Page 8 of 16 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekend Latest 22-24 Oct

138 Posts
    What are Bohs at?? Shower of useless mercenarys, no heart or appetite to win the league.
    Shams are as good as home and dry now, on the performances last night they deserve to win the League instead of Bohs.
    Delighted with the 3 points in UCD, leaving the race for Europe right down to the wire.
    But correct me if im wrong but with Shams winning last night and Bohs losing and it looking very likely that Shams will win the league does that not mean we are now as good as in Europe??
    As for the First Division looks like its going to be a massive night in Monaghan for the end of the season?
    As posters have said before me, what a league, the Barstoolers loss.

Also any word on what Seanie Connor did?

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    What are Bohs at?? Shower of useless mercenarys, no heart or appetite to win the league.
    Shams are as good as home and dry now, on the performances last night they deserve to win the League instead of Bohs.
    Delighted with the 3 points in UCD, leaving the race for Europe right down to the wire.
    But correct me if im wrong but with Shams winning last night and Bohs losing and it looking very likely that Shams will win the league does that not mean we are now as good as in Europe??
    As for the First Division looks like its going to be a massive night in Monaghan for the end of the season?
    As posters have said before me, what a league, the Barstoolers loss.

Also any word on what Seanie Connor did?
    The way the league has been going this season I wouldn't be crowning Shams yet. If we get a draw at home to Pats we'll be in Europe no matter what happens elsewhere although hopefully we can win and finish third.

It's been a great season it has to be said. Drogheda v Galway is the only meaningless game on the last day of the season

Good win for us last night. We weren't great it has to be said. Very poor in the first half. UCD should have been 1 up at half time when they went clean through but hit it straight at Kelly. A lot better in the second half. 2 good goals but still hanging on in the end after Kelly (who was dodgy with his kicking all night) kicked a clearance against Kilduff. UCD hit the post just after we got the second and Kelly made another good save from a Kilduff (I think) header. Certainly a come down from the performance of last weekend but a win is a win. Nice crowd up for it.

There was 2 kick outs given to us in the second half and I think the only 2 people in the ground who thought they were kick outs were the ref and the linesman. Baffling. One of them Foran handled the ball and and another one Kelly tipped over the bar. I fully expect any dodgy decisions we got last night or next Friday to be made up for in the cup final.

89 Posts
    As far as I know the Sean Connor thing was just at full time he walked up understandably beaming to Pat Fenlon to shake hands, it looks like wee Fenlon decided to do some intimidating tough grip handshake thing because neither let go and Connor turned laughing/smiling in surprise that Fenlon hadn't let go, before a Galway coach lightly pushed Fenlon out of the way

136 Posts
    Drogheda were the better team last night up until Rovers scored. Rovers are the kind of team who play well when things are going well for them, but look very jittery when they are up against it. Didn't look like champions last night. I wouldn't be too confident for them if they were playing a Bray team who were 'up for it'. However, as someone here has said, the Wanderers will have their minds on the play-offs and won't be fielding a strong side. So congratulations in order to Shams (almost).

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    What a night in the LOI. We despair at times, but what a league.
    Despair is the only word to describe being beaten at home by Salthill Devon.
    Well deserved as well, our players obviously didn't want to be there, shameful.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post

If Rovers win the league (which they will), then Sligo are definitely in europe. I hope you bear thta in mind next week. No point in risking players before the cup final

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    If Rovers win the league (which they will), then Sligo are definitely in europe. I hope you bear thta in mind next week. No point in risking players before the cup final
    Nothing guaranteed in this league. Sligo should definitely put out their stongest side to make sure.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    As far as I know the Sean Connor thing was just at full time he walked up understandably beaming to Pat Fenlon to shake hands, it looks like wee Fenlon decided to do some intimidating tough grip handshake thing because neither let go and Connor turned laughing/smiling in surprise that Fenlon hadn't let go, before a Galway coach lightly pushed Fenlon out of the way
    I might be wrong, and my lip-reading skills may not what they should be, but I think Fenlon said something of the lines of "I'm sick of the sight of ye!" and Connor laughed, was all good natured, and fair play to Fenlon for going around the the United players after the game and shaking their hand. Nothing in it
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

445 Posts
    Going to be a crazy week next week,Bray and Monaghan to have their biggest crowds in years, Hopefully the Saints to bring a big following to Sligo (i think we will) I wont be able to concentrate to much on the game because I will have an eye on my phone checking how Fingal are getting on (Come on UCD, If you win I will let you into my 16 team Premier) and then on Saturday night I think I will make the trip across the Liffey to watch the Shels game, This is what it is all about
    Here on a technicality.

Fantastic scences of joy but more so relief in the RSC last night! Athlone almost threw the cat amoung the piegons last night and to be fair to them the tried to play last night which totally suprised everyone including out players! Both goals were early christmas gifts from Sheamus Long who was terrible all night!

It was fantastic to see the heart and passion that a lot of our fans have questioned someof our players on last night in particular Liam Keaney whose desire was immense trying to rise the fans!

With the game delayed for 10 minutes Shels fans would of seen Waterford 1-2 Athlone at thier final whistle so I could only imagine the feelings when they found out thee was 10 minutes left and we won it!

What a showdown next weekend is and if Mervue can do us a favour tonight (More of a reason to with Salthills suprise win v Cork last night) then everything is to play for! Even the very very very very unlikely scenario of winning the league but goal difference would need a jesus like miracle for that to happen!

Gladly take a draw next week and Derry to win the league! We owe Mons a beating and I fancy us home or away in that!!

Model Club
    Putting aside any club rivalry's for a minute can I just say what a great little league we have here.Win lose or draw next week no-one can deny us the exicement of 2 leagues that no-one seems to want to win.

Poor,poor barstoolers.They don't know what they're missing!

2,770 Posts
    Im still gutted beyond belief. Even if we were to win the league next week it would not be a win or team that i would be proud of. Absolute useless bottlers the lot of them. As i said on here a couple of weeks ago, if any team can throw away the league from this point, this Bohs squad will. 1 point from 12 against Galway FFS. Questions must be asked of Fenlon this season. Wrong signings. Wrong selections. Wrong tactics. Rubbish.

Regarding the league - high on excitement, very low on quality. But infinitely more interesting than the Premiership.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

186 Posts
    Shams wanted the league more and they've got it, so good luck to them.

On a side note: Viva Cretero (every cloud has a silver lining).
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

100 Posts
    There'll be hundreds of Derry fans checking phones, websites, Aertel, etc. tonight desperately hoping that Mervue can do them some kind of favour, even though deep down they'll know it'll never happen. Football is cruel. Football is great.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Going to be a crazy week next week,Bray and Monaghan to have their biggest crowds in years, Hopefully the Saints to bring a big following to Sligo (i think we will) I wont be able to concentrate to much on the game because I will have an eye on my phone checking how Fingal are getting on (Come on UCD, If you win I will let you into my 16 team Premier) and then on Saturday night I think I will make the trip across the Liffey to watch the Shels game, This is what it is all about
    Should be a big home crowd for it aswell, cant wait.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Im still gutted beyond belief. Even if we were to win the league next week it would not be a win or team that i would be proud of. Absolute useless bottlers the lot of them. As i said on here a couple of weeks ago, if any team can throw away the league from this point, this Bohs squad will. 1 point from 12 against Galway FFS. Questions must be asked of Fenlon this season. Wrong signings. Wrong selections. Wrong tactics. Rubbish.

Regarding the league - high on excitement, very low on quality. But infinitely more interesting than the Premiership.
    I think yous were unlucky with the injuries, especially with the form Murphy is on. Otherwise you'd have had more variation off the bench late on. I actually thought Bohs played better yesterday than against Pat's but it wasn't to be.

It is odd to see the two potential champions looking so weak at this stage of the season. Nerves all-round.

Quote Originally Posted by Lamper.sffc View Post
    Nothing guaranteed in this league. Sligo should definitely put out their stongest side to make sure.
    And put your pathetic excuse for a club into Europe? No thanks.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Should be the new motto of the League used for marketing purposes
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by RoversInn View Post
    And put your pathetic excuse for a club into Europe? No thanks.
    No need for that.

433 Posts
    Mevue 1 up
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Page 8 of 16 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast