Thread: City 0-1 Village People - my ratings

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    Come on mate, you're stretching here - the extract I quoted, as I said, more or less confirms exactly what I wrote.
    1. Sheridan, I'M streching it? you say I'm counting chances, yet you seize on one adjective...
    You are taking one comment form one report that says "Harsh on DC". You have said "Another one that got away", and
    "How could we dominate a game for 75+ minutes "
    And
    "most importantly, WTF was McKeon playing at? He made his intentions clear by booking Paul Crowley in the first minute for a desperately late but totally harmless challenge. He then went on to award every single 50/50 (or even 20/80) decision to Cork City. Having seen them almost take the lead (very much against the run of play) with one erroneously-awarded free that hit the post, he evidently decided it would be a lark to award them another (for no discernible reason) in the same position a few minutes later, from which they eventually scored off a rebound (Robbie should have reacted more quickly to both shots.) There's no obvious reason why he should have favoured Cork City so overwhelmingly, unless he's just a sadist who picks one team to p*ss off in each game he handles. This is the only possible explanation."

Now the unbiased report and Times report hardly back this up.

2. I'm not trying to get into an argument with you, I've often felt p*ssed off after games, but having a lash at CC and how poor they were doesn't change the fact that DC are a fairly poor side, who play fairly awful, negative football.
    We may not have played well last night, but it's enough to get a win.

3. It would be great to be still playing for something in September. You never know, if you play your games on a Friday, I might even contribute to Oily's fund and buy you a pint at the game !

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    1. Sheridan, I'M streching it? you say I'm counting chances, yet you seize on one adjective...
    You are taking one comment form one report that says "Harsh on DC". You have said "Another one that got away", and
    "How could we dominate a game for 75+ minutes "
    That one comment was essentially the writer's summary of the game as a whole, which I feel tallies with mine. I was mostly just joking about McKeon being a sadist etc, although I felt he was very poor and gave a lot of decisions Cork's way. Still, to paraphrase a half-remembered quote, never ascribe malice to what can easily be explained by incompetence.
    You never know, if you play your games on a Friday, I might even contribute to Oily's fund and buy you a pint at the game !
    Hehe, I'm not a drinker but unless circumstances intervene I'll hold you to that offer at the Cross in July

I was at the game and the simple fact of the matter is that although we didn't play great we were the better team and it was an easy win.
    Dublin City were very very poor and never seriously threatened.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    I was at the game and the simple fact of the matter is that although we didn't play great we were the better team and it was an easy win.
    Dublin City were very very poor and never seriously threatened.
    I think this may be the single most blinkered statement I have ever read. Yes, I think it is. Bravo, sir.

So how did you work that out then?
    Look, I don't care what you think. I didn't say were played well, I just said we were a lot better than ye. Seriously Sheridan, I pity you. How can you support Dublin City, that was soul destroying last night.... 250 people, no real home support, no passion from the fans. I used to feel sorry for UCD fans but at least there's a few of them and they have a few chants and they seem to have passion fro their club. Dublin City are not a real football club merely a franchise with no fans,very bad players and no team spirit or passion that nobody cares about and are an embarrassment to our great league.
    However, i'm sure you know all that yet you've still made the decision to be a DC fan and you're entitled to that decision without me or others trying to ridicule you. Just one question though, who did you support before DC? Were you are barstooler of did you have a previous club?
    Champions!

Look, I don't care what you think.
    Funny way of showing it.
    Dublin City are not a real football club merely a franchise with no fans,very bad players and no team spirit or passion that nobody cares about and are an embarrassment to our great league.
    Looks like we have to add breathtaking ignorance to the rap-sheet. It was team spirit and passion that got us here, and there's not one single player in the squad whom I could fault for effort. An embarrassment to our great league - funnily enough, that's more or less verbatim what goes through my mind everytime I see Pat Dolan making a fool of himself on TV.
    However, i'm sure you know all that yet you've still made the decision to be a DC fan and you're entitled to that decision without me or others trying to ridicule you. Just one question though, who did you support before DC? Were you are barstooler of did you have a previous club?
    Followed football without any specific affiliation for years, adopted DCFC because they're my local club and I believe we have potential. I don't agree with everything surrounding the club, but I'm more determined than ever to do my bit and make a go of it, just to ram it down some people's throats.

Any chance we could ease off a little on DCFC? We're a relatively young club ourselves.

The club in it's present form is relatively new, but to be fair, they've come into a 'market' that's pretty competitive. There are few enough EL fans in this country as it is, and with most of the clubs based in and around Dublin,. it was always bound to take them a while to build up a fan base, especially as it's there first year in the top flight.

They have to target people who've never been to an EL game before, chances are that anybody curious enough would take the trip to Tolka to see Shels instead.

As to the game on Thursday. Neither team played well, although I never felt threatened by DCFC, you had a few efforts on goal and could have snuck a draw. But by playing one up front you set out your stall early on that it was the draw you wanted.

While I thought you were very bad on thurs. I was quite impressed with you on the opening game, I thought 3-1 flattered us that day to be honest, and the win against Bohs show you can raise your game. If you can tighten up at the back (not to be cruel but I wasn't impressed with your keeper AT ALL) you're well capable of finishing above Pat's or Derry given their current form.

You're doing yourself no favours by letting half the ground in for free while charging 15yoyo to the rest though (personal gripe).

Funny way of showing it.

Looks like we have to add breathtaking ignorance to the rap-sheet. .
    Comments like that only take away from an otherwise good argument that you are making.
    On the team spirit and passion, I wasn't making an overall statement, just refering to the other night when I thought you lacked it big time.

Followed football without any specific affiliation for years, adopted DCFC because they're my local club and I believe we have potential. I don't agree with everything surrounding the club, but I'm more determined than ever to do my bit and make a go of it, just to ram it down some people's throats.
    That's fair enough. At least you didn't decide to support Ollie Byrne's bunch of thugs.

Oh and just to settle it once and for all, your own manager John Gill was quoted in the Echo as saying that Cork City were the better team and deserved to win the game.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Any chance we could ease off a little on DCFC? We're a relatively young club ourselves.
    Indeed. The "franchise" argument amuses me, since Cork is the most active "franchise" in the league. Also, the people who make that argument are generally those who say we "need more teams from x or y" - the very essence of franchise thinking. Not having a go, just pointing that out.
    You're doing yourself no favours by letting half the ground in for free while charging 15yoyo to the rest though (personal gripe).
    Absolutely. There's no way any wavering, non-committed fan is going to drop by casually for that price. Our jersey has sold so well because it's high quality and dirt-cheap, I reckon we should follow that example with our admission prices. Maybe even as low at eight euro.

That's fair enough. At least you didn't decide to support Ollie Byrne's bunch of thugs.

Oh and just to settle it once and for all, your own manager John Gill was quoted in the Echo as saying that Cork City were the better team and deserved to win the game.
    Hehe, well every single account I heard/read in the media said otherwise, maybe Giller's just trying to stop us feeling sorry for ourselves.

Apologies if I came across a little forcefully, I'm just sick and tired of the constant jibes and sneering. It's a cumulative thing, sometimes I get pushed over the edge.

So how did you work that out then?
    Look, I don't care what you think. I didn't say were played well, I just said we were a lot better than ye. Seriously Sheridan, I pity you. How can you support Dublin City, that was soul destroying last night.... 250 people, no real home support, no passion from the fans. I used to feel sorry for UCD fans but at least there's a few of them and they have a few chants and they seem to have passion fro their club. Dublin City are not a real football club merely a franchise with no fans,very bad players and no team spirit or passion that nobody cares about and are an embarrassment to our great league.

I remember when city drew tiny crowds. So, just because in the last few years thats changed we shouldnt get all uppidity. I say fair play to the dublin city fans for supporting their club. hopefully you can build on that support. Even if he was a barstoooler, so what? He got off his ass and supported his local club. Isnt that what we all want?

People give out about shels and their support but imo it has grown in the last few years and i hope it will continue to do so. Hopefully dublin city and all LOI clubs will continue to grow their support in the future.
    We won, hes entitled to his opinion and i dont feel pity for him just admiration (Jeez i sound like PAT DOLAN )

hope to latch on to the Dublin GAA concept.
    Just like Dolan and Lennox are trying to do with CC and their "Rebel Army" tripe!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    Just like Dolan and Lennox are trying to do with CC and their "Rebel Army" tripe!!!!
    most of us take that with two pinches of salt to be honest

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    Wouldn't you know it....
    The thread doesn't exist that cannot be dragged down even lower by an idiotic intervention from some Mossie...

As a DCFC fan, and a new follower of the EL I can see why Sheridan is getting wound up. As a fan of this club, who have only been around for 3 years, you can expect numerous cheap shots from many angles.
    But the one that grates in the "no fans" "not a real club" attitude.
    For one, telling the fans of a club that they have no fans is a misnomer and is a pointless arguement. Every club has to build a fanbase, and that takes time and effort, which is being currently being put in.
    Then on the other hand, most of these same people recognise the fact that every EL club needs, and would welcome new fans, to convert the barstoolers, and that is exactly what Dublin City is trying to do.

But as we all know that's an uphill struggle, and may or may not work in the long term. But chiding the people who have already committed to an EL club and gotten off their ass and to their local ground isn't productive at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Maynard
    chiding the people who have already committed to an EL club and gotten off their ass and to their local ground isn't productive at all.

agree completely, we complain about barstoolers too much to be so negative about those who do turn up to El games.

But as we all know that's an uphill struggle, and may or may not work in the long term. But chiding the people who have already committed to an EL club and gotten off their ass and to their local ground isn't productive at all.
    Still don't expect to make many friends in the Premier. UCD were bashed for years but looks like only rid of them for 1 season so now its your turn.

I won't knock anyone for supporting their team but I still don't see the point of Home Farm. Maybe if ye moved out to the burbs could build some sort of fan base but Tolka is the worst possible location for ye.

But chiding the people who have already committed to an EL club and gotten off their ass and to their local ground isn't productive at all.
    maybe I haven't made myself clear enough on that. obviously its better that you guys ARE supporting the league, and fair play. I just intensely dislike your club and see no reason for its existence. No quarrel with the fans- as you say, at least you've got off your asses

Every club has to build a fanbase, and that takes time and effort, which is being currently being put in.
    I don't think ye'll ever have much of a fan base though. Ye're in the same situation UCD have been in for years. Why would anyone living in Dublin choose to support Dublin City ahead of a real football club with success and tradition like Bohs or Rovers.
    Champions!

I Why would anyone living in Dublin choose to support Dublin City ahead of a real football club with success and tradition like Bohs or Rovers.
    a sence of humour's great