Page 10 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Thread: Slovakia V Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 12th October 2010 - Euro 2012 Qualifier

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    I wonder did the Sunday Independent bother to look at any replays before branding Robbie a cheat on Sunday and suggesting it was a blatant dive.
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...e-2372854.html

We all know he is prone to wave his arms about too much but he gets an undue amount of criticism from Indo in particular.
    Agree. Fairly baseless, nasty stuff they come out with about Keane. Horrible rag anyway.

1,914 Posts
    Trap to the press.
    “Your job is to criticise and I understand that,” he continued. “The difference is I must decide about the game beforehand while you get to decide afterwards.”

i just want 7.30 to hurry along at this stage. i'm not really looking forward to this game in the same way i was the russia match, and as it gets closer i'm starting to think i'd be relatively happy with a point.

finding it hard to focus on work and it's only half two...

the performance definitely has to improve but what we really need is a result. i think they'll score so we'll have to - hopefully more than once, and probably as a result of a set piece.
    Last edited by zero; 12/10/2010 at 1:40 PM.

zero i was thinking the exact same re just want the day to end and the game to start.

Quote Originally Posted by zero View Post
    i just want 7.30 to hurry along and this stage. i'm not really looking forward to this game in the same way i was the russia match, and as it gets closer i'm starting to think i'd be relatively happy with a point.
    finding it hard to focus on work and it's only half two...

the performance definitely has to improve but what we really need is a result. i think they'll score so we'll have to - hopefully more than once, and probably as a result of a set piece.
    I don't think a point is good enough. We need 3 imo especially after Friday's game. Tonight's game worries me and it has the potentail to seriously seriously damage our qualification hopes.

Blips are acceptable(almost), but tonight really will show what trap is made of, the character of the players, the actual trust and belief of the players in traps system, traps trust in the players and finally whether we have turned a point and moved up a level. Tonight for me is make or break, of how far we have come with Trap. If we draw we haven't come any further, just like we were under kerr, hard to beat but thats about it.

And obviously the other two results I dont have to spell out.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Blips are acceptable(almost), but tonight really will show what trap is made of, the character of the players, the actual trust and belief of the players in traps system, traps trust in the players and finally whether we have turned a point and moved up a level. Tonight for me is make or break, of how far we have come with Trap. If we draw we haven't come any further, just like we were under kerr, hard to beat but thats about it.

And obviously the other two results I dont have to spell out.
    Agree 100%.

622 Posts
    Unfortunately (or fortunately) going by whats been said on another forum, the players are believing in their own system.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

161 Posts
    Is Fahey definetely starting instead of the injured Lawerence? Was the team just announced on Newstalk? Can't find it anywhere else yet.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 12/10/2010 at 2:06 PM.

49 Posts
    like the rest of ye im waiting for kick off, nervous but hopefull!!! i have a feeling long might just get on the end of something and score. hope to fck we get a win..........

161 Posts
    I think the reason we are all semi-****ting ouselves is we don't know what Ireland team is going to turn up. We have to look at this as an opportunity to do some real damage to one of our main opponents and grab all 3 points. Once of the good things under Trap (and he said it himself over the weekend) is that we play better away from home.

i think the slovaks are capable of folding, if we get in early and go 2 - 0 or that i could really see them losing interest. They had no interest or game plan against the armenians, they looked lethargic, lazy, disinterested and unmotivated for the whole second half against Armenia. THey will not be like that at home however, but if we can frustrate them we could see the same slovakia as friday night.

Btw, i got a text saying lots of irish hadn't got tickets out there? i assume the slovaks wont take up their full allocation, even if it is away from bratislava?

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    I think the reason we are all semi-****ting ouselves is we don't know what Ireland team is going to turn up. We have to look at this as an opportunity to do some real damage to one of our main opponents and grab all 3 points. Once of the good things under Trap (and he said it himself over the weekend) is that we play better away from home.
    And that really should be a massive concern for him. Traditionally it's been the other way around, the Aviva should be feared by opposing teams.

622 Posts
    I fully believe we're going to win tonight. I've backed them to win too! I just hope the team believes in themselves.

Fahey selected could prove to be a turning point. With himself and Long selected, it leaves more room for manoevre with changing tactics throughout the game. If they want to go three in the middle with two wide, it's doable with McGeady and Long (also would be doable with Doyle) and the two lads sitting with Fahey ahead, or with the two lads sitting, McGeady ahead and the two boys on the flank.

Obviously Keith and Aiden are more interchangable than Lawro and Aiden.

Interesting.

Kingdom ive herad you say this stuff on loads of occasions and you have always been wrong.

537 Posts
    Btw, i got a text saying lots of irish hadn't got tickets out there? i assume the slovaks wont take up their full allocation, even if it is away from bratislava?
    heard somewhere that John Delaney had purchased tickets locally to help our fans out. dont know for sure its true though

161 Posts
    Where are the match officials from does anyone know. Could be very important in a match like this. We have to maintain our composure in this game with no St Ledger type tackles from the other night. The Slovaks are crafty at playing the ref in the few games I have seen them in. Stop them but no mad lunges.

sh1te ive got to do an interview at 5.30 and all i can think about is the game and getting out in time so i can get to the pub. how was i this stupid i didnt think of the game when agreeing to the interview....:8:

622 Posts
    Kingdom ive herad you say this stuff on loads of occasions and you have always been wrong.
    Which bit? Good luck in the Interview btw.
    If it's about tactics, of course I'll be wrong, I'm stating an observation that perhaps only I see.

161 Posts
    sh1te ive got to do an interview at 5.30 and all i can think about is the game and getting out in time so i can get to the pub. how was i this stupid i didnt think of the game when agreeing to the interview....:8:
    Get someone to call in the old "mysterious emergency" and you have to cancel. Be sure to tell said caller to make sure there are no clinking glasses, what are ya having, hurry up Tom I'm parched background sounds.

Page 10 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast