Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: City versus Ramblers

nice basis.... they'll be stolen of us by next season as usual.

loads of cobh faces in the cork side!!

number 27 (i think?) for ye couldn't get his game for cobh wanderers..... he's sh1t!!!

Quote Originally Posted by cookie
    number 27 (i think?) for ye couldn't get his game for cobh wanderers..... he's sh1t!!!
    Thats Jamie Nolan. He is a good player but didnt perform last night!

Quote Originally Posted by Queenstown Ram
    I think that Buttimer understands the situation at Cobh. At present we only have one 'keeper as Alan O'Shea is out for 6 weeks with a fractured ankle. We would have no 'keeper for Saturdays match in Limerick. Definate peno and fair play to Buttimer. Probably would have been different in a FAI Cup match but I think we definetly deserved a draw. We played Cork off the park in the first half.

What do you boys think of our No3 John Meade. First player to come through the underage section of Ramblers and played very well last night.
    All well and good, but referees are supposed to implement the rules and he failed to do that. What if he had saved the penalty and Ramblers had won? I have every sympathy, but rules are there to be enforced and the rule on professional fouls is black and white.

Meade is a handy player, seen him 4 or 5 times now and been very impressed.

i thought City did fine considering it was pretty much a reserve side. Nolan had a poor game and being honest I thought greg and mucka should have been switched. Kearney was fairly poor again and flynny didn't look 100%. K Murray played probably his best game that I've seen and was still struggling to be average- what does Dolan see in him? He's lazy, he can't pass and he's second to every ball!

Now lay off Buttimer. Fair play to him, he had the balls to stand up and be counted last Friday night. He sent that dirty scumbag cnut Rodgers off.
    Just went to the top of my best ref list!

If Cuthburt had got sent off as far as I know he would have been banned for the next Cup game not the League. But it is good to see a ref use comon sense it would have ruined the game if Cuthburt got sent off.

And as we are out of the Cup it wouldnt have made any difference .

City were poor but I felt so were Ramblers I think the game we played on Saturday against UCD took a lot out of the lads.

I think the critisism of Jamie Nolan on this thread is apalling. He is one of our U-21 youngsters who has performed exceptionally well for that grade over the past 2 years and has done well each time he has gotten a run out withthe senior team.

Saw him up at Tolka vs. Shels for the last away game of the season last year and he was very solid and fast. His home debut was equally impressive.

Thought he took awhile to settle in and, sure, didn't have a good first half but for Chri$t sake he got boted every time he got near the ball.

His performance in the second half was much better and his pace was a real problem for Cobh.

Then add in his "slide rule pass" ( as Spillage said - and for once I agree with him ) for Flynny and the spotter and it wasn't a bad return by any shape.

I reckon he's one for the future. See a lot of similarities between him and Flynny.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Quote Originally Posted by Counting Crow
    I think the critisism of Jamie Nolan on this thread is apalling. He is one of our U-21 youngsters who has performed exceptionally well for that grade over the past 2 years and has done well each time he has gotten a run out withthe senior team.

Saw him up at Tolka vs. Shels for the last away game of the season last year and he was very solid and fast. His home debut was equally impressive.

Thought he took awhile to settle in and, sure, didn't have a good first half but for Chri$t sake he got boted every time he got near the ball.

His performance in the second half was much better and his pace was a real problem for Cobh.

Then add in his "slide rule pass" ( as Spillage said - and for once I agree with him ) for Flynny and the spotter and it wasn't a bad return by any shape.

I reckon he's one for the future. See a lot of similarities between him and Flynny.
    I dunno Crow. A lot of players far superior to Jamie Nolan have recieved much worse and less deserved criticism here.
    He did well against Kerry, fair enough, but it makes you wonder is that about his level (ditto with Behan) and will he ever be able to produce the goods in the big games? Who knows in the future but at the moment I don't think he's up to it. I know for fact though that Dolan rates him highly though.
    Champions!

I can understand where you're coming from Colm, but he really, has only had a few outings. It's a bit early t o start slagging him off.

Give him a chance.

Him being a young fellow he probably logs onto foot.ie anyway so .......

........"good on ya Jamie".........

I really do think he has potential. Pace is a real advantage in this league and he has that.
    Gets you away from the thugs at Waaaaaterford and $hel$ and lets you play a bit of ball.

IMO the Cobh match was the ideal game to play the second string palyers - fair play to Dolan for giving them a run - it was good for them.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

wasn't at the Cobh game, but the few times I've seen Nolan so far, I've been very impressed. definitely one of our better prospects to come thorugh.

Quote Originally Posted by Counting Crow
    Him being a young fellow he probably logs onto foot.ie anyway so .......
    I believe he does actually and I'd say he's not the only player. People should probably bear that in mind when they're giving out mad about players i.e. critisise by all means when neccessary but don't get too abusive or personal.
    Champions!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123