Page 17 of 23 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup semis

Yet again this rubbish about "admit you have an element". Who has said Rovers don't?

However, I will not let go by that Pats threw the first bottle, ran on the pitch, enticed Rovers up to behind the goal and ran at them first and failed to police that end at the end of the game. And if you don't like that or want to focus solely on Rovers then don't expect Rovers fans to put up with it.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Model Club View Post
    I know for a fact people will be banned.Even if the club were in cahoots with hooligans as our friends in D7 will lead you to believe, and were willing to turn a blind eye the cops in Tallaght wouldn't.
    Thats good to hear, The club can't do much more than ban these people from games
    Here on a technicality.

Model Club
    I was at every away game that year and saw nothing of note in Mels.A massive crowd by first division standards and absolutely nothing negative.
    There was no segregation though.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    enticed Rovers up to behind the goal
    Enticed them with umbrellas and ice cream?

No, a signed photo of Jedward
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

there was segregation that day in mels, as most athlone fans were told to go up on the hill behind the goal!! you prob didnt see anything of note because as i said there were a small number of fools who tried giving it the big act but for once the guards acted and got rid of them!! and the rovers fans were told to go down to the far end of the stand and there were barriers in the stand that day to help separate the home and away fans!! i did also see young kids, mainly home fans that nite look fairly scared when the went to the shop near half time and a number of rovers fans came down around them, although they did seem to be just stupid teenagers as i said giving it the big act!!

43 Posts
    As predicted this thread has taken it's usual pattern when any sort of incident happens with Rovers. The fact is most of you wet yourselves with excitement when something like this happens with Rovers. It was a pitch invasion ffs, no injuries, no arrests, no crimes committed just pathetic posturing and bottle throwing. I've no time for the morons who got on the pitch especially those who crossed the halfway line to have a go at the Pats fans but you'd swear there was women and childen mutilated by Rovers fans the way some of you are carrying on. 17 pages of utter shíte yet as pointed out previously a thread about Bohs fans who actually brain damaged an old woman and got convicted in a european court got 2 pages on this forum. Unbelievable hypocrisy especially as the fan convicted was in Dalymount Park for the Dublin derby two weeks ago. Another thing pointed out that doesn't seem to register with all the Rovers haters here is Pats fans for years used to get on the pitch and fúck all sorts of crap at us after EVERY match in Richer. Not a word out of any of you then was there.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HulaHoop View Post
    As predicted this thread has taken it's usual pattern when any sort of incident happens with Rovers. The fact is most of you wet yourselves with excitement when something like this happens with Rovers.
    its true, i definitely had more than an FAI Cup semi.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

305 Posts
    In all fairness i have to say that the last game, Dundalk V Sham Rovers(the 5-1) at Oriel was perfectly policed by both the gards and stewards.Up to ten Shams stewards(along with our own) in their own stewarding garb present at the home turnstiles,couldnt see down the away end turnstiles but i would guess more or the same ammount down that end and also in the ground.Apparently several Rovers "fans" where not admitted(or were arrested) that night due to the presence of these stewards.The game passed off with no trouble(one shams fan jumped from the stand and was quickly led away and a few fireworks were thrown from the away end).
    Thats the way it should be done but whether it happened that way on tues night i dont know and if it didnt i dont know why

176 Posts
    Mother Teresa Alert!!

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest
    On the incidents after the game, I really hate to see stuff like that, as a resident of Tallaght and a season ticket holder this year it's this kind of incident that really puts me off Rovers. They have plenty of great supporters but there's an element of scum that bring the whole crowd down, I do feel like there's also some reluctance to get rid of them as some of them are seen as a part of the "hardcore" club support who were there through the bad times. If the club really wants to be a community club and to continue to attract the young families of Tallaght they are going to have to be ruthless with banning orders and removing the trouble makers from the following.
    None of the incidents involving our fans happen in Tallaght.* They always happen at away grounds, where the security operation is either OTT or inadequate.

The club does take action against individuals identified, but said individuals don't give a sht, and if anything, see it as a badge of honour. ("here Deco, look at me ban I got, hehehe") We are the biggest club in the country that bring the biggest gates, and most fans behave themselves exemplary, but as with other big clubs around the world, there will always be an element that go to games with more interest in the opposition fans than the football.

I was first exposed to this going on in 1993, and it's something that I have to live with. If I couldn't accept it, I'd probably be watching a more family-friendly sport. As much as it's difficult having to live with it, it's a relatively rare occurrence these days and it's not going to put me off supporting Rovers.

*one drunk loon excepted.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

31 Posts
    Was never a sending off!

415 Posts
    I can't believe that no one has mentioned what ye did to that poor wall in Bray.....!

I have to say that in all my time of going to LOI matches I've never seen any trouble at games I've gone to but the scenes from Dundalk earlier on in the season weren't good at all and surely the blame has to lie more with the fans then with the stewards.

Haven't seen what happened on Tuesday so won't comment on that

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    I can't believe that no one has mentioned what ye did to that poor wall in Bray.....!

I have to say that in all my time of going to LOI matches I've never seen any trouble at games I've gone to but the scenes from Dundalk earlier on in the season weren't good at all and surely the blame has to lie more with the fans then with the stewards.

Haven't seen what happened on Tuesday so won't comment on that
    Of course it does. If fans really want to act the ****** there is very little the stewards can do about it no matter what our chums in Tallaght will have you believe. Earlier in the season when they embarrassed themselves on live TV (not the 5-1 loss, the first occasion) they blamed a fence, yes a fence for their carry on in Dundalk. This wouldn't happen in Tallaght they said. I thought back to our previous trip to Tallaght and it was a piece of tape and about 3 stewards separating the fans. I honestly believe the wannabe hard men at other clubs sh!t their pants when they go to Tallaght as they know they'll get a hiding if they start anything and that is the main for the lack of trouble at Tallaght.

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by athloneman View Post
    there was segregation that day in mels, as most athlone fans were told to go up on the hill behind the goal!! you prob didnt see anything of note because as i said there were a small number of fools who tried giving it the big act but for once the guards acted and got rid of them!! and the rovers fans were told to go down to the far end of the stand and there were barriers in the stand that day to help separate the home and away fans!! i did also see young kids, mainly home fans that nite look fairly scared when the went to the shop near half time and a number of rovers fans came down around them, although they did seem to be just stupid teenagers as i said giving it the big act!!
    I'm not looking for a row with you and can't comment on posturing teenagers but the "segregation" in both trips to Mels that year consisted of Rovers fans having to walk through home fans to get to our assigned area-Hardly segregation! Designated areas maybe but no seperate entrance/exit most likely due to Mels layout.
    A healthy crowd from both sides both nights I'm sure led to a better atmosphere than most otgher games there that year but nothing I would regard as sinister.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Mother Teresa Alert!!

None of the incidents involving our fans happen in Tallaght.* They always happen at away grounds, where the security operation is either OTT or inadequate.

The club does take action against individuals identified, but said individuals don't give a sht, and if anything, see it as a badge of honour. ("here Deco, look at me ban I got, hehehe") We are the biggest club in the country that bring the biggest gates, and most fans behave themselves exemplary, but as with other big clubs around the world, there will always be an element that go to games with more interest in the opposition fans than the football.

I was first exposed to this going on in 1993, and it's something that I have to live with. If I couldn't accept it, I'd probably be watching a more family-friendly sport. As much as it's difficult having to live with it, it's a relatively rare occurrence these days and it's not going to put me off supporting Rovers.

*one drunk loon excepted.
    For once I mostly agree with you, but I think I can see the damage that's done a lot more clearly than you. I started going to Tallaght beacuse I have an interest in the League rather than to support Rovers, it's my local club and it's easy for me to get to games, this is my second season with a season ticket and while I obviously support Rovers at the games I can't quite seem to get fully behind them.

I actually cringe a bit when people call me a Rovers fan and I feel it's connected to these recurrent incidents. I have a lot of mates who would rarely darken the door of a League of Irealnd ground and when I defend Rovers and tell them that the "trouble" at games is generally easily avoidable or mostly handbags and media hyperbole it doesn't really make a difference, they just see the headlines in the papers and come out with the usual crap about Rovers scum.

I've been tempted to go to a few Rovers away games but I am put off by incidents like those in Dundalk and Inchicore. I came in to work the other day to an email asking me was I involved in the "trouble" in Inchicore, and that's not something I really want to be associated with (even if it does make me Mother Theresa).

I know it's not particularly rational, I'm more aware than most curious observers of the fact that "hooliganism" in the League of Ireland is a greatly exaggerated phenomenon, but I can't help feeling that if it's still putting me off then it's definitely putting off a lot of potential supporters who are less clued in to these things.

I greatly admire a lot of what Shamrock Rovers has done, and is doing, within the Tallaght and wider South Dublin community but I do feel the club has to do more to weed out the neanderthals that continue to drag the name through the mud. I realise it's not easy and the bigger the crowds get the more potential there is for individual morons to start incidents but it needs to be done. I'm not talking about sterilisation of the atmoshpere either, just tighter controls on the lunatic fringe.

I don't know, maybe that just says more about me.
    Last edited by passinginterest; 22/10/2010 at 9:23 AM.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Of course it does. If fans really want to act the ****** there is very little the stewards can do about it no matter what our chums in Tallaght will have you believe. Earlier in the season when they embarrassed themselves on live TV (not the 5-1 loss, the first occasion) they blamed a fence, yes a fence for their carry on in Dundalk. This wouldn't happen in Tallaght they said. I thought back to our previous trip to Tallaght and it was a piece of tape and about 3 stewards separating the fans. I honestly believe the wannabe hard men at other clubs sh!t their pants when they go to Tallaght as they know they'll get a hiding if they start anything and that is the main for the lack of trouble at Tallaght.
    A decent away support from opponents(bar Pats and Bohs obviously) is most likely another huge factor.Away support this season has been a disgrace even compared to last year as the LOI's eqivalent of event junkies ticked their visit to the shiny new stadium in Tallaght of their "been to" list and sat at home on friday nights updating livescores.

On your fence issue L4S,If Rovers are the scum most LOI people think they are then why use a fence so easy to knock over as a segregation tool-effectivley giving those fans a weapon?The fact that a proper gate with bolts etc was put in place for our next visit proves my point that shody security measures will make an unsavoury incident much worse.

No-one bar faceless clowns on message boards can blame a fence for what happened that night but had Dundalk had the gate they now have in place on the night in question those who broke through the fence would have simply hurt their toes on a proper barrier and we wouldn't be discussing this now.

Of course those blinkered with pie in the sky cures for Rovers "issues" will accuse me of deflecting issues or blaming everyone but Rovers,but I am intelligent enough to realise that had the fence not been charged for whatever reason that night it wouldn't have fallen,leading to dermot ahernes wet dream but unfortunelaly that proper segregation tool only exists now!
    -In fact such a poor barrier makes a mockery of the security measures that cost so much in both time and money.Clubs meeting each other,stewards,gardai,searches,helicopter,dogs,hor ses,Riot cops,intelligence officers-All brilliant at preventing fans mixing ................and then a fence designed to keep children getting hit by the aer lingus float in the Paddy's day parade is the last line of defence.

If Rovers fans are such experts at making children cry then do the simple thing and ban us from entering your ground-but you won't because even with all the security measures in place were still worth the effort and hassle!

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    For once I mostly agree with you, but I think I can see the damage that's done a lot more clearly than you. I started going to Tallaght beacuse I have an interest in the League rather than to support Rovers, it's my local club and it's easy for me to get to games, this is my second season with a season ticket and while I obviously support Rovers at the games I can't quite seem to get fully behind them.

I actually cringe a bit when people call me a Rovers fan and I feel it's connected to these recurrent incidents. I have a lot of mates who would rarely darken the door of a League of Irealnd ground and when I defend Rovers and tell them that the "trouble" at games is generally easily avoidable or mostly handbags and media hyperbole it doesn't really make a difference, they just see the headlines in the papers and come out with the usual crap about Rovers scum.

I've been tempted to go to a few Rovers away games but I am but off by incidents like those in Dundalk and Inchicore. I came in to work the other day to an email asking me was I involved in the "trouble" in Inchicore, and that's not something I really want to be associated with (even if it does make me Mother Theresa).

I know it's not particularly rational, I'm more aware than most curious observers of the fact that "hooliganism" in the League of Ireland is a greatly exaggerated phenomenon, but I can't help feeling that if it's still putting me off then it's definitely putting off a lot of potential supporters who are less clued in to these things.

I greatly admire a lot of what Shamrock Rovers has done, and is doing, within the Tallaght and wider South Dublin community but I do feel the club has to do more to weed out the neanderthals that continue to drag the name through the mud. I realise it's not easy and the bigger the crowds get the more potential there is for individual morons to start incidents but it needs to be done. I'm not talking about sterilisation of the atmoshpere either, just tighter controls on the lunatic fringe.

A funny post that I can't get my head around.If supporting a club makes you cringe then don't support that club!

Then you say you understand the over the top reaction to loi crowd problems but then fall into the tabloid trap of allowing this hyperbole to stop you going to away games.
    Mypost has most likely attened a 500 Rovers away games in his time and not given or recieved a dig.Other Rovers fans don't have this record as they choose not to.My point being if you want trouble you'll find-If you don't you wont.

FFS little girls attend Rovers away matches-All of them.Something tells me a grown resident of Tallaght will be ok!

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    I know that Model Club, it's pretty much the point I'm trying to make. I know it shouldn't put me off, I know it's ridiculous, but there's still something in the back of my mind, I can't really get my head around it myself. I most likely will become more comfortable with supporting the club and I must likely will start to go to away games but for the moment I still feel slightly uncomfortable with the whole thing. I'm just trying to illustrate how damaging these minor incidents can be.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Model Club View Post
    A decent away support from opponents(bar Pats and Bohs obviously) is most likely another huge factor.Away support this season has been a disgrace even compared to last year as the LOI's eqivalent of event junkies ticked their visit to the shiny new stadium in Tallaght of their "been to" list and sat at home on friday nights updating livescores.

On your fence issue L4S,If Rovers are the scum most LOI people think they are then why use a fence so easy to knock over as a segregation tool-effectivley giving those fans a weapon?The fact that a proper gate with bolts etc was put in place for our next visit proves my point that shody security measures will make an unsavoury incident much worse.

No-one bar faceless clowns on message boards can blame a fence for what happened that night but had Dundalk had the gate they now have in place on the night in question those who broke through the fence would have simply hurt their toes on a proper barrier and we wouldn't be discussing this now.

Of course those blinkered with pie in the sky cures for Rovers "issues" will accuse me of deflecting issues or blaming everyone but Rovers,but I am intelligent enough to realise that had the fence not been charged for whatever reason that night it wouldn't have fallen,leading to dermot ahernes wet dream but unfortunelaly that proper segregation tool only exists now!
    -In fact such a poor barrier makes a mockery of the security measures that cost so much in both time and money.Clubs meeting each other,stewards,gardai,searches,helicopter,dogs,hor ses,Riot cops,intelligence officers-All brilliant at preventing fans mixing ................and then a fence designed to keep children getting hit by the aer lingus float in the Paddy's day parade is the last line of defence.

If Rovers fans are such experts at making children cry then do the simple thing and ban us from entering your ground-but you won't because even with all the security measures in place were still worth the effort and hassle!
    Of course you are worth the effort and hassle and no matter what anybody says nearly all fans from other clubs look forward to playing rovers than anyone else. Proper segregation tool? Is a piece of tape a better segregation tool than a tie-wrapped fence? This was all that was in place in Tallaght. Are you really suggesting that Rovers fans need to be fenced in? No ground in Ireland has steal fences between fans so these grounds are all at fault if Rovers fans do the same thing again?

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I know that Model Club, it's pretty much the point I'm trying to make. I know it shouldn't put me off, I know it's ridiculous, but there's still something in the back of my mind, I can't really get my head around it myself. I most likely will become more comfortable with supporting the club and I must likely will start to go to away games but for the moment I still feel slightly uncomfortable with the whole thing. I'm just trying to illustrate how damaging these minor incidents can be.

I'll pick you up in Tallaght next friday and bring you to bray and back if you want.Can't guarantee any trouble ...................................unless we don't win the league

Page 17 of 23 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast