Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Playoff V Galway 2nd Nov

I have to say i am shocked at what i'm reading.... To try and attack anybody is serious but a referee in a huge game in the top league in the country is trully shocking. I went to games for 12 years between 1994 to 2006 and from 1999 to 2006 quite regular, missed handful of games through that period home and away and i have to say seen nothing like what i'm reading about. Yeah we gave abuse to the ref for decisions made against us but never did we ever go to attack an official at any time.! We brought drums and flags to all games from Limericks ground at Pike rovers to Ballybofey but we created an atmosphere not a bloody incident to shame the club. We were slapped on the wrist once in monaghan for throwing till rolls on the pitch and that is the worst incident i can remember. Those 2 lads should be ashamed of themselves and learn to handle their drink properly and i have to say if it were me i'd offer a grovelling apology to the supporters club, the GM, the mangagement and the players because they really let the club down on tuesday in what i believe was a fantastic number of travelling fans!!!!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

That person who apparently hit two fans was an older member of the supporters club, The two lads that ran onto the ptich have been banned for the Monaghan home and away games. Totsy didnt even make it twenty yards onto the pitch and all he did was walk on, stop and came back, Yes he can be a clown but when ever something bad happens any where in the crowd he gets the blame even though he could be miles away from any incidents. So before people start naming people make sure they are 100 percent sure they are right.
    www.braywanderers.ie (Club)
    www.braywanderers.com (supporters club)
    Sharks are as tough as those football fans who take their shirts off during games in England in January, only more intelligent.

I do not agree at all with the abuse the lineswomen got,
    thow I wonder will the man that hit the two lads get a ban at all seen as he is related to one of the members I doubt it very much.

Quote Originally Posted by Grasshopper 99 View Post
    That person who apparently hit two fans was an older member of the supporters club, The two lads that ran onto the ptich have been banned for the Monaghan home and away games. Totsy didnt even make it twenty yards onto the pitch and all he did was walk on, stop and came back, Yes he can be a clown but when ever something bad happens any where in the crowd he gets the blame even though he could be miles away from any incidents. So before people start naming people make sure they are 100 percent sure they are right.
    Are we not 100% right that he jumped the wall and tried to get at the ref, i'll think you will find we are, i was looking at the whole thing along with 50 or 60 others who shuck their heads in embarrassment and shame. It doesn't make the slightest difference if he made it 5, 10 or 50 yards onto the pitch, the thing is that he still did it. To try and defend what he and Traynor did even in the slightest, no matter how far he got onto the pitch shows stupidity in itself and how immature that group of "loyal" fans are. Fair play to the club for banning them for the home and away games, our 2 biggest games of the season and the lads will miss out of them because of acting the ******** after a few drinks, I'd say there delighted with themselves now.

On the other incident of a Supporters Club Member assaulting the 2 lads, didn't see it so i can't comment on it, but if it is true then the lads themselves should take it further. Now that i think of it, i did hear one of the lads who jumped the wall saying "he had no right to hold me back like that" i wonder was that the same incident and has it been blown out of proportion?
    Last edited by Roo69; 04/11/2010 at 3:48 PM.

I do know that Gary has sent an apology to the supporters club for his behaviour, dont know if he forwarded it to the club as well and there is a planned meeting in regards to everytghing that happened, hopefully this will be done before monday and that ALL people involved that are asked to come and attend do so.
    www.braywanderers.ie (Club)
    www.braywanderers.com (supporters club)
    Sharks are as tough as those football fans who take their shirts off during games in England in January, only more intelligent.

Quote Originally Posted by Grasshopper 99 View Post
    I do know that Gary has sent an apology to the supporters club for his behaviour, dont know if he forwarded it to the club as well and there is a planned meeting in regards to everytghing that happened, hopefully this will be done before monday and that ALL people involved that are asked to come and attend do so.
    Well at least he was man enough to say sorry so fair play to him for that

Ok, we've all had are rant about the lads running after the ref, i believe one did apologise, far play. It was a stupid thing to do as it was the team who lost us the game not the ref..

On the other side of things I did see what happened with the sc official, terry o'neill the CHAIRMAN of the sc got too involved and raised his hands pushing, shoving and hitting fans, and one of the fans was just trying to get him away from the situation that he assualed. This is completly unacceptable and I really hope that action is taken by the club and the sc about this, but because he's the brother of the GM in the club I seriously doubt that anything will happen, for one I want to see him resign as chairman and be banned from the commitee in future.

Its funny because most of the time when someone is telling them to stop messing or critising the singing fans about what they do its Terry. Then when most had left the ground after and the lad was talking to the gaurds on the pitch Mark O'Neill started screaming at him making things worse and when someone shouted at him and told him to f**k off he replied by saying 'you'll never be in the carlisle again', the two of them made the whole situation alot worse.

Anyway, hopefully Terry has sense and the club do as well and take action..

C'mon bray, beat the mons and look forward to next season..

If fans are going to be banned terry should be aswell,he has been complaining and complaining for the last 3 years about the fans and then hits two,I am finished complaining about this but im just sticking up for the good of that group.
    the singing fans are not respected by Bray Wanderers and that is a fact.
    The bases has to be started at this club work with the fans respect teh fans and thats what makes great clubs,people may laugh at this but you have to build on supports not ruin it.
    the two lads were a disgrace to the club the other day and terry,I agree he should resign and not go around like the big man anymore.

Jeez, a lot of angry people on this.... I wish some of the energy on this was put into helping the club!!!

What happened the other night was a joke. From the team who did not perform, to the ref and to the incident after the match. The 2 fans who ran onto the pitch should be punished and looks they will. One seemingly has apologised and I hope the other does too. But this still does not excuse what happened, they should never have gone over that wall. What happened after this was a joke. Some people just always have to get involved. They cannot keep away. But i aint going to get into that. I hope the club deals with this person (can't see it happening though!!!).

On the people who gets the blame all the time, I feel some what sorry for Totsy! He aways seem to be in the wrong place at the wrong time... Yes he went onto the pitch afterwards (which he shouldnt) but he gets blamed for a lot that wasnt his fault. The lads with the drums seem to get away with a lot in my view... They shout abuse and everything and dont stop the lads or anything... But anyway enough said, let the club and supporters club tidy this mess up sooner rather than later!!!

The club needs the supporters to get behind the club tomorrow and on Monday, so get out there and cheer the lads on as I do not want to be wathing 1st Division football next season!!!!
    DEVO: 'we want to challenge for the league next season' - speaking at the player of the year awards nite 2005. boy was he so far wrong!!

my god you'd swear we were millwall . i think we have been for the past 25 years the best behaved fans in the league, other then ucd who don't have any fans. people get heated and do things they shouldn't. time to move on and snap out of all of this. if you went down bray seafront every night of the week you would see a lot worse. not an excuse but 2 people out of 300 acting up . i don't think we do or ever will have a hooligan problem compared to other clubs.

Totally agree lowflyingseagull,the behaivior is not acceptable but god we are no bohs or rovers.

75 Posts
    "One thing Galway have to take a lot of blame for on the night was their stewarding, i even had my own problems with them. But to let a group of already visibly drunk young lads out of the ground at half time to go down to the off licence and then let them back in topped up with booze is absolutely moronic."

That is just utter rubbish .The nearest Off Licence is Tesco and which is over 20 minutes walk from the ground so your telling me those lads went off for forty minutes.Never ever had problems with Bray Supporters in Galway Until this season but there are 12 young guns who fancy themselves as green street heroes and were shaping up to kids when we allowed them over for food and this was the main reason we decided to keep ye back for a meagre 3 minutes.

I have been stewarding in Terryland for over 20 years and that is the first time we have had a fan from any club try to attack the Ref after a game and believe me if we hadnt stopped him Bray would be in huge trouble now.We were totally mystified by the way the players went for the ref at the end as your own fans said the ref had nothing to do with Bray losing the game.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

galway Utd mayI take this opportunity to say sorry for the behaviour of all

It's mad really, of all the posts put on this issue no one has apologised to Galway yet for our collective behaviour. Well I will then.

On behalf of all the Bray fans that travelled to Galway may I take this opportunity to say sorry for the behaviour of all us involved on the night. I hope Galway go on to have a good season in 2011 as there is no doubt your facilities are definitely Premier Division class and some of your players are definitely going places. Hopefully our Childish behaviour as a group did not mar what I am sure was a great night for all involved in Galway Utd.Take care and hopefully see your club again soon.

well said Roo69

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    "One thing Galway have to take a lot of blame for on the night was their stewarding, i even had my own problems with them. But to let a group of already visibly drunk young lads out of the ground at half time to go down to the off licence and then let them back in topped up with booze is absolutely moronic."

That is just utter rubbish .The nearest Off Licence is Tesco and which is over 20 minutes walk from the ground so your telling me those lads went off for forty minutes.Never ever had problems with Bray Supporters in Galway Until this season but there are 12 young guns who fancy themselves as green street heroes and were shaping up to kids when we allowed them over for food and this was the main reason we decided to keep ye back for a meagre 3 minutes.

I have been stewarding in Terryland for over 20 years and that is the first time we have had a fan from any club try to attack the Ref after a game and believe me if we hadnt stopped him Bray would be in huge trouble now.We were totally mystified by the way the players went for the ref at the end as your own fans said the ref had nothing to do with Bray losing the game.
    I agree with EVERYTHING you said bar "That is just utter rubbish", it happened. I've no need to lie about something like that. They were aloud out of the ground at half time and came back with a fresh stash of booze. Most of your stewards were fine, no problems at all but there were a few with stinking attitudes, especially the 2 English (i think) who were on the half way line in the old stand

Anyway, fair play on winning, fully deserved. Hopefully we meet in the Premier again next season

473 Posts
    Might I suggest that they'd stashed some drink close by so they wouldn't have to bring it into the ground, or go to an offo?

Formerly: Rafa B
    39 Posts
    The "Bray" supporters who went on to the pitch are at fault end of. The Galway stewards are in no way at fault. People from Bray are quick enough to blame other clubs supporters when they are involved in things so accept it and stop looking for scape goats. As for this senior supporters club member he should be banned and never let set foot in the club again. What an example he is setting. No doubts he will be let away with it because he know's the people that know.
    Last edited by KK77; 10/11/2010 at 9:47 AM.
    Lets talk about six baby

21. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Rafa B View Post
    The "Bray" supporters who went on to the pitch are at fault end of. The Galway stewards are in no way at fault. People from Bray are quick enough to blame other clubs supporters when they are involved in things so accept it and stop looking for scape goats. As for this senior supporters club member he should be banned and never let set foot in the club again. What an example he is setting. No doubts he will be let away with it because he know's the people that know.
    100% not Galway's fault, it was the 2 moron's who jumped the wall. There was a SC meeting about it last night AFAIK and from what i heard the story of a SC member "hitting" fans was blown way over the top. It was a case of trying to stop lads jumping the wall by trying to hold them back, something which he should not have had to do in the first place but i fully agree in putting no blame on Galway what so ever.

23. Thanks From:

Formerly: Rafa B
    39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    100% not Galway's fault, it was the 2 moron's who jumped the wall. There was a SC meeting about it last night AFAIK and from what i heard the story of a SC member "hitting" fans was blown way over the top. It was a case of trying to stop lads jumping the wall by trying to hold them back, something which he should not have had to do in the first place but i fully agree in putting no blame on Galway what so ever.
    I am probably going ott but it just angers me all this when all the talk should be of what the team have done to stay in the league.
    Lets talk about six baby

No i dont think your post about it not being Galway's fault is over the top, as I've said it was 100% the lads fault who jumped the wall and as i sated in previous posts that if it did turn out to be true about a SC member assaulting people then the necessary steps should have been taken, but from what I've heard it was blown way out of proportion.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast