Page 2 of 60 FirstFirst 12341252 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstool facepalm

445 Posts
    Yeah; they knew how to milk it alright. Didn't know PartySaint's route was an option tbh. There were a few thousand empty seats in the ground, so getting tickets likely wouldn't have been a problem at all (although it's always nice to be sure). I've been to a fair few games in various (12, I think) countries around Europe and never had a problem buying at the turnstiles.
    It was their Champions League qualifier against Kiev so it might have been a a bit different to a normal league game
    Here on a technicality.

3,195 Posts
    I'm going to assume that's the case alright, cos it makes me feel better.

60 Posts
    I actually think it is a great idea, but not as practiced by this particular ensemble. I imagine a group of fans of various different league clubs, realising that, though they essentially believe one another to be otherwise sound individuals, the fact that they support different clubs means that they will never be able to talk about football without coming to blows.

I picture one of them saying: "Gentlemen, other than our footballing differences, we are a goodly troop, all of whom love the glorious game. What say ye all to arriving at a compromise team, one that entertains the locals in a seperate jurisdiction, one with which we have little knowledge and, perhaps, less feality as of yet. Being ultimately indifferent to their success or otherwise, and having little original connection, let us set upon the task of selecting a place that we could feasibly visit perhaps twice or three times a year, when our own respective clubs are out of season of course, that would have facility beside the football for visits, yet nothing too international. How better can we enjoy our companionship together, as best befits a group of men who share similar but oppositional loves. What say ye? Then, dear friends, we are agreed. Let us set upon this task. Every man jack of us to locate a team, and let us decide on the various merits and otherwise of these teams, when next we meet in a month and a day."

I think that would be fantastic. Of course, for it to happen as I envision it, it really should be in a 19th century London gentleman's club, there should follow a grand disputation over the team to follow, illustrating the oppositional nature of the two leading lights of the group, and should be resolved in a manner that would be best filmed with Terry Thomas playing a more nefarious scheming thrid party, who portends no good to any. And Tony Curtis probably should get the girl too.

What I don't get is why they don't choose to follow a French German team, and try to give something back to those who helped our nation in the past this week.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

473 Posts
    Well I know Den Haag's turnstiles won't even open unless you swipe your membership card, even if you do have a ticket.

The only Ajax game on when I'm over is against Feyenoord, so I doubt we'll be going to that! I had a quick google for tickets, and they're already selling at €129 for seats behind the goals, with a face value of €18.

Also, I think it's pretty ironic how quickly my thread about how subhuman boards.ie members were for following a Dutch team changed into me trying my hardest to go to a Dutch game myself!

447 Posts
    I went to an AZ Alkmaar game last year, not sure what the story is there though because I had a Dutch friend get us the tickets. He got onto a friend of his who was a member or in teh supports club or something.

Was 20 euro I think for behind the goal. nice stadium, pretty far walk

Thinking of heading to a game in Germany this off season, finances permitting. Nothing wrong with a bit of football tourism I say

There's nothing wrong with going to see as many teams/matches in as many leagues/countries as you can.

Slavishly devoted yourself to them is the problem

There's not much better than a lads trip away for the weekend that involves football.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Thinking of heading to a game in Germany this off season, finances permitting. Nothing wrong with a bit of football tourism I say
    Couldn't agree more, myself and 4 of my mates are going football interralling next season, Starting (hopefully) with Pats first away game in Europe and finishing around the last week in August
    Here on a technicality.

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    I actually think it is a great idea, ...snip... And Tony Curtis probably should get the girl too.

What I don't get is why they don't choose to follow a French German team, and try to give something back to those who helped our nation in the past this week.

"And I proceeded homewards from the unbridled passion of the savages of the Ataturk, when in Amsterdam I happened upon a herb of most extraordinary potency"

3,195 Posts
    I like when you right click on that picture, one of the options is "Inspect element". Rather in keeping, I do think.

Sure I only support Rovers because I have no local Dutch team.

Left a comment earlier on the boards page in reply to "why not support more than just an irish team" which seems to have been removed for no reason, well it doesn't seem to be there anyway. Looks like they don't want any discussion on the matter. Suprised....not really.

123 Posts
    maybe they misinterpted the word Ar$eh@le
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

1,813 Posts
    I'm still flabbergasted at this. Still. When I'm away I always check what's on. Though more often than not it's an intl. weekend or the winterbreak or bleedin' July!
    Still though Hibs v St Johnstone for me next week! NYIAOW!
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

672 Posts
    Sometimes I wish I could treat football as flippantly as these brain trustees.

"Come on Go For It Birdies - we'll support an Irish team, like Panathinaikos, if ye's are rubbish..."
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Left a comment earlier on the boards page in reply to "why not support more than just an irish team" which seems to have been removed for no reason, well it doesn't seem to be there anyway. Looks like they don't want any discussion on the matter. Suprised....not really.
    Was it the one pointing out to the Dutch fellow that Irish people tend to exclusively support teams from other countries? Definitely some posts removed there.

boards.ie is second only to the 606 forums as being an overmoderated mess. They're so keen to avoid fights that they shut down anything that even resembles a difference of opinion.

305 Posts
    A few posts from irate LOI fans on that thread have defnitly been removed since i last read it at 3 o"clock but JOFSPRING"S is still up.

56 Posts
    Carlow - F.C. Carlow
    Clare - could feasibly be considered in the Limerick catchment area?
    Cavan -
    Cork - Cork City, or if that's not your cup of tea, Cobh Ramblers
    Donegal - Finn Harps
    Dublin - urgh!
    Galway - urgh!
    Kerry - Tralee Dynamos
    Kildare - Kildare County, though now defunct
    Kilkenny - Kilkenny City, though now defunct
    Laois -
    Leitrim -
    Limerick - Limerick F.C.
    Longford - Longford Town
    Louth - Dundalk, Drogheda
    Mayo - Castlebar Celtic
    Meath -
    Monaghan - Monaghan United
    Offaly - Tullamore Town
    Roscommon - Athlone Town?
    Sligo - Sligo Rovers
    Tipperary - a midpoint of Cork, Waterford and Limerick
    Waterford - Waterford United
    Westmeath - Athlone Town?
    Wexford - Wexford Youths
    Wicklow - Bray Wanderers

As an overall percentage, there aren't THAT many people who could claim they don't have a local Irish team (and as you travel further up the country my knowledge of catchment areas becomes very shady).
    Last edited by ped_ped; 18/11/2010 at 8:57 PM. Reason: Apparently Cavan is a real place =(

60 Posts
    Glad to know I'm not the only person who doesn't consider Cavan a real place
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

23. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by ped_ped View Post
    Carlow - F.C. Carlow
    Clare - could feasibly be considered in the Limerick catchment area?
    Hi Bertie!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6py-JbDHgUc#t=0m46s

56 Posts
    Told ya the geography got shadier further up, lads!

I'll go edit now haha

Page 2 of 60 FirstFirst 12341252 ... LastLast