Page 4 of 17 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Ins, outs, rumours?

861 Posts
    wasnt austin skelly the top scorer with athlone last season with ten goals? mark nolan is pretty well rated too.. athlone must be losin the majority of their squad too to other clubs.. if fabio is available i would take him at an instant.. tony cousins was asst mgr at drogs when fabio was there..
    Mark Nolan is quite a good player but fabio o'brien is a complete has been wouldnt touch him
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

confirmed on the general forum earlier on the signings thread:

des hope and austin skelly have signed for longford!!

courtesy of athlonetown man. opinions anyone?

622 Posts
    des is an decent defender (i'm thinking of the right guy yeah? ) and Austin ain't bad either and does chip in with a fair few goals, i think they are certainly better than some of the lads we had/have currently

106 Posts
    according to this, skelly has scored 10 goals in 23 appearances last season, not a bad return!

http://www.soccerway.com/players/austin-skelly/85045/

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    according to this, skelly has scored 10 goals in 23 appearances last season, not a bad return!

http://www.soccerway.com/players/austin-skelly/85045/

especially when you play in a crap side, imagine what he could do playing for long....... oh wait..

861 Posts
    Des hope is a good signing he should definitely strengthen that back 4 of ours as for skelly not his biggest fan as we all know but if he behaves himself then who knows what he could do 4 us.

861 Posts
    Just spoke to Des on fb he signed 4 us on thursday night and said he cant wait to get going and thinks we will have a good season also spoke to skelly who said he signed for us on Friday and can't wait to pull on the red and black and give it 100% and hopfully chip in with a few goals.
    Last edited by outspoken; 21/11/2010 at 8:23 PM. Reason: Breaking news

38 Posts
    so i got here first with this info!? looks like im winning that micky measuring competition on here!

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Just spoke to Des on fb he signed 4 us on thursday night and said he cant wait to get going and thinks we will have a good season also spoke to skelly who said he signed for us on Friday and can't wait to pull on the red and black and give it 100% and hopfully chip in with a few goals.
    Did they say it's a dream come true and that they were boyhood Town fans?

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Did they say it's a dream come true and that they were boyhood Town fans?
    seen as a stepping stone to the international squad no doubt

622 Posts
    Anyone want to be cool and post the names of the people who are definitely staying for next season so and then we can keep copying and pasting the new names onto it?

861 Posts
    Was chating to Kevin Cronin last night he is not staying with us , he dsnt know about Gary yet hes still undecided and he told me that Jason Oladale is permanent not a loanee as some suggested and he is staying.

Well I think we can all agree that the Cronin's would be absolutely no loss whatsoever. Absolutely useless.

Two good signings for ye there in Hope and Skelly. I hear you are also after our young keeper Schlingermann. I'm sure he'd only be brought in as a back up keeper as he's still only learning hos trade.

861 Posts
    Wouldn't be a big fan of shligerman he was at fault for victors goal when we beat athlone in flancare this season and yes he is young and every keeper makes mistakes but he just dsnt tick all the boxes for me

622 Posts
    I'd love to get that lad in from what I've seen hes very good for his age

Wouldn't be a big fan of shligerman he was at fault for victors goal when we beat athlone in flancare this season and yes he is young and every keeper makes mistakes but he just dsnt tick all the boxes for me
    Oh dear.

You're judging a lad on one performance?

861 Posts
    I knew id get that response but im sorry im just not a big fan of his.

622 Posts
    didn't he win the all Ireland with mayo minors? or got to the final or something too

106 Posts
    I knew id get that response but im sorry im just not a big fan of his.
    surely for someone looking for a feature in writing on football you cant be making such sweeping statements on players after one game? For what its worth, i think he could be potentially an excellent signing, he was on the books of sligo before playin minor with mayo as mentioned above and was motm in the all ireland semi final.. I think he is exactly the type of player we need, young hungry and wanting to improve, cant be much worse than what we have

Page 4 of 17 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast