Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

Thread: New LOI Book

1,813 Posts
    I think we all will. Gave it to a Shels supporting mate living in London and his Kiwi housemate seemed intrigued by it. That's pretty widespread appeal I reckon.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

89 Posts
    I've thrown up a review of it here. It should be on the blog on here as well.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    I've thrown up a review of it here. It should be on the blog on here as well.
    Fantastic review mariborkev

398 Posts
    Halfway through it right now, but for dividing attention between work, travel and a 1 year old I'd be calling it unputdownable. Some very clear "missed chances" in it, as well as some great memories. I loved the piece on Athlone. Highly recommend this to anyone who likes football, not just LOI football.

1,813 Posts
    Great review Kev.

Just had an oul lad in work comment in the cover photo.

"Waterford v Man United, They won 3-1 or 3-0, great game, *pointing to the terrace* I was up there. Jaysus I'm showing my age."

That warmed the fluey cockles of a morning.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    gave a great background to the Waterford side finishing bottom of the league in the mid 60`s, then going on to win 6 titles in 8 seasons up to 1973, what a team they must have been. I would love to read more about how good they were as that was some achievement.
    So good that in honour of them, in order not to take a whit from that phenomenal feat like, we've endeavoured not to win any more titles since. Been tough going at times but so far so good!

Just want to add to all the praise so far. The book is excellent, a great read for any football fan. Also very much looking forward to a part two if there is one.
    Last edited by stann; 04/01/2011 at 4:52 PM.
    more bass

Anywhere in town (Dublin) got this?

Tried the main shops + Omni and nothing!

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post

All Easons' have it. Just ask when you go on.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    All Easons' have it. Just ask when you go on.
    could only see the shels book, are they hiding this one away somewhere?

390 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post

I just bought one this evening in Dubrays book store on Grafton Street (across from HMV). Up on the top floor is the sport section. It was in alphabetical order so was very easy to find. Granted they only have one copy left after my purchase but I doubt they sold that since. Had tried everywhere else before that also.
    Last edited by Nah Nah Nah Nah; 13/01/2011 at 7:59 PM.

Hi all, just a quick note to everyone on the forum who bought a copy of Gods Vs Mortals - thanks a lot! All the feedback, positive comments and suggestions over the last couple of months on this forum was much appreciated. Hopefully a volume 2 will get lift off at some stage in the future.

Anyone who wishes to make contact with me regarding anything in the book or where they can pick up a copy - I'm aware that some shops are currently low on stock - please don't hesitate to drop me an email (pdk123@eircom.net).

Paul Keane.

1,813 Posts
    Have been meaning to comment snout the book since I finished it. My word it truly is a great piece of work.
    Having only managed to have been at one game therein I have to say it truly brought the night back home to me.

Sports books of this sort are notoriously difficult to pull off and its made incalculably more difficult because we know the ending.
    That didn't matter. Reading through the Shels v Rangers section was just a great example of that. I was getting excited again watching us race into a 3-0 lead and I was thoroughly deflated after that chapter wondering what might have been. An exceptional read. A credit to the author.

Thanks Paul. Roll on Volume II.

164 Posts
    Brilliant book. Definitely hoping for Volume Two. Preferably with some of the dodgy trips to Eastern Europe.

445 Posts
    I will repeat what i have already said, Its a fantastic read, I recommended it to a friend of mine who has recently bought it and couldn't put it down and has since passed it on to his grandfather, great work, can't wait until the second one
    Here on a technicality.

427 Posts
    Again, would like to add my congrats to all involved. Great read and brought back some fabulous memories excellent book and looking forward to Vol 2 (Aberdeen and Kauserslauten PLEASE )

Will be holding on to mine to reread chapters and annoy people with various references to matches reported on (guaranteed to get my own table in the local)

Now, do yis remember the time when............

Yeah when it took ye a week to get to Tblisi I think and another week coming back. Moscow was only half way there!

539 Posts
    I have trouble getting the shelbourne book. waterstones sent me an email sayin that the order was being cancelled after me waiting a month and a half to get it. Can anyone suggest where I can order this book or has anyone any spare copies that I can get the lend of pls?If you can help send me a pm.

445 Posts
    I have trouble getting the shelbourne book. waterstones sent me an email sayin that the order was being cancelled after me waiting a month and a half to get it. Can anyone suggest where I can order this book or has anyone any spare copies that I can get the lend of pls?If you can help send me a pm.
    I know easons in Tallaght have it but not sure if that's any good to you
    Here on a technicality.

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    I know easons in Tallaght have it but not sure if that's any good to you
    yeah that might be of help. I will give them a shout and order it over the phone!! thanks for your help partysaint!

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567