Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekend Fixtures 29th - 30th October

God damned excruciating neverending agony for 90 minutes with a sh!te performance, but I cannot express how little I care

I also lost my umbrella, loose change and possibly my iPod smacked off the ground celebrating the second goal...they're probably some or all somewhere on the hill behind the road goal..so what...
    Last edited by dfx-; 30/10/2010 at 1:00 AM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    I also lost my umbrella
    Jesus you'll need to get another for November 14th. You can't be rioting at the Aviva without your umbrella. I've got seven.

There was an assortment at the final whistle to choose from lying around in the stands..small, golf ones, black ones, yellow ones, wooden handles, plastic handles, metal handles...all sorts of hell could've broken loose.

Really the Bray stewards were very slack in their Umbrella screening outside the ground. I walked straight in unchallenged with my umbrella. It's a recipe for disaster..
    The Model Club

I'm expecting the umbrella security to be a lot tighter at the Aviva. I'm thinking about hiding a couple of smaller brollies in my socks, just in case.

Risky stuff that, but it might just work...and you get to keep the element of surprise without having to charge umbrella-in-hand.
    The Model Club

76 Posts
    CHAMPIONS.

PS Going back to winter football is a losers charter. No one wants to watch your crappy clubs summer or winter. Follow the Rovers way...
    No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

305 Posts
    Fair play and congrats to rovers.
    Was any reason given why Twig got RTE motm tonight???

Sub-editing gone mad at UEFA. Can't believe Aidan Fitzmaurice would ever refer to us as "Shamrock"

http://www.uefa.com/memberassociatio...im+Irish+title

Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Fair play and congrats to rovers.
    Was any reason given why Twig got RTE motm tonight???
    I'm not sure there was much logic involved. They needed to give it to a Rovers player for the day that was in it and Twigg was the only one who excelled himself. Any other of the 35 weeks and it would have been a Bray player.
    Last edited by Charlie Darwin; 30/10/2010 at 4:35 AM.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I'm expecting the umbrella security to be a lot tighter at the Aviva. I'm thinking about hiding a couple of smaller brollies in my socks, just in case.
    I've got umbrellas into every Ireland game so far in Lansdowne 2.0
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    I've got umbrellas into every Ireland game so far in Lansdowne 2.0

Are you Rovers in disguise..

Really good performance from our lads last night(esp the first half). Slightly p1ssed at Sligo getting that last minute winner and robbing us of third . In fairness I doubt many would begrudge Sligo their third place finish and Im looking forward to watching them in the FAI cup final. Decent finish from our lads and 4th is not bad at all. Congrats to Rovers and hard luck to Bohs

In fairness, us nicking something off Fingal in the dying minutes has a whiff of restoring universal karma about it.
    Now, speaking of Cup finals and dubious penalties, if we can only sort out that grudge I've been nursing since 1978...
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dublin Red View Post
    We should have won the league. Never mind your Bohs and Shams who get the decisions from the dublin refs week in week out!
    That's hilarious, you didn't beat the Champions once, and we couldn't beat an egg in the final two months and first month of the season, yet at no stage were Sligo in the title race. Maybe next year Sligo will challenge, but beating UCD and Drogheda in style doesn't mean Sligo deserved anything other than 3rd in the league this year.

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    That's hilarious, you didn't beat the Champions once, and we couldn't beat an egg in the final two months and first month of the season, yet at no stage were Sligo in the title race. Maybe next year Sligo will challenge, but beating UCD and Drogheda in style doesn't mean Sligo deserved anything other than 3rd in the league this year.
    The league table doesnt lie, we deserved 3rd because we were simply so woefull at the start of the season.
    3rd from bottom after the first round of matches.
    If we played like we did in the second half of the season at the start of the season we would have walked the league.
    But we didnt and so that is that. Either way im delighted the season we had.
    BTW we did beat you this season, remember the small matter of the LC Semi Final?

I do feel sorry for Pete Mahon, I like the guy alot. He's done pretty well with that Pat's team this year.

61 Posts
    I was suprised with Buttimer last night. Apart from getting in the way a few times he had a decent game and played a good advantage for us which led to one of our goals.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    The league table doesnt lie, we deserved 3rd because we were simply so woefull at the start of the season.
    3rd from bottom after the first round of matches.
    If we played like we did in the second half of the season at the start of the season we would have walked the league.
    But we didnt and so that is that. Either way im delighted the season we had.
    BTW we did beat you this season, remember the small matter of the LC Semi Final?
    Small matter is right when talking about the EA Sports Cup, but I was talking about the league, where you couldn't beat us at all, including when we were terrible at the start of the season, end of season and during your apparently great form that would have seen you walk the league.

Also, some of the funniest moments during the game was Richie Baker of Bray twice kicking the ball away to waste time to help Rovers at the death, and stopping to have a chat to the Rovers fans during the game. I think he might just be a bit happy for his brother to have another title. Hooperman parading around mid-game in a giant witches mask with "Nutsy" written on it drew a smile too.

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Small matter is right when talking about the EA Sports Cup
    Yes that is true, after all how could Shams fans keep track of another cup (small matter that it is) because there have been such an abundance of honours at Shams over the past decade.
    but I was talking about the league, where you couldn't beat us at all,
    No in the league we didnt beat you, various reasons why but in the end your poxy football came out on top in the league, lets hope the trend continues of our performances against yee in cup competitions.
    including when we were terrible at the start of the season, end of season and during your apparently great form that would have seen you walk the league.
    Ohh you mean during the first half of the season where yee were "terrible", as in where yee were still well ahead of us in the league.
    And in our good phase ya we should have bet yee in Tallaght, but we didnt as is football.
    Dont really so the point our trying to make tbh.

182 Posts
    Jaysis i'm still a bit drunk from last night.
    We were woejus, and won the league in a year with few decent teams in it but we'll take it and add it to our large collection.

big hello to all the bohs and bitter sligo fans.hope your sick.
    for all the non bitter sligo fans(which is most tbh) see youse in the cup final.
    although every games against Rovers is your cup final! only messin.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Any games on the wireless tonight? Links? Anything?

Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast