Page 24 of 37 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1A 2010/11

Well done to summerville on promotion and best of luck next season,soreloser we played 3 premier teams this season in various competitions beating 2 of them,other than pike we wembley a 1a side are the only team left in an out of town competition in april,take out pike and fairview and the premier is wide open,i have to say that 1a has been a breath of fresh air for our club this season with teams who have nothing to play for still plugging away and making it tough for other sides,THAT certainly was not the case in premier last seson when teams who where safe played weak sides from march on turning the league into a farce,yes the premier is where all clubs strive to be but 1a has done us no harm whatsoever.

Tensions running high here in the last few days. I've found it intresting to see the begrudgers and the optimists battle it out for their sides. I think that Summerville and Wembley will do ok in next seasons Premier division. I fancy one, maybe even both to survive. As for comments that Summerville are not in the top two best teams in 1A, take a long hard look at the table. It never lies. Cups are random, anything can happen, but over the course of a season, the best team finishes top, second best finishes second and so on and so forth. I thought everyone in football understood that. Apparently not.
    The very best of luck to the players and staff at Summerville and Wembley. You both deserve it and I am envious of your success. Hopefully that kind of season is in the near future of my own club Granville Rangers. We can but hope.
    Last edited by Zizou; 07/04/2011 at 11:28 AM.
    The Beautiful Game

Quote Originally Posted by passandmove View Post
    Well done to summerville on promotion and best of luck next season,soreloser we played 3 premier teams this season in various competitions beating 2 of them,other than pike we wembley a 1a side are the only team left in an out of town competition in april,take out pike and fairview and the premier is wide open,i have to say that 1a has been a breath of fresh air for our club this season with teams who have nothing to play for still plugging away and making it tough for other sides,THAT certainly was not the case in premier last seson when teams who where safe played weak sides from march on turning the league into a farce,yes the premier is where all clubs strive to be but 1a has done us no harm whatsoever.
    Well said and still a lot to play for in 1 A and not like the Premier league which is only a 2 horse race.
    It wont be long now and we will be reading some crazy results in the relegation battle in the Premier league as teams do one another favours to stay up.

37 Posts
    spot on BLUEBOY ,the next 3 wks in the premier will be a farce.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WizardOnTheWing View Post
    Too good for 1A but not good enough for premier dont make me laugh, you would think the premier league is the best in the Country or something. There is only a few teams in the Premier that are miles ahead of the rest e.g Pike, Fairview, Regional the rest are fighting it out year in year out, this year is a prime example. How many good clubs this year have been struggling to stay up, a lot more than the two that got promoted last year.Summerville and Wembley if we get promoted will stand the same chance as many clubs in Premier of competing and staying in the top flight.
    I agree with you 100%, but I would say Wembley would be better equipped than Summerville, thats just my opinion!!

Best of luck Sunday pal! (it could be a great day for ye if everything goes yer way! come Sunday evening ye could be in the final of the MJC and also be promoted to the Prem, but worse case scenario, ye get knocked out of the MJC semi final and ye still need 1 win from yer remaining games for promotion in the league (with the league title also there for the taking), which isn't a bad season at all).
    68, 99, 08

Quote Originally Posted by mufc View Post
    congrats to summerville on going up but im absolutely puzzled how this has happened. by no means are they in the top 2 in this league no way!! they will be straight back down with a bang... FACT!!! on the other hand wembley deserve the right to be going into premier football and will survive imo... well done again lads
    Whoever you are you sound bitter

Quote Originally Posted by passandmove View Post
    Very sensible post. Well said. Best of luck for next season. And sure we will give ye a good game up in yere place in a few weeks!

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    I agree with you 100%, but I would say Wembley would be better equipped than Summerville, thats just my opinion!!

Best of luck Sunday pal! (it could be a great day for ye if everything goes yer way! come Sunday evening ye could be in the final of the MJC and also be promoted to the Prem, but worse case scenario, ye get knocked out of the MJC semi final and ye still need 1 win from yer remaining games for promotion in the league (with the league title also there for the taking), which isn't a bad season at all).
    Sound Alan, ya no matter the result sunday we will enjoy the day and give it our best shot.. The League win is very important to the team and club so no matter what happens sunday we wont be getting complacent.

yes i am bitter bald eagle as i am a member of geraldines committee and we failed to go up. all the talk about going up at the start was worthless now. fair play to summerville for going up but in my eyes they are harmless. we played them twice this year but failed to get a point on both occassions. if we got the points we deserved there then would be so different. summerville members cant say that they deserved anyting out of the games we played them

Lads may be a bit off thread but fair play to Caherdavin Celtic last night, best tenner value for a long time in ther night with John Giles, he was very good and spent hours there and signed everything asked of him and did all the phtos etc, very nice guy and its a pity more unctions like this arent held around the city

Quote Originally Posted by mufc View Post
    yes i am bitter bald eagle as i am a member of geraldines committee and we failed to go up. all the talk about going up at the start was worthless now. fair play to summerville for going up but in my eyes they are harmless. we played them twice this year but failed to get a point on both occassions. if we got the points we deserved there then would be so different. summerville members cant say that they deserved anyting out of the games we played them
    as a committee member you should be well displeased with the 8k ye shelved out for yer top manager!!! as bad svile may or may not be, they'l hardly do as poorly as ye did in yer last foray to premier football!! running your mouth off here with no back up is totally disrespectfull to svilles promotion this season, any1 who goes up, does so on merit... end of story!!

few big games on tomorro prospect need a win badly if they got it couldnt see balla b catching um wil cville have full team u wouldnt no nothing to play for now promotion is done so only relegation battle to decide now good luck to prospect tomorro

Quote Originally Posted by jman View Post
    few big games on tomorro prospect need a win badly if they got it couldnt see balla b catching um wil cville have full team u wouldnt no nothing to play for now promotion is done so only relegation battle to decide now good luck to prospect tomorro
    We're missing a few alright but we will be trying to win, that is without doubt. we would like to finish 3rd if possible, that would be a very good season for us, and hopefully next season we can go one better and get promoted

Quote Originally Posted by True Supporter View Post
    But Pike are playing Tuesday night against Star and Pike are playing St.Michaels Saturday night
    uuuppps maybe Pike shouldnt have played Tuesday night after all.

Prospect 2 Charleville 4

Prospect were the better team in the first half and ran us ragged at the back, we were all over the place. 1-0 to the home side after 10 mins, quite a fortuitous goal, the prospect striker taking a shot which our keeper saved but it then rebounded off the prospect striker again and into the net. 1-1 shortly afterwards, good through ball which our striker buried. Prospect deservedly went in front again from a penalty. We equalized just before the break, Prospect failed to clear a corner and our midfielder finished well. 2-2 at half-time

2nd half we were much better (wouldn't be hard), we were solid at the back and didn't give away many chances, except some long range efforts. We went 3-2 up on 50 minutes, excellent move which was nicely slotted home by our player/manager. We shortly made it 4-2 when terrible back-pass was intercepted by our striker and he calmly placed it home. Prospect never gave up. The ref disallowed a perfect goal for us then which would've made it 5-2 but it was academic at the end. Best of luck to Prospect for the relegation battle

Summerville 4 - 2 Granville

Geraldines 4-4 Shannon Hibs.
    "You guys line up alphabetically by height."
    --Bill Peterson

prospect cant buy a win story of there season players not turning up and stuck with bare 11 just not good enough to be honest

Quote Originally Posted by jman View Post
    prospect cant buy a win story of there season players not turning up and stuck with bare 11 just not good enough to be honest
    jman I thought Prospect played well today in the first half, 2nd half they seemed to run out of steam, don't know if it's fitness levels or what? some of the attacking play by Prospect was very good, but the defending at times was poor

Quote Originally Posted by booster 03 View Post
    as a committee member you should be well displeased with the 8k ye shelved out for yer top manager!!! as bad svile may or may not be, they'l hardly do as poorly as ye did in yer last foray to premier football!! running your mouth off here with no back up is totally disrespectfull to svilles promotion this season, any1 who goes up, does so on merit... end of story!!
    have to agree with you booster, throughout the season teams make there own luck good or bad and at the end of the season the league table tells the story

Page 24 of 37 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast