Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekend Latest 22-24 Oct

this season has more twists and turns than a country road, this is why we love the loi!!!

305 Posts
    Fingal were worth the 3 points tonight in Oriel tonight,Dundalk good in 1st half but without reward.Fingal scored with probaly their only chance of that half but both sides tried to play the ball on the deck although fingal seemed to be content sometmes to hoof it up to the big centre forward. Both sendings off were a joke! Gaynors more than O"briens.Finn finished us off with a well taken 2nd and despite the huffing & puffing from Dundalk in the later stages the result was never realy in question.

I forget who we play next another low key game i think???

Possible referee of the year Phil Caschera made us wear our white away jerseys tonight, because our bright blue jerseys clashed with the all black athlone kit
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Both sendings off were a joke! Gaynors more than O"briens.
    I thought O'Briens was just as bad. No way a red card.

Fingal could have had Williams sent off though. Two fouls each meritting a yellow after he was already booked.

Fourth game in a row that refs have destroyed a game with unnecessary red cards.

Fingal deserved the points as they could finish whereas Dundalk created lots of chances but were incapable of scoring.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GalwayRed View Post
    2-2 or 3-2 makes little difference except maybe for Waterfords confidence. Just delighted to be goin into the last day with things in our hands. Matthews deserves a lot of praise for the way he has turned things around.
    My phone died after the game and just got to charge it now. Well balls to them blas.
    It's on next week.
    Though I think I echo the sentiments of most of us here, but for all its' faults all that's wrong this has been an incredible season.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

89 Posts
    Shades of 1995 all over again for us.....

I'm just out of therapy for that one. Going to be a long week!
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Rovers may still lose the league thanks to their shocking record at Bray for years and Dundalk "not being interested", but Galway have gone above and beyond what anyone could ask of them. Heroism unrivalled throughout the season.

Good to see Drogs celebrating Bohs equaliser at 0-0 and then joining in the celebrations at 2-0 when they realised Bohs going bust would be good..

I'd say that's one hell of a dull long bus journey back from Galway..
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Just logged in for the first time in ages to reply to this(largely because of your username)...

YES IT IS, what a great league.

My Great Grandfather was Athlone Town's club secretary when they won the cup in 1924 but since my Grandad moved o Dublin we've always been Rovers' fans, gener\tion after generation deriving entertainment from this looney bin of a competition.
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

Above post was adressed to athloneman...
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

Fingal were worth the 3 points tonight in Oriel tonight,Dundalk good in 1st half but without reward.Fingal scored with probaly their only chance of that half but both sides tried to play the ball on the deck although fingal seemed to be content sometmes to hoof it up to the big centre forward. Both sendings off were a joke! Gaynors more than O"briens.Finn finished us off with a well taken 2nd and despite the huffing & puffing from Dundalk in the later stages the result was never realy in question.

I forget who we play next another low key game i think???
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    I thought O'Briens was just as bad. No way a red card.

Fingal could have had Williams sent off though. Two fouls each meritting a yellow after he was already booked.

Fourth game in a row that refs have destroyed a game with unnecessary red cards.

Fingal deserved the points as they could finish whereas Dundalk created lots of chances but were incapable of scoring.
    First off. What a joke the two sendings off where. We where right where the dundalk sending off was and it was never a red card. Gers was a yellow no doubt but never a red. I gues the ref felt the need to even things up.
    As for the game, I felt we where the more professional/clinical team. While dundalk caused us a lot of problems at times they couldnt finish. Our defense for once was great and Clarke in goal did brilliantly.

On a more negative note. Your player Maher pretending that conan tried to headbutt him after the Dundalk red card was a complete disgrace, plus the fact that two scumbags came into the away section squaring up to fingal fans looking for a fight while stewards looked on, was not a good thing

After all that, what a finish we are going to have to the season. I love this league. League title still up for grabs, Europe still up for grabs, Pats and Sligo to play each other on the last day. The first division still wide open. Feels good to be part of the LOI. What football is all about.
    Last edited by Lamper.sffc; 23/10/2010 at 1:24 AM.

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lamper.sffc View Post
    On a more negative note. Your player Maher pretending that conan tried to headbutt him after the Dundalk red card was a complete disgrace, plus the fact that two scumbags came into the away section squaring up to fingal fans looking for a fight while stewards looked on, was not a good thing
    TBH i didnt see the incident with Maher properly as it was on the op****ite side off the pitch from where i was standing but it did seem to go on a good while, so i will wait for MNS or our own video to judge that one.
    On the scumbag issue: it seems like these DICKS had an issue tonight,nobody has figured out yet who with?(some knacker ran on from the shedside,we know him and he is banned) but these guys will be named and shamed.The stewards involved shouldnt be let near a football ground again and i hope yous got loads of pics of them so that we can i.d these slackers??

They were probably Shamrock Rovers fans still rioting from the other night.

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    They were probably Shamrock Rovers fans still rioting from the other night.
    Negatory charlie,there wasnt an umbrella in sight and it was pishing rain for most of the night.

TBH i didnt see the incident with Maher properly as it was on the op****ite side off the pitch from where i was standing but it did seem to go on a good while, so i will wait for MNS or our own video to judge that one.
    On the scumbag issue: it seems like these DICKS had an issue tonight,nobody has figured out yet who with?(some knacker ran on from the shedside,we know him and he is banned) but these guys will be named and shamed.The stewards involved shouldnt be let near a football ground again and i hope yous got loads of pics of them so that we can i.d these slackers??
    Fair play lad. Nice to have a none biased honest opinion. When it comes to the maher incident we where 3 to 4 feet away from it and he pretended conan byrne head butted him (just for a second I might add). Now anybody who knows Conan (ucd fans) would know that conan would never be this kind of player. Its just not in his make up.

As for the DICKS as you so rightly put it. They entered the away section no problem. They had a bottle of beer (Glass) and where squaring up to our fans looking for a fight. They where allowed to do this for a while and nothing was done. Its not like there was a lot of us and they couldnt been seen. Eventually we had them removed but when it was mentioned to the stewards that they sould be banned, they said why?, sure in the end they did nothing. Now Im not one of those fans who like to sling mud at other clubs but that was not exceptable. This is the first time in 3 years since watching fingal iv experienced this type of fan and Iv been to most away grounds this year.

Negatory charlie,there wasnt an umbrella in sight and it was pishing rain for most of the night.
    Ah Jaysus, bullit, do you not know anything? Man without umbrella = Shamrock Rovers hooligan in disguise.

I'd be fairly confident in saying that at least 6 first team players will miss our game against Rovers next week. I'd expect a bit of bad press when that happens but we have a much bigger game a few days later and it's not as though the eventual runners up (whoever that may be) will be able to lay blame at our door, seeing as both clubs have had one hand on the trophy in recent weeks.

Here's hoping we can get a good number of fans going to Galway

61 Posts
    Fair play lad. Nice to have a none biased honest opinion. When it comes to the maher incident we where 3 to 4 feet away from it and he pretended conan byrne head butted him (just for a second I might add). Now anybody who knows Conan (ucd fans) would know that conan would never be this kind of player. Its just not in his make up.

As for the DICKS as you so rightly put it. They entered the away section no problem. They had a bottle of beer (Glass) and where squaring up to our fans looking for a fight. They where allowed to do this for a while and nothing was done. Its not like there was a lot of us and they couldnt been seen. Eventually we had them removed but when it was mentioned to the stewards that they sould be banned, they said why?, sure in the end they did nothing. Now Im not one of those fans who like to sling mud at other clubs but that was not exceptable. This is the first time in 3 years since watching fingal iv experienced this type of fan and Iv been to most away grounds this year.
    The answer the steward gave me was " Why should they be banned as they havent done anything" I then told him that he was too busy watching the match to notice anything, which he then said that he would throw me out. What was worse was that instead of throwing the 2 lads out, a female steward escorted them back round the far side with their glass bottles in hand.

305 Posts
    Numbers on coats lads,the steward i.d is on the coats. Mail the club with them and any photos.
    lads with agendas where in tonight,last home match of the season, and their mates barred etc.. and they will rot now with their buddies.
    mail :dlkfc@eircom.net
    Last edited by bullit; 23/10/2010 at 4:50 AM.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Classy as ever from Sean Connor
    What did he do?? That was some performance from our kids, don't know what it is about Bohs that seems to get them up for a game, pity they didn't show that desire in the last 5 weeks, if they had it would be UCD, and not us, facing Bray on Tuesday week. Bohs the better team, but couldn;t match us for desire or passion, which is a terrible thing for a team chasing the league title.
    A word too for Bohs, fair play, ye brought a massive crowd (shamefully for us, more than half of the attendance were Bohs fans) and created a great atmosphere, I can only dream of when my club will have a similar sized passionate support - hell, ye brought more fans last night than we had for our 2 cup games or one of the games with Sligo, which is shocking
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

62 Posts
    First off. What a joke the two sendings off where. We where right where the dundalk sending off was and it was never a red card. Gers was a yellow no doubt but never a red. I gues the ref felt the need to even things up.
    As for the game, I felt we where the more professional/clinical team. While dundalk caused us a lot of problems at times they couldnt finish. Our defense for once was great and Clarke in goal did brilliantly.

After all that, what a finish we are going to have to the season. I love this league. League title still up for grabs, Europe still up for grabs, Pats and Sligo to play each other on the last day. The first division still wide open. Feels good to be part of the LOI. What football is all about.
    Clarke was dodgey as hell, he flapped at eveything and even his kicking was atrocious. He even went as far as buckling himself off his own man near the end when there was absolutely no danger whatsoever.
    Last edited by Dillonman; 23/10/2010 at 8:31 AM.

Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast