Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: New LOI Book

1,825 Posts
    Seemingly all easons in Dublin have it. Starting it today. Kettle is on; biscuits at the ready.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

288 Posts
    Really enjoying the book. 10 or 15 pages left to read. Some excellent insights. Felt a little let down by the Galway United chapter, but only because I would have known everything about the tie already, apart from a couple of insights from Ski and others. Overall, a great book. Would recommend to anyone with even a passing interest in Irish soccer.

399 Posts
    Im picking out chapters, after the Dundalk one, I read Galway`s first adventure into Europe, was a bit sceptical why it was included, but was a marvelous read, some great stories in that one.

Pineapple, you said you didn't ask ask in Hogis Figgis/Waterstones on Dawson, I changed the habbit of a lifetime and asked, probably reason i got it so handy.

I think I posted this before but at the Spurs game there was a very funny line from the game, this was actually in Glenn Hoddles book. Long story short, was 1981, H Block hungers strikes in full swing, parts of Dundalk area are less than 5 miles to the border, considerable tension, Spurs team understandbly worried, game on, match night, Spurs players out warming up as 18,0000 settled in, PA man, the late great San McGarritty, 'ladies and gentlemen, can I have your attention please', Spurs team froze, thinking a bomb scare...................................PA continues............................'Bovril will be on sale at half time'
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Pineapple, you said you didn't ask ask in Hogis Figgis/Waterstones on Dawson, I changed the habbit of a lifetime and asked, probably reason i got it so handy.
    Was in Waterstone's today (don't think I can walk past a bookshop without going in for half an hour, to be honest) and it was there alright. So yeah, maybe I should have just asked, but feck it, it's in the pile now either way.

1,825 Posts
    Finally started it today. So far so good.
    I'm a little suspicious of the Dunphy stuff during the Rovers v Man U chapter at the start... he's not very nailed on about the specifics of the game. Rico in the otherhand is. Eamo sounds like a lad who convinced himself that he was there.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    sounds really good its hard to find a good football book can this be bought in easons might get my hands on it.
    outspoken I got the book in easons in longford so u should ave no bother in purchasin it there were plenty of copies left when I was there last!

675 Posts
    Frustratingly couldn't find it in Easons, Derry, before Xmas. Asked a guy if they had it, he gave me a gormless look before saying: "Football, is it about southern football?" "Yes," I replied, "so Derry City are in it." He looked at me even more baffled after that. The heart breaks.

Bizarrely enough managed to find it in Waterstones, Belfast - it was brightly displayed front and centre in the new releases section. I'm sure this has more to do with Waterstones' better selection but still a little odd. The Easons in Belfast didn't have it either.

Looks a great read anyhow.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

55 Posts

nowhere to be found in easons galway

either, tried a few times

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    either, tried a few times
    Most bookshops have it Geezer. I went across the road and bought it. Easons staff couldn't be arsed to look for it. Asked if they had the book, checked on computer... said yes. I replied that I had looked in the sports section and that I couldn't find it. "Well if you look again and don't find it, we probably don't have it then."

Hard to find anything of quality amongst the mountains Premiership footballer biographies.

26 Posts
    I got one in hodges and fidges 2 or 3 days before xmas 4 the lil bro....it was in the irish soccer section (upstairs to the right of the counter and right of the soccer section). When i asked they seemed to recognise it even though i didnt now the name of it (i think one of them even said something like "if theres any left", dno whether thats a good thing or bad thing lol)
    had a nice flick through looks interesting....hope he reads it and i can steal it for myself (im a massive collector of books!). It definitly looks like a must have for any irish fan of soccer or even local eh anecdotes etc.
    and looking forward to a follow up....

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Frustratingly couldn't find it in Easons, Derry, before Xmas. Asked a guy if they had it, he gave me a gormless look before saying: "Football, is it about southern football?" "Yes," I replied, "so Derry City are in it." He looked at me even more baffled after that. The heart breaks.

Bizarrely enough managed to find it in Waterstones, Belfast - it was brightly displayed front and centre in the new releases section. I'm sure this has more to do with Waterstones' better selection but still a little odd. The Easons in Belfast didn't have it either.
    Completely OT, but the lack of a decent bookshop here in Derry is something that infuriates me every time I'm back.

1,825 Posts
    Not saying this as a defence of Eason's but a lot of their stores are franchises so as a result they would stock locally what they consider to be more relevant whereas the Eason's owned stores would stock everything they can. Wither way good to see this selling so well. Very glad of it to be honest.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Completely OT, but the lack of a decent bookshop here in Derry is something that infuriates me every time I'm back.
    Big time - Bookworm is sorely missed.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Not saying this as a defence of Eason's but a lot of their stores are franchises so as a result they would stock locally what they consider to be more relevant whereas the Eason's owned stores would stock everything they can. Wither way good to see this selling so well. Very glad of it to be honest.
    Absolutely, but that's what frustrated me. Easons, Derry, is coming down with local books that wouldn't be sold in any other Easons and there's obviously a local interest angle for this book. But in the local franchise of an Irish company they hadn't even heard of it. Yet I could get it no problem in an English franchise in Belfast, where most Linfield, Glens, Crues and Cliftonville fans wouldn't give it the same time of day.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

finally read the book this morning.. paul keane knows his stuff and the attention to detail is staggerin.. really lookin forward to readin part two of it. that shels book that was released last year cant be bought elsewhere. has anyone any unwanted copies of it that I can get the lend of or buy it off ye please?

861 Posts
    outspoken I got the book in easons in longford so u should ave no bother in purchasin it there were plenty of copies left when I was there last!
    ohh great thanks mate

Got this for christmas (father bought it online, Book Depository rather than Amazon I think), not got a chance to read it yet though.

207 Posts
    Who is Paul Keane? Does he write for a newspaper?

Great to see so much praise for the book here, it's brilliant. Funnily enough, a book review in the Indo gave it 3 out of 5. Can't quite understand that. And labelling it as for purely LOI diehards does it a massive disservice considering even the most ignorant of barstoolers would recognise a lot of the names of the foreign teams, and maybe even some of their players...

19. Thanks From:

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    Who is Paul Keane? Does he write for a newspaper?

Great to see so much praise for the book here, it's brilliant. Funnily enough, a book review in the Indo gave it 3 out of 5. Can't quite understand that. And labelling it as for purely LOI diehards does it a massive disservice considering even the most ignorant of barstoolers would recognise a lot of the names of the foreign teams, and maybe even some of their players...
    Anything that does not mention "man U" "chelsea" or Premier League is way, way to specialist for the football "experts" at the Indo.
    Actually thought the book should have wider appeal to anyone here (and possibly abroad) with an interest in footie but then again I dont limit my reading to Wayne Rooneys biography (Vol 3 15-18 years) or Ryan Giggs cookery book

399 Posts
    I thought the Waterford v Man U chapter was brilliant, gave a great background to the Waterford side finishing bottom of the league in the mid 60`s, then going on to win 6 titles in 8 seasons up to 1973, what a team they must have been. I would love to read more about how good they were as that was some achievement.

The aggregate defeat v United was fairly big, but Man U were European champions.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

288 Posts
    Will definitely pick up the next book.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast