Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Tonights Latest-Tuesday 2nd Nov

63 Posts
    Just back from Terryland, great to be staying up and could have won by 2 really. Seamus and O Donnell on top in midfield and defence for the most part solid. Sheppard again caused problems for Bray and delighted he got the goal. Crowd of 1480 probably 80-100 from Bray and fair play to the ground staff for having the pitch in such good nick after all the rain.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    Salthill stay in division one and cobh stay in A league?
    Salthill and Cobh have to play a second leg on Saturday.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Oh what a nite. Still in pub in waterford, don't think we will leave tonight. Hard luck waterford, lovely fans who looked after us and a group of them stayed to applaud our lads off hutch after they had come back to warm down. Others ensured my son got to around safely cos he had to go earlier. Total legend fans. Thank u.

Galway stay in the Premier.
    Monaghan play Bray in Gortakeegan on Friday night with the second leg at the Carlisle Grounds on Monday 8th.
    Kildare County RIP

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kildareman View Post
    Galway stay in the Premier.
    Monaghan play Bray in Gortakeegan on Friday night with the second leg at the Carlisle Grounds on Monday 8th.
    YES, 1 more live game before the season is over (cant make the cup final)
    Here on a technicality.

Job well done by Galway tonight. They were the better team throughout the match and could have won by more. Sheppard was excellent, derek o brien apart from the sitter he missed put in a very solid performance. Bray weren't quite at it tonight to be fair. The play off final should be interesting now. Congratulations to Monaghan. A very well deserved spot in the final after the effort your lads have put in this season and best of luck on Friday.

1,524 Posts
    Was at Terryland tonight. Galway deserved the win, I don't remember Bray really having a decent chance.

Kind of a strangely subdued atmosphere about the game considering it was a playoff on the new stand side anyway. Maybe because the teams knew they had a second chance.

Crowd seemed bigger than the 1432 that was announced. I came in on kick off and the new stand (holds 1500 I think) was pretty full and there were plenty of people around the ground.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Was at Terryland tonight. Galway deserved the win, I don't remember Bray really having a decent chance.

Kind of a strangely subdued atmosphere about the game considering it was a playoff on the new stand side anyway. Maybe because the teams knew they had a second chance.

Crowd seemed bigger than the 1432 that was announced. I came in on kick off and the new stand (holds 1500 I think) was pretty full and there were plenty of people around the ground.
    The new stand is always subdued unfortunately.

Yeah, I thought 1432 seemed a bit small too.

Home from the game. Gutted.

Mons deserved the win no questions. I hate Philly Hughes so much but he's good at what he does. Stonewall peno turned down then philly dives for a free kick that he sticks in the top corner. There's no justification in appointing a Monaghan based referee for such an important game with monaghan playing. Only three games in the country tonight and they send him. It's a joke. Not sour grapes at all, we werent good enough but some of his decision were laughable. 2nd goal definitely offside and the free at the end was a joke too.

Anyway, good luck to Mons against Bray.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

217 Posts
    Cobh have it all to do away to Salthill on Saturday. I hope they can turn in around.

141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevo Da Gull View Post
    Big brother
    Karl is the younger brother actually. Thought we deserved the win (thought I would say that!!), think Barry Ryan had 1 save to make in the 90 minutes. Seamus Conneely was head and shoulders above everyone else on the pitch, should won by more but for Derek missing a couple of chances. Still, won't write Bray off in the play-off yet, if they can just sort out their attack, or maybe tonight was an exception rather than the rule. Bray fan escorted off the pitch by the Gardai (but not arrested by the looks of it) after running on at the final whistle to confront Hancock over another woeful refereeing display, though what the particular gripe was I don't know as Mitchell was sent off for being the last man when he fouled Sheppard
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post

Mons deserved the win no questions. I hate Philly Hughes so much but he's good at what he does. Stonewall peno turned down then philly dives for a free kick that he sticks in the top corner. There's no justification in appointing a Monaghan based referee for such an important game with monaghan playing. Only three games in the country tonight and they send him. It's a joke. Not sour grapes at all, we werent good enough but some of his decision were laughable. 2nd goal definitely offside and the free at the end was a joke too.

Thanks. Your goal was offside, we weren't give a blatant hand ball and he did us no favours. Have to say ur fans were fantastic tho.

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post

3rd attempt to post, so I'm keeping this short...
    ...I can understand your annoyance about the ref's appointment, but it did not affect the result
    I'm totally biased but it was never a penalty, 2nd goal was well onside and admittedly Sean Brennan (not Philly) appeared to go down a bit easily for the free-kick that led to the 3rd (but what a free from Philly)
    Fair play to the Waterford fans who applauded our lads off the pitch after their warm-down
    So proud of the Mons tonight, some super performances
    Last edited by monutdfc; 03/11/2010 at 12:00 AM.

Bray looked like they were never going to score tonight. They were very shaky at the back all night. Jake Kelly was probably the pick of the bunch for Bray. Bet his man on numerous occasions but his final ball, like all of his teammate's, was very very poor. Galway were ok, Sheppard played well as well as O'Brien (as much as it pains me to say it). Poor game in general though. Good crowd but heard a few, when I sat in the new stand at the beginning, say they were given free tickets. And that was from a few different groups of people. (Im not trying to insinuate anything happened en masse here). Bray fan seemed to be getting arrested last time I saw it. Took a swing at a steward, for no apparent reason. There was also an elderly man complaing to the guards about him being hit by the same fan, so I'd say it was to do with this rather than the ref, who was absolutely terrible tonight.
    Last edited by MMVIII; 02/11/2010 at 11:51 PM.

69 Posts
    Whether or not he was fair, it is a joke that a Monaghan ref was sent to Waterford to referee a game involving Monaghan.

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Karl is the younger brother actually.
    Oops, my mistake.

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Bray fan escorted off the pitch by the Gardai (but not arrested by the looks of it) after running on at the final whistle to confront Hancock over another woeful refereeing display, though what the particular gripe was I don't know as Mitchell was sent off for being the last man when he fouled Sheppard
    Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    Bray fan seemed to be getting arrested last time I saw it. Took a swing at a steward, for no apparent reason. There was also an elderly man complaing to the guards about him being hit by the same fan, so I'd say it was to do with this rather than the ref, who was absolutely terrible tonight.
    Not what you want to hear at all!

Judging from the radio commentary the officials had a poor night but were totally unbiased. Also every report seems to suggest that we created nothing on the night, and you can't blame officials on that.
    Last edited by Stevo Da Gull; 03/11/2010 at 12:26 AM.

123 Posts
    ya we hate to see him doing our games he never gives us anything and tonight was no exception. we earned the win by the way he is from donegal and is stationed in carrickmacross as a garda i think so really is not from monaghan.
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    ya we hate to see him doing our games he never gives us anything and tonight was no exception. we earned the win by the way he is from donegal and is stationed in carrickmacross as a garda i think so really is not from monaghan.
    As ive already said, i've no qualms with the result, fair play to ye, played very well, but its all them little 50-50 decision that all went your way that people get annoyed over. I know he's from Donegal alright and monaghan-based thats fair enough, but the fai appointing him to such an important game with the team from where he is based is asking for trouble, especially when there was a huge amount of referee's clearly not doing matches tonight. If it was a waterford-based referee people would be asking the same questions as to why he was appointed.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

I agree and we would have preferred a different ref but it wasn't up to us. Our lads did what they had to and went out and won So I am happy but feel waterfords fans pain.

I like how Waterford fans are annoyed a Monaghan based ref was appointed because he would be biased towards Monaghan and Monaghan are annoyed that a Monaghan based ref was appointed because he would be biased towards Waterford...

Anyway, was a nice trip down (didn't realise that it was motorway the whole way), good to see a match again and whatever people are saying about Philly's free, I enjoyed his diving header from the low cross from little Barry Clancy

26. Thanks From:

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast