I fully agree with your post so the club should have been up front with him and told him the truth instead of asking him to sign up for the pay cut knowing full well they wernt going to keep him on. Fair enough if players had to take pay cuts but to get a player to agree to it on false pretence isnt the way to treat any player.
They've very little in common. I'd say sheppard might suit Sligo's style a bit better but persoanlly, I'd prefer Blinkhorn at Pats. Neither has a great goals record though
Today's Star reckons Dave McAllister is off to Sheffield United. I'd be gutted to see him leave. He'd be the player I'd like us to keep most
Don't see why it would have to be a straight choice between Blinkhorn and Sheppard, but if it was, I'd be happy enough keeping Blinks.
Don't particularly want Crowe.
"Even if the wind stops to blow
Even if the sea ceases to flow
Even if the sun ceases to rise
The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."
Blinkhorn and Sheppard would be a great front 2 imo
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
Derek Doyle, Ryan Guy, Derek Pender, Danny North, Dave Mulcahy, Chris Bennion all have signed again for next season apparently
Davey McAllister is off to Sheff Utd according to the star
Now I don't watch GU regularly, but am I the only one who thinks Sheppard is massively over rated and is living on his goals V Bohs in the live game earlier in the season?
I think he's got huge talent but he has clearly suffered carrying the burden for a team who flash between brilliant and awful. When he came on against Manchester United, he just didn't seem to have any fear, running at Vidic and flashing shots from 25 yards. I think he might end up as a winger if he goes to England - he has that natural belief.
But for Sligo or for Rovers he'd be the kind of player you'd want in Europe against nominally superior opposition. It's a pity we didn't have Dessie against Juventus because he's got the same tendency to back himself.
Any sign of Tipton re-signing for Dundalk lads? Thought he did very well for ye since he joined.
Strange one, Pats website included in the list of players re-signed Daniel North, but on facebook he's saying he hasn't signed anything.
Difficult to say what will happen if Karl Sheppard dose go back across the water. When he left Shels to go to Everton he was being tipped to be playing for Ireland by now. For whatever reason it didnt work out and Moyes released him. Perhaps hes found his level playing here. I think he prob will fancy another crack at it over there but a another season in the league of Ireland won't do him any harm at all.