Page 34 of 60 FirstFirst ... 24323334353644 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstool facepalm

398 Posts
    Is it just me or is the faint twanging of banjo's in the background becoming clearer? The look of dear on Ole Gunnar's face must come from knowing he's got a real purdy mouth.

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mightaswell View Post
    Fair play to Ole he deserves it after his successful career. And its Manchester United not Manure fyi
    Are you for real??

And deserve what?? What the hell do the people of sligo owe him??
    You've got no fans.

2,446 Posts
    Fair play to Ole he deserves it after his successful career. And its Manchester United not Manure fyi

I started wondering the other day, where our source of entertaining rubbish was going to come from on this forum since it seems to have disappeared somewhat into constant arguments, and uncommon clever discussions. We've had gold in the past here, granted I've only been part of the foot.ie fraternity for a few years, but since I've posted here, there's been a few geniuses on this forum. Now, I've got a new favourite.

People of foot.ie. The forum is now safe.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I started wondering the other day, where our source of entertaining rubbish was going to come from on this forum since it seems to have disappeared somewhat into constant arguments, and uncommon clever discussions. We've had gold in the past here, granted I've only been part of the foot.ie fraternity for a few years, but since I've posted here, there's been a few geniuses on this forum. Now, I've got a new favourite.

People of foot.ie. The forum is now safe.
    You can act as smug as you like Nigel, but who are you to deny Ole the black thing in a box he has undoubtedly spent his entire career working towards earning? I swear, this is such an island of begrudgers...

I know some of those lads. I know one of them is somebody who would frequent the showgrounds.
    Makes uncomfortable viewing though that picture.

The baby faced assassin looks pretty bemused by the whole thing.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    You can act as smug as you like Nigel, but who are you to deny Ole the black thing in a box he has undoubtedly spent his entire career working towards earning? I swear, this is such an island of begrudgers...

Does anyone know how to post a poll on this forum - can I do it or does it have to be a moderator? I was thinking of doing a quick straw poll on how many people in the LOI forum started supporting football teams through LOI as opposed to the EPL/Football leaugue or other leagues. If somebody else knows how, feel free to make it in my stead.

edit: it's just out of interest, not through any "LOI is better" mentality

473 Posts
    Does anyone know how to post a poll on this forum - can I do it or does it have to be a moderator? I was thinking of doing a quick straw poll on how many people in the LOI forum started supporting football teams through LOI as opposed to the EPL/Football leaugue or other leagues. If somebody else knows how, feel free to make it in my stead.

I came to the LOI through English football (and was even a ManUre fan for a while when I was a fresh-faced pre teen. The shame!)

2,446 Posts
    I think as a kid we all looked toward the English football culture. It was the norm, and you weren't a football fan in your youth unless you watched the English leagues.
    I grew up with Finn Harps, it's always been in the blood, but I never really distanced myself from English football until I was about 17 or 18.

mightaswell
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    I know some of those lads. I know one of them is somebody who would frequent the showgrounds.
    Makes uncomfortable viewing though that picture.
    OMG what!!! OMG Nigel look theres someone who shows up to LOI AND can support another team!!! Isnt that disgraceful. His money and support of Sligo should cease what a barstooler.

mightaswell

WHAT supporting LOI and EPL??? Thats impossible you barstooler. LOI is better anyone else is a liar. We are duty bound to bash the EPL and all other leagues other than our own due to their inferiority.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I think as a kid we all looked toward the English football culture. It was the norm, and you weren't a football fan in your youth unless you watched the English leagues.
    I grew up with Finn Harps, it's always been in the blood, but I never really distanced myself from English football until I was about 17 or 18.
    True, here too
    I got into LOI after feeling bored with the national team. Best thing I ever did, now much more into live football of all kinds everywhere and have turned into a bit of a groundhooper.

mightaswell
    This is why I find here so hilarious. Clubs are screaming for money yet when they get new fans these fans are "bandwagoners or barstoolers if they show up for a big name match. Only the regular attendees may be worthy of any respect. Barstoolers and Bandwagoners are disgraceful things
    Altho the clubs surely appreciate the extra revenue the "superfans" here cant stand said extra revenue. #****logic
    and people wonder why this league is as it is

90% of league of Ireland supporters would say take their money when you can cause it won't happen often. It can just be frustrating to see millions of euro sent abroad that could be pumped into improving our own game. In saying that the league of Ireland needs to help itself but its getting tougher and tougher by the year in my opinion. The teams that are trying to stay to strict budgets etc.... are stuck in a mid table to low position, can't get their crowds up because they aren't competing at the top and every year are losing players and being outbid for players. The clubs that are developing players that go abroad basically have to take whatever they can get because the English teams know how strapped for cash they are here. The FAI do nothin to help us and would rather we didn't exist and most the media feel similarly.

The league seems to only cater for a niche market of people that love live football and that's the way it will always be from now on with the massive availability of football on tv from around the world. It's cheaper to stay at home and watch a game, its fancier to look at, it is easier to find people to talk about it with and that can't be competed with.

Personally I can't stand watching football on telly. I usually get bored by half time and end up going off doing something else or flicking over the channel. On the very very rare occasion I'll watch a full match on telly.

This is why I find here so hilarious. Clubs are screaming for money yet when they get new fans these fans are "bandwagoners or barstoolers if they show up for a big name match. Only the regular attendees may be worthy of any respect. Barstoolers and Bandwagoners are disgraceful things
    Altho the clubs surely appreciate the extra revenue the "superfans" here cant stand said extra revenue. #****logic
    YOu're basing this on 4/5 posters on a barely used forum? Go to a game and not a single person will mock you for it (in fact they won't even know you're an "outsider"). As ever 95% of LOI fans have another club they like somewhere else, 99% support the national team.

Saying that LOI fans don't want people to go to their games is frankly absurd and bears no resemblemce to reality (save for a handful of eejits).

The percentage of Man Utd fans who don't want day trippers going to their games is way, way more than LOI eejits too but somewhow that doesn't seem to stop people going there

1,025 Posts

I think I can do it, but maybe only with a new thread. What question(s) and answer options do you want? Public or private poll?

136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post

Sligo Manure fans giving Ole some sort of award..
    Who will those people be supporting tonight? Sligo or Babyface's team? No doubt if Rovers were playing Man U they'd be supporting them (a team from Lancashire) against their home town club. Weird.

136 Posts
    Actually, that award seems to be a small coffin in a box. Anyone able to make out what's written on it? Probably something celebrating the demise of Irish football as barstoolers embrace corporate clubs from across the sea.

26. Thanks From:

473 Posts
    99.99% of LOI supporters will be absolutely delighted once someone comes to LOI games, no matter what their background, we're a forgiving bunch like that (except Hairy Bowsie, but he doesn't come here much any more)

Page 34 of 60 FirstFirst ... 24323334353644 ... LastLast