Miah Dennehy - think he played for Cork Hibs and Notts Forest as well, but I'm not sure.
Here's one for the old die-hards. Recently got hold of a program from the Eng-Irl game at Wembley in 1976. Listed among the forwards was an M. Dennehy of Walsall. Anyone ever heard of him ? I remember the game, but have no re-collection of this man whatsoever.
Heighyway/Stapleton and Givens up front, wouldn't mind that now..
Miah Dennehy - think he played for Cork Hibs and Notts Forest as well, but I'm not sure.
That'd be Miah Dennehy, a right-winger who started out at Cork Hibs before being transferred to Nottingham Forest for £20,000 in 1972 (way before RMK joined them for a similar fee...!) and then to Walsall, where he spent three years in the mid-1970s. He was capped 11 times in all between 1972 and 1977. As for "where is he now"? Not a clue, I'm afraid.
PP
Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat
cork hibs goalie at that time was the legendary "big joe o grady"a collossus of a man.left full i think was john herrick who i think has a son playing in the e/l??Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
Just checked his entry in Stephen McGarrigle's Who's Who of Irish International Football.Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
"Miah then had a spell in non-League and League of Ireland football before returning to his native city, where he works in the Gurranebraher district of Cork where he grew up. These days he concentrates on junior soccer and plays hurley with the local St Vincent's GAA club."
Mind you, that was written eight years ago. He'd be 54 now.
Fair play Lads, Miah Dennehy, never have guesed it. For those interested the full squad was (managed by the great Gilesy)..
Kearns
Roche
Grealish
Holmes
Mulligan
O'Brian
O'Leary
Brady
campbell
Daly
Martin
Conroy
Dennehy
Givens
heighway
Murphy
Spapleton
Walsh
6 replies, I was wondering how long it would take before the great man was mentioned.
Also D Murphy is Donal Murphy, any takers? Played with Coventry allegedly!
Miah Dennehy was one of the real stars of the League of Ireland in the early 1970's. In fact he scored a hat-trick in the 1972 FAI Cup Final as Cork Hibs beat Waterford 3-0 in front of about 30,000.
As regards Donal Murphy, he was a player allegedly destined for great things but never really seemed to fulfill his true potential. I vaguely recall him playing in the League of Ireland in the 1980's. Probably for UCD but maybe someone else has further information?
Miah was still playing junior football up to 2 yrs ago andyways....the guy is a legend down on leeside.....he was a bit of a looney as welll which always helps...![]()
Bring back the plank
Originally Posted by davros
!!!!!!!!!!!!
jaysus davros!!!!!!!!!.thats a straight red card in any mans language![]()
Originally Posted by the 12 th man
12TH ma man he's been getting a few red card's of late, he even got a red card off me last week and a belt in the rib's when after a few pint's of okochim in warsaw last tuesday night he thought it would be a good idea to try and sing the German national anthem in a local sheebeen.![]()
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
the most blatent hijack of a thread of all time me thinks.
defininte rmk syndrome.![]()
at last...........,gotcha!!!!!!!![]()
relatively speaking,im in fact a blow in to "de town".still finding me feet so
dont really know about the self righteous bit.would always hope to assume the high ground though![]()
Getting back to Miah, when I was a young aspiring scribe I interviewed him in Gurrana Bragha (circa 1995, sorry about the spelling Cork boys!) for the Irish Post. He was a true gent but was working in a supermarket then sweeping the floors (Inevitable line from Miah: 'I used to be a sweeper and I still am (he chuckles)'. Anyway a year or two after I heard that he had taken a brief holiday in one of Mary Robinson's guest houses for some misdemeanor. Hopefully he's back on track now. BTW, Father, the photo beside him in McGarrigle's book with the hurley was taken by yours truly (no BS!!!!) though I'm still waiting for my cheque!![]()
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
[QUOTE=sylvo] he even got a red card off me last week and a belt in the rib's when after a few pint's of okochim in warsaw last tuesday night/
isnt that the stuff you are supposed to drink in a glass the size of an egg cup??![]()
lopez;i must check out your handy work by getting me mits on the said tome.
just wondering did you have a black cape over your head taking the photo ???![]()
Last I heard of Miah he was working in the car park in Jurys Hotel in Cork City
And oh yeah lopez the correct spelling is Gurranabraher.
[QUOTE=razor]Last I heard of Miah he was working in the car park in Jurys Hotel in Cork City
QUOTE]
Correct, St Pats new manager Roddy Collins was on a sports quiz on RTE and was asked a question the answer to which was Miah Dennehy. Rod says "He's a really good mate of mine, works in Jurys in Cork but I can't remember his name"![]()
No One Likes Us, We Don't Care
[QUOTE=WeAreRovers]old programme was it ?????Originally Posted by razor
Last edited by the 12 th man; 06/05/2004 at 3:07 PM.