Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: The "Bailout" That Is In Actual Fact A High-Interest Loan, Not Free Money.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Also should see the press here as well. A lot of jokes going on about Ireland and its rightful place in the world at the moment. The likes of Richard Littlejohn are creaming their pants at the moment
    Its our own fault though

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    Anybody see Newsnight tonight? I was stunned by the growing anti-Irish sentiment that has been building all day. Even when broadcasting outside the Queens gaff they were getting digs in on UTV, BBC etc. When the BBC journo shouted out after Lenihan "When will you end this chaos?" it looked like a cringeworthy paper thin imitation of Michael Moore. At least Michael Moore was being held back, Lenihan gave interviews to BBC, ITV, RTE etc just 3 metres away, yet the Newsnight crew wanted to make it a nasty slap at the man. The Chancellor claimed the UK need a strong Ireland for exports, that it's important to keep us alive, BBC are looking to stir the siht.
    If you think the British media are being harsh then check out the German papers!

What do you expect though? Imagine if your next door neighbour had been throwing his cash around, buying fancy cars, building an extension + swimming pool, gloating about how good he had it and now all of a sudden you've got to dig into your pockets to help this chump out because he hasn't got a pot to **** in?

Where did all the money go when Ireland was booming?

Heads should roll. The people should be on the streets kicking off.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982
    If you think the British media are being harsh then check out the German papers!

What do you expect though? Imagine if your next door neighbour had been throwing his cash around, buying fancy cars, building an extension + swimming pool, gloating about how good he had it and now all of a sudden you've got to dig into your pockets to help this chump out because he hasn't got a pot to **** in?

Where did all the money go when Ireland was booming?

Heads should roll.
    Everyone is paying, the UK will be contributing 7 billion alone. Ireland's taxpayers have also paid, are, and will continue to pay for the recklessness of the wealthiest when the country had a few bob.

Nobody likes our situation, not even ourselves.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Speaking of Newsnight last night, did anyone see Dick Roche make an absolute fool of himself? I think one comment was, regarding the Donegal bye-election, that people should vote for Fianna Fail to ensure "stability and growth." Mind boggling. Would be nice to see a bit of humility from our government at the moment.
    Robbie Hedderman. Arguably the greatest Derry City player of all time...

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    .....and a lot of fish.
    My granny always said fish gave you brains!

521 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    How would the country raise money in that case?
    Tax effectively. Most of the larger companies operating in Ireland, which is usually stated as the reason we have a low tax rate in the first place, pay a far lower effective rate than even 10%. Google pays an effective 2.4%. Higher earners in Ireland also pay far less than they should be because of tax avoidance schemes. Close those loopholes gradually over the next 10 years, use the earnings to promote indigenous business, then they can feck off.

EDIT: Of course this is an incredibly simplistic explanation, and idea for that matter. The original point stands though: we shouldn't have bailed out the banks, and we've gained all we can gain from Europe. (I don't consider a bailout from Europe a gain. We didn't need to be here.)
    Last edited by dahamsta; 17/11/2010 at 11:23 AM.

38 Posts
    As someone who hopes to seek employment in Ireland upon graduation, should I be worried?

521 Posts
    That's a very open-ended question awec. When do you graduate, what are you studying?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    That's a very open-ended question awec. When do you graduate, what are you studying?
    Computer Science, so the IT industry. Graduate this spring/summer.

521 Posts
    Well, I guess that depends on your specialty, and how clever you are. Google are always looking for clever people, but you have to be /really/ clever.

It's tough out there for everyone though, I wouldn't hold my breath and I'd seriously be considering options at this point. No-one walks into a job right now.

38 Posts
    cheers for the info dahamsta

1,550 Posts
    I work in IT.. was told I was going to be let go earlier in the year and hence have watched the job market pretty closely. There is loads of IT work in Dublin and even Galway is picking up. In fact we're recruiting again and are having bother getting enough qualified people.

If you do Java especially, you'll be sound.

214 Posts
    I didn't think it could get any worse for Ireland but it has.............

George Osborne is offering help.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Could Ireland threaten to pull out of the Euro?
    Let me see now.

The Irish Republic is the country which has (arguably) benefited most financially and economically from EU membership of the whole 27.

It is/was also amongst the most enthusiastic of members re the whole EU project.

It was pleased to join the Eurozone from the beginning, both for its financial/economic merits, but also because it allowed the country to cast off one of the last links/connections (currency) with its former colonial governor etc.

So far, so good.

Then the country's Government makes a whole series of catastrophic miscalculations and policy errors etc, many of which were downright corrupt, which left the country's economy up the creek, having incurred enormous debts to its EU partners.

And people are suggesting that all of the above should be forgotten, solely out of expediency and self-interest, even despite the damage it (leaving the Eurozone) would do to its fellow Europeans and the EU?

"How to win friends and influence people", eh?

214 Posts
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-11768336

any views on this article? Positive I must say.

521 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    And people are suggesting that all of the above should be forgotten, solely out of expediency and self-interest, even despite the damage it (leaving the Eurozone) would do to its fellow Europeans and the EU?
    We're either a capitalist country or we're not. We're certainly not socialist and with our current system of democracy, you can't have it both ways. So yes, I stay drop it like a stone; or at least we should have a couple of years ago.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Let me see now.

The Irish Republic is the country which has (arguably) benefited most financially and economically from EU membership of the whole 27.

It is/was also amongst the most enthusiastic of members re the whole EU project.

It was pleased to join the Eurozone from the beginning, both for its financial/economic merits, but also because it allowed the country to cast off one of the last links/connections (currency) with its former colonial governor etc.

So far, so good.

Then the country's Government makes a whole series of catastrophic miscalculations and policy errors etc, many of which were downright corrupt, which left the country's economy up the creek, having incurred enormous debts to its EU partners.

"How to win friends and influence people", eh?
    realpolitik. a very european invention, if i'm not mistaken.
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

214 Posts
    It's the politicians first duty to look after its own citizens. Selfish I know EG but that is the way of the world. I'm with Dahamsta. The EU/EEC has been very good for Ireland the last 30/40 but if the deal they are offered is a very painful pill to swallow then they should look at alternatives. Do Irish citizens want every decision on fiscal and monetary matters to be now in the hands of the EU?

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-11768336

any views on this article? Positive I must say.
    Tsk tsk, its by Marc Coleman, thats enough and all I need to know. Pretty much has no creditability left - what were the names of his two books again!!!!!

125 Posts
    it probably is in the hands of people who know how an economy and a banking system work. if anything the 2 brians are lawyers by trade and not finance people. i know it was those people (& in particular one accountant) that got us in the mess but they would of really had no educational concept of how economies work or how they operate.
    In response to your post we should be in control of our own destiny. if it means leaving the euro would be better than being in it we should look at that option. Also if we do talk openly about that option maybe we might get a better deal that what will be on the table in 10 days with a stupid govt promise of paying everyone back. You'd swear no one ever heard of caveat emptor.
    We certainly will not be the last country to be in this predicament.
    Long Live King Kenny

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast