or cork obviously, its hard to see how they could throw out GUFC over 12k licencing impacting debts. Our ceo will be next ceo of fai.....hopefully, Fair play the rabbit surely has been pulled out of the hat, We can prepare now, looking forward to taking my seat for a new season. Goal achieved
    Last edited by geezer; 22/01/2011 at 5:13 PM.

1,551 Posts
    JD didn't help Derry? He bent over backwards to make sure their impending meltdown had the least possible effect!

21. Thanks From:

398 Posts
    I think JD helped Cork massively. He got rid of the Tommy and Roddy roadshow. Plus he gave the club back to the supporters and reality.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    He got rid of the Tommy and Roddy roadshow.
    I think that's overly kind to Delaney. Granted, in the end, a licence was denied, but at that stage, the club was in the final throes of being wound up, and even had they gotten a licence, they'd more than likely have gone under. It was a disgrace TNB was allowed to continue in charge so long.

24. Thanks From:

55 Posts
    GUST Goals, set since mid last season were , 1. finish season...done. 2. get licence...done (jd cant refuse over 10k us, after bailing out bohs). Goal 3 now hopefully will be to stop the culture within the club of consistently ****ing down on voluntary work whilst at the same time suckin up to all and sundry who suck funds from the club

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast