Sorry, but did you have to ask?

Don't worry I'm going......

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    Sligo did the same Friday the only thing difference was the reaction of the two losing sets of supporters
    The difference there is, any Sligo fans that were on the pitch didn't come over looking for trouble. They didn't come over to gloat. They celebrated with their players in front of their own fans, then they left the pitch and went back into their own end to celebrate with themselves. The Sligo players and management were applauded off the pitch by the Bohs fans. Astronomical difference in scenes. Sligo > Shamrock

200-250 on the pitch about 10-15 went all the way to the Pats end max

70 Posts
    They beat us last year came on the pitch right down to the 18yard box. Nobody from our end moved,threw anything or tried to batter them.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

What's your point caller?

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leejo View Post
    Seiously intimidating(if your at an under 8"s bouncy castle festival)

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by Saint_Charlie View Post
    Re : The trouble - The first thing I saw was a lad in a white hoodie run the length of the pitch from the Pats end and start swinging digs down the shed end in the middle of about 50 Rovers fans as they ran on the pitch to celebrate. Stewards pounced on him right away. Then Rovers fans ran to the middle of the pitch celebrating with their players. Then started to move towards the Pats fans behind the goal waving their arms etc. Missiles were being fired from both sets of fans and then the Rovers lad with the brolly and others went further towards the Pats end. Lads from the Pats end hopped on to the pitch and a few brawls scattered around the pitch kicked off with only stewards in the midst. About 5 minutes later some guards started strolling on and the majority scarpered. Embarrassing stuff from both sides tbf
    Thats what happened.I'm sure our resident sligo fans and other dopes who wern't actually at the game can add in the usual crutches,invalid,wheelchair......etc,just to liven up an otherwise realistic debate but thats what actually happened,warts 'n all.

Quote Originally Posted by Model Club View Post
    Thats what happened.I'm sure our resident sligo fans and other dopes who wern't actually at the game

Yes, I was present tonight. At the end of the game the Shams schooligans along with a few older lads came on the pitch. One Pat's fan jumped on the field thinking he had the support of his mates, only to look over his shoulder to discover a lack of support, I've never seen a human jump so high than this soul when he jumped back into the Pat's support. One Pat's fan made it through with the aid of an umbrella, and found himself laid into by about 50 Shams lads. Was probably the funniest thing I've ever seen in my life.

All in all, Shamrock Rovers are the shame of Irish football.

Jim out.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Yes, I was present tonight.
    In the ground or reality?
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

In the ground or reality?
    No, I'm being serious this time. The umbrella man was THE best thing I've seen in my 30 years following LoI

138 Posts
    Thats what happened.I'm sure our resident sligo fans and other dopes who wern't actually at the game can add in the usual crutches,invalid,wheelchair......etc,just to liven up an otherwise realistic debate but thats what actually happened,warts 'n all.
    So your fans didnt attack the man who owns Centra across from the Showgies who happened to be on crutches at the time?
    I dont see why you bother denying it now since not so long ago your fans were gloating about it, gentlemen that yee are.

445 Posts
    I love bashing Rovers fans for their scumbag actions but tonight there was 3 parties to blame, The Rovers fans the Pats fans and the Guards, The Rovers fans shouldnt have come down to our end and start throwing bottles, The Pats fans shouldn't have been on the pitch in the first place (Rovers had just won a cup semi-final let them celebrate with the players and of course the morons that are the Guards shouldn't have let anything happen, they just stood back like ****ing idiots, god help us all if a club with an ounce of trouble get to the Europa league final in May

For people talking about the last game of lats season, The difference was that when Pats fans got on the pitch last season they didn't throw bottles at Rovers fans and when the fans got on the pitch Rovers fans didn't come running at them looking for trouble
    Here on a technicality.

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    So your fans didnt attack the man who owns Centra across from the Showgies who happened to be on crutches at the time?
    I dont see why you bother denying it now since not so long ago your fans were gloating about it, gentlemen that yee are.
    To the best of my knowledge no.I dont remember anyone gloating about it anywhere but will hold judgement until you prove me wrong with a valid link.
    Also the bus that the non-person not involved in the non incident you refer to above was supposedly travelling with the most family orientated bus at Rovers,with no alcohol allowed on board.
    Iirc the people who run that supporters club took exception to the slander of their clubs good name on this and other sites and posts were removed.In fact your story might have been somewhat believable if you hadn't brought the particular clubs name into the non-story.
    That club actually decided against bringing a bus to the showgrounds on the last 2 visits as it had windows put in on at least 2 previous trips and they couldn't guarantee the safety of those on board.

But lets not talk about the friendly showgrounds tonight-lets focus on Rovers animals based on sportsfile and the nobel prize winning adrian kennedy phone-in show all the while brushing aside the one post that most present at the game would deem accurate.
    Last edited by Model Club; 20/10/2010 at 12:43 AM.

Model Club
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    I love bashing Rovers fans for their scumbag actions but tonight there was 3 parties to blame, The Rovers fans the Pats fans and the Guards, The Rovers fans shouldnt have come down to our end and start throwing bottles, The Pats fans shouldn't have been on the pitch in the first place (Rovers had just won a cup semi-final let them celebrate with the players and of course the morons that are the Guards shouldn't have let anything happen, they just stood back like ****ing idiots, god help us all if a club with an ounce of trouble get to the Europa league final in May

For people talking about the last game of lats season, The difference was that when Pats fans got on the pitch last season they didn't throw bottles at Rovers fans and when the fans got on the pitch Rovers fans didn't come running at them looking for trouble
    Your points on tonight are spot on.
    With regard to last season pats fans didnt make it down far enough to throw bottles and some Rovers did make more than an attempt to get at them but where actually reeled in by Rovers fans who let them know that it wasn't acceptable-A huge sea-change in my time following Rovers when similar incidents in previous years where ignored.

Turns out there's 2 umbrella men. The Pat's one still gets my Umbrella Man Of The Year. Legend.
    Last edited by poster; 20/10/2010 at 12:46 AM.

The sanctimonious guff on here has made me log on for the first time in years and remind you geeks of a few salient truths - nothing exercises you lot more than Rovers and, more importantly, it's now half a century since the Junkies won the Cup. Carry on geeks....
    No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

445 Posts
    Your points on tonight are spot on.
    With regard to last season pats fans didnt make it down far enough to throw bottles and some Rovers did make more than an attempt to get at them but where actually reeled in by Rovers fans who let them know that it wasn't acceptable-A huge sea-change in my time following Rovers when similar incidents in previous years where ignored.
    Actually you are right about last season , The Guards and stewards were a lot better on that occasion, they did well to get between both sets of fans, unlike tonight
    Here on a technicality.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Turns out there's 2 umbrella men. The Pat's one still gets my Umbrella Man Of The Year. Legend.
    Who is Pats umbrella man?? I didn't see that, only the Rovers one, who was about 40, what kind of 40 year old gets on a football pitch and hits people with an umbrella?? the rest were just stupid kids who will learn as they grow older
    Here on a technicality.

He ran on from the SEI end, I'd say he was late 20's. It was well after Shams umbrella man, he just ran for a rake of Shammers and didn't stop. I'd love to meet him and tell him how much I enjoyed his run.

They were lucky they weren't sharing an umbrella. That would have been embarrassing.

Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast