Page 1 of 60 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstool facepalm

473 Posts

Barstool facepalm

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2055392350

"A group of members of the Boards.IE community was looking for a club to support and chose Go Ahead Eagles out of a few selected clubs."

I mean, come on!!

1,813 Posts
    Weirdly this has made me seeth somewhat.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

It's pretty sad to be honest.

25 Posts
    What a stupid shower of *****s. It makes you think the League of Ireland has some sort of disease that keeps people away!
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

56 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pickarooney
    I don't think many of us have a local Irish team.
    So you're supporting your local Dutch team?

30 Posts
    That reminds me of a local news story which appeared on the BBC NI evening news about 10 years ago.

A group of regulars in an Omagh bar - fed up with all the bickering about Manchester Utd, Liverpool, Celtic, Rangers etc - decided that they should pick a team that they all could support. They chose Accrington Stanley and formed a supporters club in the bar. They even organised trips over to watch the team play!

This, despite the fact, that their local Irish League side Omagh Town were struggling financially and crying out for fans. Not long afterwards, Omagh Town went out of business.

215 Posts
    It's mad alright. The money they spent on the trip could nearly have covered going to local games over a season. If someone's going across the water for a few days, I could understand wanting to take in a game but just going across for a game, it's mad really.

By the looks of it, they're not real footie fans anyway.
    The fact that they are going to 'pick' a team.
    I mean seriously.....every proper footie fan knows that you don't just pick your team....it picks you!

I like the way they have listed at the top 'How to watch GA Eagles' and it is a link to watching it on a screen.
    Is if actually atttending a football match would be an unthinkable experience!

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SupaJon View Post
    By the looks of it, they're not real footie fans anyway.
    The fact that they are going to 'pick' a team.
    I mean seriously.....every proper footie fan knows that you don't just pick your team....it picks you!

I like the way they have listed at the top 'How to watch GA Eagles' and it is a link to watching it on a screen.
    Is if actually atttending a football match would be an unthinkable experience!

I know it's fecking hard to watch a match in the Netherlands. I'm going over at Christmas to visit the girlfriend in Leiden, and was going to go and watch ADO Den Haag play. To get a ticket, you have to be a member of the supporters club, and to join that, you have to go to the stadium, register in person, then wait for a biometric ID card to be sent out to you, and only then are you eligible to buy tickets. You can't apply online, or get anyone else to do it for you. And they're still packing out the Kyocera Stadium every matchday

Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    I know it's fecking hard to watch a match in the Netherlands. I'm going over at Christmas to visit the girlfriend in Leiden, and was going to go and watch ADO Den Haag play. To get a ticket, you have to be a member of the supporters club, and to join that, you have to go to the stadium, register in person, then wait for a biometric ID card to be sent out to you, and only then are you eligible to buy tickets. You can't apply online, or get anyone else to do it for you. And they're still packing out the Kyocera Stadium every matchday

I don't understand that at all. Me and Stevo Da Gull went over to a Sparta Rotterdam match a few years back and all we had to do was go into the stadium on the day and ask for them. No mention of anything like that at all.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Wouldn't worry about them lads. Bunch of nerds.

Just trying the "hey look, we're so cool & alternative"

The type of bloke who think Nick Hornby invented football and didn't play subbutteo as a kid but now buy it off e-bay

The type of lads who used to get battered in my school. Rightly so.

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Cheers Dodge, I just spat a mouthful of tea all over my laptop from laughing at that!!

3,197 Posts
    Seconded.

19. Thanks From:

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post

I don't understand that at all. Me and Stevo Da Gull went over to a Sparta Rotterdam match a few years back and all we had to do was go into the stadium on the day and ask for them. No mention of anything like that at all.
    Oh really? I'd never tried to get tickets to a Dutch game before. I just assumed it must have been a league regulation. I know Den Haag have had a lot of problems with crowd trouble historically, so maybe they're trying to crack down on that. If it's not the same for every club, I might try and see another game. Den Haag is the closest club, but Utrecht (her team), Ajax, Excelsior, Sparta and Feyenoord are all pretty close to Leiden.

3,197 Posts
    Myself and Aberdonian Stu were at Ajax v Utrecht last month, a fixture with a lot of niggle recently (a select group of Utrecht fans were allowed in for this one; all away fans had been banned for the previous couple of seasons). You could buy tickets straight off the Ajax site. Granted, it was E75, which included a free gift (a cap I didn't want), a tenner credit for the food stalls (I'd have rather bought outside where it was cheaper) and E7.50 handling charge, but it was perfectly straightforward other than that.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Wouldn't worry about them lads. Bunch of nerds.

Just trying the "hey look, we're so cool & alternative"

The type of bloke who think Nick Hornby invented football and didn't play subbutteo as a kid but now buy it off e-bay

f**k me all these years feeling guily about been a bully and all along i was doing my civic duty
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    I wouldn't worry about it Peadar, I went over to an Ajax game in August and when I checked it online they had all that kind of stuff as well but I just went up to the stadium and bought one the day of the game, They must have known I was a LOI fan because they gave me a seat right beside the pitch for only €20
    Here on a technicality.

20 Posts
    Yeah as Pineapple said, it was pricier than I'd have liked but getting tickets proved reasonably straightforward for Ajax.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Ajax is a bit of a special case though as the tickets the UCD lads bought are specifically for tourists

3,197 Posts
    Yeah; they knew how to milk it alright. Didn't know PartySaint's route was an option tbh. There were a few thousand empty seats in the ground, so getting tickets likely wouldn't have been a problem at all (although it's always nice to be sure). I've been to a fair few games in various (12, I think) countries around Europe and never had a problem buying at the turnstiles.

Page 1 of 60 1231151 ... LastLast