Thread: League of Ireland Transfers 2011

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Drogheda i hear.
    Yep.

His legs have gone. Fantastic player in his day, I had the pleasure of watching him last season but to be honest his legs have gone.

His finest moment: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dy_Ph93CsSY

Clowns!!

Is Collins one of Mick Cookes boys or one of ye'res??

both....Mick signed him but he is still with us and will be. A great young player who has come into his own a lot more and seems to be playing even better now under his namesake.

448 Posts
    in fairness, Limerick shouldnt be able to compete for players with crowds of 300.

but sure let your backer pump his money into the club. ites worked so well for other clubs in the past why not give it a go

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    in fairness, Limerick shouldnt be able to compete for players with crowds of 300.

but sure let your backer pump his money into the club. ites worked so well for other clubs in the past why not give it a go
    Em, why are you having a pop at Limerick over this? I really don't understand why anyone to do with City would be bitter? It's only Denis Behan!!! If Limerick want to offer him 4 figures per week then let them off. And best of luck to them. We know the dangers of offering high wages, and we shouldn't be even considering matching them for mediocre players like Denis Behan.

448 Posts
    argh, I had a big post written and I lost it

The jist was that I'm not bitter and while I think Behan would be a decent signing for us or them, I wouldn't be making him our highest paid player.

Then I spoke about the follies of spending more than you can bring in, and chasing glory almost always leads to bankrupptcy yada yada yada - i did mention that a strong limerick in a decent stadium would be good for the league though

420 Posts
    I find it hilarious that Cork fans are telling clubs what they should be doing financially.

Ye can say that we have crowds of 300 as much as ye want it doesn't make it true. 800 there last home game Tommy should know that seen as he was there.

At the start of the year our owner had to show the FAI that he had the money for the years budget( we were the only ones that had to ) so all this talk about spending what we don't have is stupid too.

" i did mention that a strong limerick in a decent stadium would be good for the league though " We are working on that we have the Markets Field now so hopefully with a few more multi million Euro signings we will be in the premier when we move in there.

448 Posts
    I think we are better placed than most to spot something that looks like it will turn bad given our history, but sure ignore it all you want. im saying you can spend and spend to get promoted this season, but what happens then? how long does he keep pumping money in? it doesn't last forever you know.

and having 800 at a game when Cork City in town doesn't make your talk of 800 true either.

your average is 500. Between Joe Gamble and Denis Behan you would have literally no money left for other players going soley on gate money

420 Posts
    I think we are better placed than most to spot something that looks like it will turn bad given our history, but sure ignore it all you want. im saying you can spend and spend to get promoted this season, but what happens then? how long does he keep pumping money in? it doesn't last forever you know.

and having 800 at a game when Cork City in town doesn't make your talk of 800 true either.

your average is 500. Between Joe Gamble and Denis Behan you would have literally no money left for other players going soley on gate money
    I never claimed that 800 was our usual crowd though Tommy tried to make out that 300 was when it is not true thats all im saying he had to resort to lies to try and make a stupid point.

If it does end up going wrong it will be us that will have to deal with it so no need for anyone except Limerick fans to worry about it.

At the end of the day at the start of the season you had Limerick people saying Cork where spending huge and offered Vinny Sullivan 3 times what Limerick and Waterford did. Now its the other way around. No one really knows the figures.

If Pat is pumping money in to pay for these players till the end of the season and can afford it I see no problem. They will only be on contracts till the end of the season, they are not signing two or three year deals that could come back and bite us if Pat pulls out next year (which I can't see happening).

If we are moving to the Markets Field for the start of next season we really need premier football to keep the ball rolling at the club.

We could see players leaving the club in July also.

Its the usual story though, if we get promoted it will be worth it but if the players we sign don't do the business it won't.

861 Posts
    At the end of the day if clubs in the loi haven't yet learned about spending beyond your means then they deserve all the trouble that comes their way, and I'm not saying that Limerick or cork or anyone else is I'm just making the point.

ITT

Cork fans actually acting arrogant about the fact that their club died on their watch

Believing Tommy Dunne about the figures

Thinking gates are all that runs a club

Give over for flip sake

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    At the end of the day if clubs in the loi haven't yet learned about spending beyond your means then they deserve all the trouble that comes their way, and I'm not saying that Limerick or cork or anyone else is I'm just making the point.
    There was barely 150 people at our match against ye last night (ye're biggest game in about two years)

Ask yourself who's paying Keith Gillespie.

Ask yourself who's paying Chris Deans

Ask yourself who's paying Don Cowans

Then ask yourself why you felt the need to pontificate on the internetz

Oh Lordie masser, I swear we never roam again.

What in the name of Jaysus do crowds have to do with the ability to compete for players??

As one good pal of mine today said to me "the only one saying anything about Denis Behan signing for limerick is Tommy Dunne." Not a word out of limerick on this matter at this time which shows the class of the club and one that does its business in a correct manner. As for all these suggestive, speculative figures and inuendo, hats off to you classless clowns.

ITT

Cork fans actually acting arrogant about the fact that their club died on their watch

Give over for flip sake
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    I find it hilarious that Cork fans are telling clubs what they should be doing financially.
    From what I can see here, its only one fan giving out about your finances.
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    As one good pal of mine today said to me "the only one saying anything about Denis Behan signing for limerick is Tommy Dunne." Not a word out of limerick on this matter at this time which shows the class of the club and one that does its business in a correct manner. As for all these suggestive, speculative figures and inuendo, hats off to you classless clowns.
    Totally agree with you that Tommy should have kept his mouth shut. But surely fans on a football site are allowed speculate on the figures. Classless though???

2,446 Posts
    There was barely 150 people at our match against ye last night (ye're biggest game in about two years)

Ask yourself who's paying Keith Gillespie.

Ask yourself who's paying Chris Deans

Ask yourself who's paying Don Cowans

Then ask yourself why you felt the need to pontificate on the internetz

Isn't Keith Gillespies wages being sponsored by some businessman or something?
    Don't know the story with the other 2.

448 Posts
    ITT

Give over for flip sake
    don't think we're being arrogant. We've learned some valuable lessons. Namely that you can't trust anyone to save your club but the people who love it, and relying on one man to bankroll a football club almost never works, Brian Lennox did a pretty good job for a while but even he couldn't keep it going forever.

I'd believe Tommy alright, but the figures I heard came from another source who has proven to be correct in the past.

We know full well what it takes to run a club, and gates play a significant portion of that these days. Sponsors aren't bending over backwards to hand out money anymore - little thing called the recession.

Rely on your chairman for now but I would be keeping on eye on things - its not always as rosy as it seems.

448 Posts
    Oh Lordie masser, I swear we never roam again.

What in the name of Jaysus do crowds have to do with the ability to compete for players??
    a huge amount - thats where the majority of most teams funding comes from

every team has a budget at the start of the season, and most of those budgets are based on estimates of funding - a large portion coming from gate receipts. at least in the real world

a huge amount - thats where the majority of most teams funding comes from
    Wouldn't be so sure of this.

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast