Or two hundred in Shams case

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Post 223

It takes two to tango.
    there was a rovers fan on the pitch at the same time, because the youngfella in white top kicked out at him,

if he wasnt on the pitch either, then the bloke in white gets fooked off the pitch or gets arrested. now if rovers didnt come onto the pitch to "celebrate", i dont know why you feel to celebrate on the pitch, then last nite wouldnt have happened imo.

fair play to davey mac and danny north who came over and applauded the pats fans throughout all that

176 Posts
    When hoodie climbed over the fence, there were no Hoops on the pitch until he got to the halfway line. I did check. I don't go on pitches to celebrate anything, don't see the point, but it's the sport culture to do it in this country, and our fans won't be the last to do it either. The trouble with pitch invasions, is that someone won't stop at merely celebrating. And when that happens, all hell breaks loose.

But there has been numerous incidents at this fixture in that ground, going back at least 10 years. First it was stones, then it was stabs, now it's bottles and umbrellas. The stewarding is, and always has been a joke there, and has to be sorted out.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Whoever is choosing the match day stewards needs to start choosing those that are willing to do a bit of work instead of doing it just to watch the game for free. Look at those 2 in the last pic on here, they are just strolling along looking at the pats fans. I know its not their fault for the trouble but if you had dedicated stewards then it would go a long way to stop the trouble spreading.
    Clubs find it nigh impossible to get fans to volunteer to steward as it is; if scenes like last night go on then it's harder again. We all don't have council cash or civil defense to cover costs like paid stewards, whom in the case of Frontline, are even worse again.

Do any of the Rovers or Pats fans on here know any of the clowns shown in the pics and if so are they requlars at home games? Hopefully the clubs will deal with those involved and stop them from bringing more shame onto the clubs in future.
    It's either the same 100-200 involved in trouble every time over the years or else it's a different group at every game. There is no way that SRFC management and officials can say they don't know anybody involved time and time and time again,

Ive found in general that Rovers and Pats fans are sound and are passionate about their teams.
    Taken from the big book of cliches?

What impressed me about Rovers fans was when they went on the pitch in Tolka after Dublin city beat them to send them to the first division and they went up to their players to console them. Of course there was over reaction afterwards with people saying they invaded the pitch to get at the bohs fans that was cheering for Dublin city and giving rovers fans abuse but they didnt, they just went on to console their players.
    All that sort of carry on needs to break out is one idiot. It may seem good natured then but....

Its a pity that people call Rovers fans scum when in fact its only the hangers on that cause the trouble and the main body of fans are just passionate about their club and are sound. Bohs and shels are the same as well as a few other clubs, they all have decent supporters but get let down by a few hangers on who dont give a dam about their team.
    Every club has a few dopes supporting them but not in the same numbers and not with the same intent and frequency.

All i say is, look back at the actions of a section of your own fans over the years before calling the fans of another team scum.
    As I said last night, whenever you hear of trouble at games you always see the name of Rovers come up and it's rarely at their home games. Not ****ting on their own doorsteps, are they?
    Shed End Invisibles. Where are we??

Just one point on the "hangers on" argument. Every Rovers fan who got a ticket for last night was either a member, or a season ticket holder

105 Posts

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Just one point on the "hangers on" argument. Every Rovers fan who got a ticket for last night was either a member, or a season ticket holder
    Thats not true. But carry on.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

Absolutely not true.
    Ireland: Discovered!

43 Posts
    Not quite Dodge, myself for example couldn't get to tallaght on Monday night so I bought a Pats ticket from the booth last night and strolled into the Rovers end with it no questions asked. if I did it I'm sure others would have also.

On 2fm now! Colm hayes show

Just a question, should you sack your Rovers insider? He never seems to be right...
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Just a thought for umbrella man for next time.

Very handy for deflecting bottles

205 Posts
    Who coined the term 'Model Club?'
    Sporting F*ck All!

74 Posts
    .... It would be nice to stay dry for a change.
    I posted this before last night's game, little did I know that there'd be a the night of the long brolleys.
    Apologies. Still if the weather looks inclement for the final I know what to do now.

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post

celebrity fan there behind and to the left of the main hoolie - i think he was in Avatar.
    No Stu that's Aiden McGeady, must have nipped over as soon as the Chelsea game finished

123 Posts
    I cant believe that these asheholes have any feelings for the clubs they must know that this only takes away from the success of the evening, terrible that the chairman spends his press conference taking about matters other than the game.
    what a bunch of ********s...
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Model Club View Post
    To the best of my knowledge no.I dont remember anyone gloating about it anywhere but will hold judgement until you prove me wrong with a valid link.
    Also the bus that the non-person not involved in the non incident you refer to above was supposedly travelling with the most family orientated bus at Rovers,with no alcohol allowed on board.
    Iirc the people who run that supporters club took exception to the slander of their clubs good name on this and other sites and posts were removed.In fact your story might have been somewhat believable if you hadn't brought the particular clubs name into the non-story.
    That club actually decided against bringing a bus to the showgrounds on the last 2 visits as it had windows put in on at least 2 previous trips and they couldn't guarantee the safety of those on board.

But lets not talk about the friendly showgrounds tonight-lets focus on Rovers animals based on sportsfile and the nobel prize winning adrian kennedy phone-in show all the while brushing aside the one post that most present at the game would deem accurate.
    Its old news at this stage but I can tell you exactly what happened since I was outside Mooneys when your lot were at it.
    The man in question who is the manager of Centra was on crutches at the door of Centra, he was stopping a few of your lot from coming in because last season they were robbing drink and one of them pulled a knife on him.
    When he stopped a few young lads words were said and one of them grabbed one of his crutches and threw it out on the road.
    He started swinging at them and this was all infront of their bus which was parked up beside Centra.
    All thier mates from the bus (including the bus driver) came out Danny Dyer style and started flinging cans and bottles at the lad on crutches and at the Shop and smashed windows in the shop, they also ran up to a few young lads on the road Green Street style "giving it large" was fairly cringeworthy stuff.
    Now I dont have a clue whos bus from Shams it was or who ran it or any of that, hence why I never once mentioned any of your supporters buses or anything like that.
    This is common knowledge among Rovers fans and alot of people around after the game saw this.
    I dont know whether you actually think im making this up for the craic or are just denying it happened to avoid the uncomfortable truth, but I can send you the lads name who was on crutches by PM if you wish and you can ask him his version of events the next time your down.
    Not that this has anything to do with what happened last night, just as usual a sizeable amount of your support gives this league alot of negative publicity that it cannot afford, its not that anything is that serious, just really handbags especially compared to the 70's and 80's. I couldnt care less about the BSC and Shams Casuals because they largely leave it away from the grounds, its the scumbags who constantly give negative headlines to the rags in the public eye that I hate.

61 Posts
    Anyway, congrats to Rovers on the win last night. From the highlights on the news, i thought the sending off was very harsh and didnt think it was even a free kick.

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    the uncomfortable truth
    .......because you say so?

Ill make my own my own mind up thanks.

Its a knife wielding thug now is it?

Sensationalist bull usually ruins any chance of a proper discussion on here with agendas from both sides spiralling out of control and the facts getting lost among the vitriol-Thanks for adding yours!

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    I cant believe that these asheholes have any feelings for the clubs they must know that this only takes away from the success of the evening, terrible that the chairman spends his press conference taking about matters other than the game.
    what a bunch of ********s...
    if he continues to deny the problem the he is just reinforcing it. I hope the decent Rovers skins on here realise that the constant denial of a problem or trying to shift blame onto every other possible source is a sure fire way of eliminating the remaining goodwill they had built up since they reformed. Not that i care about the welfare of your club but its doing Shamrock Rovers no favours and if i was you id be hoping that Roche would be issuing 100 bans to the culprits from last night.

Not wishing to rub it in at all and recognising that we have an element too on occasion (though i dont think it is anywhere near the size of yours) and are by no means perfectly behaved, we have a pretty good record of banning known troublemakers from Dalymount and going to reasonable lengths to make sure that they didnt get in to away grounds too.

Anyway, all im saying is quit burying your heads in the sand as a club, quit denying there is a problem and take a stand against the scumbags.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

23. Thanks From:

Page 13 of 23 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast