Drillo said at times we try to play like Barca, he didn't rate the quality of the effort. In 'Drillo speak', that's not a complement.
Are you John Giles?? LOL He said the exact same thing himself after the Russia game. Mentioned he's hardly new to the international game and how many more chances does he need. Also said some games you think he's finally produced and then the next game he is back to normal.
Lets talk about six baby
Just thought I'd make the official team clear.
Given (Manchester City)
Kelly (Fulham)
O’Shea (Manchester United)
O’Dea (Ipswich Town)
Cunningham (Leicester City)
Lawrence (Portsmouth)
Fahey (Birmingham City)
Whelan (Stoke City)
Duff (Fulham)
Long (Reading)
Doyle (Wolves)
Anyone got the rest of the available squad?
Last edited by tricky_colour; 17/11/2010 at 2:17 PM.
Walters, Wilson, McGeady, Coleman, Foley, Hunt, Treacy, Murphy
Very bad form that Walters is the only striker on the bench. He's not a viable option for Ireland at all.
Granted, Walters isn't exactly a proven goalscorer, but he's currently playing at the highest level and is surely worth a shot.
Touché. Still, let's just see what he has to offer.
With that bench there's scope to go 4-5-1 at some stage, which means only having one striker on the bench isn't necessarily strupid.
You'd never know what trap is thinking though.
I'm with Supreme Feet - Foley's exclusion is the only one that really irks me, but if we don't see Coleman and Wilson get meaningful action I'll be very disappointed.
I'm looking forward to this game more than I thought I would now. Hopefully the young lads will give a good account of themselves, and with the centre halves we might get the ball on the deck a bit more. Certainly having Fahey in the middle should help with that.
Correct. There's definitely scope with Walters, McGeady, Treacy and Coleman to go 4-5-1. Can't see it happening though.Originally Posted by Stuttgart
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
I didn't hear him say that, but that'd be a viable option too.
Joint top with Foley and Coleman.
Doyle hasn't scored once this season yet I think he'd be a great addition to Arsenal's team! Cue that one again
Trap has a few days to look at Walters up close and make an assessment.
He's still settling in at EPL level. It's taken better players longer. Yer man Elmander is looking a very good player now but 6 months ago I thought he was total muck and couldn't understand how a guy who looked good for Sweden was so abject at club level. Walters will never be a prolific scorer but if he can distract defenders and hold the ball up and all that, maybe his contribution to the team effort will render him useful. Or maybe it won't - but we won't know unless we look at him.
Usual livestream request. Anybody got one? I really should have a handle on this internet thing by now.