Page 45 of 116 FirstFirst ... 3543444546475595 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfer rumours

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Good post. Again it seems as though you lads are taking this personal.
    Its the internet, its hard to take any of the drivel that goes on here personal.
    For the record I know what he was offered by us and it wasn't the amount you think it was.
    And I "know" otherwise, so whatyagonnado.
    If it was then Twigg etc would want the same.
    What wage is Twigg on out of curiosity??
    Re making a home in Sligo, the fact is he wouldn't have tried to negotiate with Fingal if he had no intention of leaving Sligo, or us for that matter.
    Not at all.
    Like I said the fact that he has made a home here did impact on his decision but other factors such as money, manager, the club itself, the rapport with supporters, the connection with the community etc all factor into these decisions.
    Now say for arguements sake he was offered 10,000 a week in Dundalk then I have no doubt that he would go straight there because the margin in difference in money is so big it would outweigh all those other factors I mentioned.
    Like Richie himself has said, its his livelyhood so if say he could get better financial terms than those on offer here that would outweigh all those other factors then he would leave and he would be dead right.
    But the fact is that the extra 300 or so Shams were offering him did not outweigh those factors so he stayed.
    Simples.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    That's fair enough, but I hope that fact goes towards dispelling the rumour we're offering huge wages and 'add-ons' to our better players. If it was all about money then Richie would have been outta here November 15th.
    I don't see how it does dispel anything though. The 'add on' means he's earning more at Sligo that he would have at Fingal or us. It is about money at the end of the day, otherwise he wouldn't have been touting himself to other clubs. That's not a put down of Sligo btw, just the way some footballers think.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    I don't see how it does dispel anything though. The 'add on' means he's earning more at Sligo that he would have at Fingal or us. It is about money at the end of the day, otherwise he wouldn't have been touting himself to other clubs. That's not a put down of Sligo btw, just the way some footballers think.
    He said if he was to leave Sligo, he'd sign for a foreign club. He was offered a contract at Shams which was alot more than we offered.If it's about money surely if he was offered a deal per week, guaranteed of say €1,000 at Shams and Sligo offered him €800 and bonus of €200 if he scored or whatever he's gonna take the guarenteed €1,00? Whether you deny it or not Shamrock Rovers will offer him or any other player alot more than we can.

473 Posts
    Can I interrupt the sniping to ask if anybody knows if bonuses are included in the 65% cap, official or not?

89 Posts
    Right,

This is a rumours thread so obviously there has to be a bit of leeway to give in terms of idle speculation etc.

Throwing in random figures about "official wages" and under the counter figures is not accepted

I deleted the posts, but if it lapses into this again there will be infractions etc dished out.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    Can I interrupt the sniping to ask if anybody knows if bonuses are included in the 65% cap, official or not?
    I don't see how they wouldn't be. I don't think Derry would have gone to the trouble of multiple contracts if they'd been able to sidestep the rule that easily.

Bonuses are included. Its easy enough to get by licensing for budgeting reasons this way but it has to be tallied up at end of the season

For the record, some people are are delusional beyond belief if they think anyone signs for their (non hometown) club for any reason other than money in this league (and indeed most leagues).

Also find it funny how everyone things their club is doing the rioght thing ad everyone else is cheating

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Derry set to sign Finn Harps player Packie Mailey now too. Hoorbags.
    Well done the FAI for punishing Derry ****ty, not! Why should clubs live within the rules?

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cestlavie View Post
    Well done the FAI for punishing Derry ****ty, not! Why should clubs live within the rules?
    So we're not allowed to sign players now? Its about time you and all those Harps fans got over what happened. We wernt the first club and certainly wont be the last club to be helped out.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Also find it funny how everyone things their club is doing the rioght thing ad everyone else is cheating
    But Limerick are doing the right thing and everyone else are cheating. Especially Waterford, Shelbourne and Cork would you believe.

On the rumours front Bobby Ryan (or horsefaced c**t as he is known to their fans if last season is anything to go by) to Shels.

Didnt realise anyone knew him by any different name?

Sheppard the ****ing donkey is gone to Shams, confirmed on his twitter

64 Posts
    I think the other 3 signings are to be announced tomorrow with another 2 to be confirmed. Very happy with the players coming in. No excuse for MON not to play a more open game imop.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

138 Posts
    Mc Cabe is confirmed to have gone to Shams.
    Funny enough, in the opposite case to Ryan, the fact that he didnt like Sligo played a big part in him moving to a Dublin club.

89 Posts
    Stephen O'Donnell, Karl Sheppard and Gary McCabe all confirmed as signing one year deals with Rovers, and crucially Enda Stevens has signed a new two year deal.

Great news for us, really happy with those signings, looking forward to more to come.

19. Thanks From:

These are sexy, sexy developments.

3,491 Posts
    So are ye still after Kilduff with those signings?

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    Mc Cabe is confirmed to have gone to Shams.
    Funny enough, in the opposite case to Ryan, the fact that he didnt like Sligo played a big part in him moving to a Dublin club.
    whats to like ?

in regard to the signings, and hopefully james chambers & manus will sign back for us , youse might as well all just give up on winning the league next year cos i'm loudly confidant we will have the squad to retain the title next year.
    and shelley can buy the first round at rovers with his loot from the sinking of the HMS bohemian.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

So are ye still after Kilduff with those signings?
    doubt it!

1,552 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    Just for badness ill bite.
    Richies wage was only a few hundred at the start of last season, the operative word being start.
    Like with most things in capitalist economics football reflects the whole concept of supply and demand.
    On his performances the season before last he didnt warrant a contract IMO, have a read over our forum then and you will see.
    So the club offered him half the wages that he was on the season before, take it or leave it offer.
    Since he had such a bad season, there was no demand for him, we werent too pushed because there was a good chance he would have another bad season, the 300 or so euro a week he was offered was the only offer he got, no other club offered him a contract and on the season he had there is no surprise in that.
    From what I heard half way through last season he re-negotiated his contract because he was playing so good, from what I heard he was bumped up another 200 or so (no idea if its the right figures but thats what I heard).
    As for his contract negotiations this season he was offered a massive wage by shams, well over 1000 a week.
    We couldnt and wouldnt match that, the contract that we offered him from what I heard was 800 a week.
    The fact that he has made a home in Sligo impacted greatly in his decision im guessing, he likes the place, his girlfriend and her child are from here.
    Why would Sligo increase the terms without increasing the length of contract? That doesn't make any sense.

Page 45 of 116 FirstFirst ... 3543444546475595 ... LastLast