Page 15 of 26 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Norway - Wednesday, 17th November 2010 - Friendly

1,928 Posts
    Drillo said at times we try to play like Barca, he didn't rate the quality of the effort. In 'Drillo speak', that's not a complement.

Formerly: Rafa B
    39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Best of a bad bunch, one might say. McGeady did well going forward and it was great to see him initiating counter attacks, but he often neglected his defensive duties and continuously left Kilbane exposed. It's also very hard to forgive his consistently awful delivery.
    Are you John Giles?? LOL He said the exact same thing himself after the Russia game. Mentioned he's hardly new to the international game and how many more chances does he need. Also said some games you think he's finally produced and then the next game he is back to normal.
    Lets talk about six baby

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Just thought I'd make the official team clear.

Given (Manchester City)

Kelly (Fulham)

O’Shea (Manchester United)

O’Dea (Ipswich Town)

Cunningham (Leicester City)

Lawrence (Portsmouth)

Fahey (Birmingham City)

Whelan (Stoke City)

Duff (Fulham)

Long (Reading)

Doyle (Wolves)

Anyone got the rest of the available squad?
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 17/11/2010 at 2:17 PM.

Walters, Wilson, McGeady, Coleman, Foley, Hunt, Treacy, Murphy

162 Posts
    Very bad form that Walters is the only striker on the bench. He's not a viable option for Ireland at all.

228 Posts
    Granted, Walters isn't exactly a proven goalscorer, but he's currently playing at the highest level and is surely worth a shot.

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rafa B View Post
    Are you John Giles?? LOL He said the exact same thing himself after the Russia game. Mentioned he's hardly new to the international game and how many more chances does he need. Also said some games you think he's finally produced and then the next game he is back to normal.
    You know what they say. 'Great minds...'

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Granted, Walters isn't exactly a proven goalscorer, but he's currently playing at the highest level and is surely worth a shot.
    But he's not playing well at the highest level...

228 Posts
    Touché. Still, let's just see what he has to offer.

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Drillo said at times we try to play like Barca, he didn't rate the quality of the effort. In 'Drillo speak', that's not a complement.
    It could be construed as a compliment though. At least we try.

2,796 Posts
    With that bench there's scope to go 4-5-1 at some stage, which means only having one striker on the bench isn't necessarily strupid.

You'd never know what trap is thinking though.

I'm with Supreme Feet - Foley's exclusion is the only one that really irks me, but if we don't see Coleman and Wilson get meaningful action I'll be very disappointed.

634 Posts
    I'm looking forward to this game more than I thought I would now. Hopefully the young lads will give a good account of themselves, and with the centre halves we might get the ball on the deck a bit more. Certainly having Fahey in the middle should help with that.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart
    With that bench there's scope to go 4-5-1 at some stage, which means only having one striker on the bench isn't necessarily strupid.
    Correct. There's definitely scope with Walters, McGeady, Treacy and Coleman to go 4-5-1. Can't see it happening though.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Hopefully he'll give McGeady the chance to play behind the lone striker, like he's said in press conferences.

2,796 Posts
    I didn't hear him say that, but that'd be a viable option too.

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I didn't hear him say that, but that'd be a viable option too.
    It wasn't in relation to tonight. Just that it could be an option. Said it a while back.

Quote Originally Posted by AlaskaFox View Post
    But he's not playing well at the highest level...
    Well he's scored twice for Stoke this season which make him our number one top level finisher I believe, so he has to be worth a shot for that reason alone

Joint top with Foley and Coleman.

2,796 Posts
    Doyle hasn't scored once this season yet I think he'd be a great addition to Arsenal's team! Cue that one again

Trap has a few days to look at Walters up close and make an assessment.

He's still settling in at EPL level. It's taken better players longer. Yer man Elmander is looking a very good player now but 6 months ago I thought he was total muck and couldn't understand how a guy who looked good for Sweden was so abject at club level. Walters will never be a prolific scorer but if he can distract defenders and hold the ball up and all that, maybe his contribution to the team effort will render him useful. Or maybe it won't - but we won't know unless we look at him.

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Adrock View Post
    Well he's scored twice for Stoke this season which make him our number one top level finisher I believe, so he has to be worth a shot for that reason alone
    One of those was against Shrewsbury in the cup though.

Usual livestream request. Anybody got one? I really should have a handle on this internet thing by now.

Page 15 of 26 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast