Page 14 of 23 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup semis

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Anyway, all im saying is quit burying your heads in the sand as a club, quit denying there is a problem and take a stand against the scumbags.
    In fairness, that's not just a Rovers problem. That's a problem throughout the league, and indeed throughout football. We've all asked Bohs fans the exact same thing for years (for "scumbags", read "the two Gerries"). Most fans are like that, unfortunately.

(That's not to justify the club not taking any action against them; that's just to point out the way football fans are)

61 Posts
    Handing out bans is one thing but how can they enforce them? There is nothing stopping them getting a ticket and a steward on a gate wont know who is banned or not. There is nothing stopping them going to away games either .

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Handing out bans is one thing but how can they enforce them? There is nothing stopping them getting a ticket and a steward on a gate wont know who is banned or not. There is nothing stopping them going to away games either .
    When Cork came to Limerick for the first time this season, they had a 'spotter' with them who identified troublemakers among the Cork fans, who were refused entry by the Limerick officials. It's possible to do it if the will is there.

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Model Club View Post
    .......because you say so?

Ill make my own my own mind up thanks.

Its a knife wielding thug now is it?

Sensationalist bull usually ruins any chance of a proper discussion on here with agendas from both sides spiralling out of control and the facts getting lost among the vitriol-Thanks for adding yours!
    Quoting that one part of the post really says it all.
    Now I never once claimed that those lads who were bottling him and his shop had a knife, what I clearly said was the reason why he was stopping some of your fans getting into the shop was because last season some of your fans were robbing drink from the shop and one of them pulled a knife on him, hence why he was acting like a bouncer on the door of his shop, not very complex stuff, even for a mind like yours.
    All this is fact and can be confirmed by your average punter in Mooneys when your down next, believe me there is actually no need to make up slander about your fans, they do all the hard work themselves.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin
    Now I never once claimed that those lads who were bottling him and his shop had a knife, what I clearly said was the reason why he was stopping some of your fans getting into the shop was because......
    Let
    it
    go
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Not wishing to rub it in at all and recognising that we have an element too on occasion (though i dont think it is anywhere near the size of yours) and are by no means perfectly behaved, we have a pretty good record of banning known troublemakers from Dalymount and going to reasonable lengths to make sure that they didnt get in to away grounds too.

Anyway, all im saying is quit burying your heads in the sand as a club, quit denying there is a problem and take a stand against the scumbags.
    To be fair, that's only because yous only have 1000 fans I'm sure the Salthill Devon lunatic fringe is smaller still.

(Sorry )

Still, as they say, there's no such thing as bad publicity. It's good to see that the trouble has brought a surge of interest and expert comment on domestic football:

A Gary Turner goal in the 70th minute of a tense cup tie had seen Rovers through to their first FAI Cup final since 1992
    Link

From the Herald:
    The Rovers fan that led the charge was able to get into the game with an umbrella
    That should have set off alarm bells - why would anyone be carrying an umbrella in October in Ireland?

And Rte tells us that:
    fans engaged in taunting

NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

"Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    Quoting that one part of the post really says it all.
    Now I never once claimed that those lads who were bottling him and his shop had a knife, what I clearly said was the reason why he was stopping some of your fans getting into the shop was because last season some of your fans were robbing drink from the shop and one of them pulled a knife on him, hence why he was acting like a bouncer on the door of his shop, not very complex stuff, even for a mind like yours.
    All this is fact and can be confirmed by your average punter in Mooneys when your down next, believe me there is actually no need to make up slander about your fans, they do all the hard work themselves.
    Seriously,take myposts advice,let it go.

If someone pulled a knife in that area on that night then he would have been aprehended-Just as one who actually did rob beer was as there was plenty of Gards in that immediate area!
    But in the real world no knife was pulled and no-one got arrested because it didn't happen although I'm sure the local dipsos in mooneys will disagree,but then I don't really care what they think.

I know if I had a shop that had been invaded by hoardes of knife wielding theives on previous occasions I'd close for ythe 2 hours or so or at the very least vett those entering-But again I live in the real world and not rasputin-land.

I was actually embarrassed for the two lads with the umbrellas.
    The most shamefully inept display of 'hooliganism for dummies' I have ever seen.
    Then they ran away from the woman who came on the pitch after them.

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    I was actually embarrassed for the two lads with the umbrellas.
    The most shamefully inept display of 'hooliganism for dummies' I have ever seen.
    Then they ran away from the woman who came on the pitch after them.
    With respect as I do agree with your first point,what did you expect them to do? Hit her?

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Model Club
    Seriously,take myposts advice,let it go.

If someone pulled a knife in that area on that night then he would have been aprehended-Just as one who actually did rob beer was as there was plenty of Gards in that immediate area!
    But in the real world no knife was pulled and no-one got arrested because it didn't happen although I'm sure the local dipsos in mooneys will disagree,but then I don't really care what they think.
    As you know, there is never ever ever any public disorder, muggings, stabbings, or other crime in Sligo, as Shamrock Rovers visiting is the major event in Sligo twice a year, and every sneeze during said visit needs reporting and stored for future reference.

Why would he/they let it go?
    Last edited by mypost; 20/10/2010 at 8:51 PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

445 Posts
    End of the day, The clubs will both get fines and they should ban as many as they can that were on this pitch, If this does not happen then both clubs have a lot to answer to

On the Rovers fans being on the pitch i actually have no problem with that, they had just won a cup semi final of course some were going to get on, I would have been on the pitch if we had won, Its what they and Pats fans did when they got on the pitch that was the problem, Guards should have been there to stop anyone getting on and not standing outside in full riot gear leaning up against a wall like morons
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by Model Club View Post
    With respect as I do agree with your first point,what did you expect them to do? Hit her?
    Eh........no.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Where's Réiteoir when you need him..
    Not to worry, I'm still around these parts - although less and less frequently nowadays thanks to the amount of drivel and ****e posted on here...

I'm dipping in and out past few days - been catching up on my drinking and outside life (as it were) - doesn't concern me directly, so I'll leave it to between the Pats lads and yourselves...

The important stuff resumes on Friday coming
    Kom Igen, FCK...

No panic, SkStu filled in.

In case it saves you some time, read post 144 and that Rovers won 1-0. The rest is likely bluster from both sides that is best spent drinking.
    Last edited by dfx-; 21/10/2010 at 2:08 AM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

21. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    As you know, there is never ever ever any public disorder, muggings, stabbings, or other crime in Sligo, as Shamrock Rovers visiting is the major event in Sligo twice a year, and every sneeze during said visit needs reporting and stored for future reference.

Why would he/they let it go?
    You lads are obsessed with sligo, what is it?

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    Eh........no.

as I don't have the right to start a new topic myself I'll tag this on here. how many can we expect at the final. in landsdowne you have 20 000 on the top and bottom tiers and then 10 000 in the middle tier. Recently the finals have been between 8 000 and 25 000. the bray sint francis was the first in landsdowne and it bought out 30 000....my mad prediction is 25 000 with the top tier closed off and some talented camera work to show a ''full'' stadium........ another option is of course that they close off the side opposite the cameras which will give another negative image of teh league.......what about a really cheap pricing policy of 1 euro a ticket to sell it out and celebrate the first final

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by frenchman View Post
    as I don't have the right to start a new topic myself I'll tag this on here. how many can we expect at the final. in landsdowne you have 20 000 on the top and bottom tiers and then 10 000 in the middle tier. Recently the finals have been between 8 000 and 25 000. the bray sint francis was the first in landsdowne and it bought out 30 000....my mad prediction is 25 000 with the top tier closed off and some talented camera work to show a ''full'' stadium........ another option is of course that they close off the side opposite the cameras which will give another negative image of teh league.......what about a really cheap pricing policy of 1 euro a ticket to sell it out and celebrate the first final
    Its the FAI so tickets will be €50 and the only place open will be the top tier on the side of the cameras
    Here on a technicality.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    According to my next door neighbour, who said he phoned the FAI and asked, tickets for the final will be €10 adult €5 concession. FAI obviously hoping the low price will attract a few more neutrals.

On the incidents after the game, I really hate to see stuff like that, as a resident of Tallaght and a season ticket holder this year it's this kind of incident that really puts me off Rovers. They have plenty of great supporters but there's an element of scum that bring the whole crowd down, I do feel like there's also some reluctance to get rid of them as some of them are seen as a part of the "hardcore" club support who were there through the bad times. If the club really wants to be a community club and to continue to attract the young families of Tallaght they are going to have to be ruthless with banning orders and removing the trouble makers from the following.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Page 14 of 23 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast