Thread: Beach Rules....

It's illegal for deffo. I think it was last week there was a case in the Echo were some girl was fined 180 euros (or around that) for drinking in public and refusing to throw it away....

conor i think they all brought it in under political pressure from the top
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    conor i think they all brought it in under political pressure from the top

It matters little if they did or not.
    Ballycotton is under the remit of Cork County Council and they have ruled against the consumption of alcohol in public areas. Therefore with regard to the original question posed in this thread, yes it is illegal.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    ...in areas under the remit of Cork County Council...
    Very good Conor. Places such as Ballycotton Beach and adjacent beaches.

The drinking in public act is designed with populated areas/places in mind, i.e. streets, towns etc, or where there would be lots of other people present. If you're having a small private get together in the middle of no where, and having a few cans to boot, it is highly unlikely that this act will be envoked on you, should you bump into the cops. If you're having a private get together on a remote beach, and there is no public presence there except yourselves, you're grand. However, if you are visible and accessable to the public, and are a possible public nuisance, then it does apply.

As I said earlier, the party would have to be well away from resedential areas and public view, otherwise there's no point.

sorry 4tothefloor, but its only a private property if its on private property,if your on public property that the laws of the land apply.....thats the simple truth of the matter.

no matter what type of a kill joy you think i or others are, if you do something in a public place then it is open to all and you can not ask people to move away as its your private party....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    sorry 4tothefloor, but its only a private property if its on private property,if your on public property that the laws of the land apply.....thats the simple truth of the matter.

no matter what type of a kill joy you think i or others are, if you do something in a public place then it is open to all and you can not ask people to move away as its your private party....
    FFS Max I know that, I'm not arguing against that. Why do you have to be so pedantic? I said you should be grand, meaning alright/should get away with it/chances are no one will come near you anyway. Jesus man, you have to most literal reading of things that I have ever come across. A party in the middle of nowhere, on a remote beach - what member of the public is going to stumble across that? What garda patrol car is going to be patroling a beach. Less PC and pedantism, and (just) a little bit more realism wouldn't go a stray here.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    What garda patrol car is going to be patroling a beach.

Ya Gardai never patrol beaches cause they'd never have the common sense to think that people might be having illegal parties there, driving recklessly in stolen cars, dealing drugs etc on beaches.

It is illegal to dink on beaches. Playing loud music on a beach at night time is illegal so inevitably if you do end up having a party on the beach it is going to get broken up by the Gardai.

As for the whole issue about people getting injured and making claims against the organisers, it may not be ur friends that get injured. A stranger walks into the party, gets injured and says thank you very much while cleaning out ur bank account!!!

I'd advise a different option if you are playing a big party

[QUOTE=Eric] inevitably if you do end up having a party on the beach it is going to get broken up by the Gardai.[QUOTE]

I've been at 4/5, and none of them were broken up....shock, horror

Quote Originally Posted by Eric
    As for the whole issue about people getting injured and making claims against the organisers, it may not be ur friends that get injured. A stranger walks into the party, gets injured and says thank you very much while cleaning out ur bank account!!!
    Another worst case scenario merchant. Who are these mysterious random strangers, going around claiming money off people who have parties on beaches? You know what, I might get in on the act myself, earn a few bob!

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Less PC and pedantism
    pedantry!

sorry 4tothefloor but you seem to be greatly outnumbered here, its a public place so all that was mentioned can happen and sometimes does

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    pedantry!
    Thanks Schumi! Although you can 'ism' anything really, I knew it wasn't pedantism...

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Either way I suspect noone from this board will be invited.
    Damn you Conor......I reckon I would have been invited

Its only a bylaw in the City. It aint illegal to drink in public in the county at all. There'd be no sense to it. I is from the county and you can definitely sup away in public at your own pace. What with the festivals and all shur.

Hey guys,

For those of you who argued about this, we had our beach party this weekend. About 30 people, 8 tents, had a bonfire, singsong, cans. Friday night went without any trouble. Got visited by six guards about one in the morning Saturday night then.

They basically asked who we were. Checked some of the babyface ones for ID. Had a search of some dodgy looking ones for drugs, took two peoples details and said if a mess was made those two would be contacted for litter charges. Said have a good night and off they went.

Fantastic weekend, which brings me to my next point. Anyone got any good cures for sunburn. Somebody suggested natural yoghurt but I tried it this morning and it stinks really bad.
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Those Gardai were a disgrace. They should have arrested the whole party and fined ye on the spot. So much for yer "Oh you can't drink in public at all...it's illegal"

Told you you'd be grand if you were cute about it Shedite, and at least the gardai used realism in their handling of the situation, as would be expected if you were behaving yerselves, which ye were.

No, that was an arguement put forward towards the end of the thread, but shot down by most who said public drinking was illegal full stop. Just shows what some people actually know on here. Not mentioning any names..... cough (MAX POWER)......cough
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 25/05/2004 at 11:43 PM.